Minnesota Office of the Revisor of Statutes
[*Add Subtitle/link: Office]

Menu

Revisor of Statutes Menu

2006 Minnesota Statutes

This is a historical version of this statute section. Also view the most recent published version.

168.301 VEHICLE TRANSFER DEADLINE; FEES; SUSPENSION.
    Subdivision 1. Surrender plates and credit tax paid. On transferring a motor vehicle, the
transferor shall surrender the registration plates and assign the registration tax paid to the credit of
the transferee.
    Subd. 2. Ten days to file. The transferee's rights to the transferred vehicle's registration
plates and credit for taxes paid on the vehicle expire after ten days have elapsed from the date
of transfer unless: (1) the transfer has been filed as provided under section 168A.10; or (2) the
transferee is a dealer licensed under section 168.27, and is complying with section 168A.11.
    Subd. 3. Late fee. In addition to any fee or tax otherwise authorized or imposed upon the
transfer of title for a motor vehicle, the commissioner of public safety shall impose a $2 additional
fee for failure to deliver a title transfer within ten business days.
    Subd. 4. Reinstatement fee. When the commissioner has suspended license plates on a
vehicle because the transferee has failed to file the title certificate within 30 days, the transferee
shall pay a $10 fee before the registration is reinstated.
    Subd. 5. Verification of compliance. A person does not violate this section or section
168.09, subdivision 1, by reason of suspension, if the person provides verification from the
registrar that the title transfer with fees and taxes were filed with the registrar prior to being cited
for violating this section or the vehicle was purchased from a licensed Minnesota dealer. The
verification of compliance must be presented to the appropriate law enforcement agency within
seven days after being charged or to the court on or before the date set for appearance.
    Subd. 6. Registration suspension. The commissioner of public safety may suspend the
registration of any owner who violates this section.
History: 1997 c 135 s 3; 1999 c 238 art 2 s 8,9; 2002 c 388 s 2

700 State Office Building, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55155 ♦ Phone: (651) 296-2868 ♦ TTY: 1-800-627-3529 ♦ Fax: (651) 296-0569