Minnesota Office of the Revisor of Statutes
[*Add Subtitle/link: Office]

Menu

Revisor of Statutes Menu

2006 Minnesota Statutes

This is a historical version of this statute section. Also view the most recent published version.

145.4242 INFORMED CONSENT.
(a) No abortion shall be performed in this state except with the voluntary and informed
consent of the female upon whom the abortion is to be performed. Except in the case of a medical
emergency or if the fetus has an anomaly incompatible with life, and the female has declined
perinatal hospice care, consent to an abortion is voluntary and informed only if:
(1) the female is told the following, by telephone or in person, by the physician who is to
perform the abortion or by a referring physician, at least 24 hours before the abortion:
(i) the particular medical risks associated with the particular abortion procedure to be
employed including, when medically accurate, the risks of infection, hemorrhage, breast cancer,
danger to subsequent pregnancies, and infertility;
(ii) the probable gestational age of the unborn child at the time the abortion is to be
performed;
(iii) the medical risks associated with carrying her child to term; and
(iv) for abortions after 20 weeks gestational, whether or not an anesthetic or analgesic
would eliminate or alleviate organic pain to the unborn child caused by the particular method
of abortion to be employed and the particular medical benefits and risks associated with the
particular anesthetic or analgesic.
The information required by this clause may be provided by telephone without conducting a
physical examination or tests of the patient, in which case the information required to be provided
may be based on facts supplied to the physician by the female and whatever other relevant
information is reasonably available to the physician. It may not be provided by a tape recording,
but must be provided during a consultation in which the physician is able to ask questions of the
female and the female is able to ask questions of the physician. If a physical examination, tests,
or the availability of other information to the physician subsequently indicate, in the medical
judgment of the physician, a revision of the information previously supplied to the patient, that
revised information may be communicated to the patient at any time prior to the performance
of the abortion. Nothing in this section may be construed to preclude provision of required
information in a language understood by the patient through a translator;
(2) the female is informed, by telephone or in person, by the physician who is to perform the
abortion, by a referring physician, or by an agent of either physician at least 24 hours before the
abortion:
(i) that medical assistance benefits may be available for prenatal care, childbirth, and
neonatal care;
(ii) that the father is liable to assist in the support of her child, even in instances when the
father has offered to pay for the abortion; and
(iii) that she has the right to review the printed materials described in section 145.4243, that
these materials are available on a state-sponsored Web site, and what the Web site address is. The
physician or the physician's agent shall orally inform the female that the materials have been
provided by the state of Minnesota and that they describe the unborn child, list agencies that offer
alternatives to abortion, and contain information on fetal pain. If the female chooses to view the
materials other than on the Web site, they shall either be given to her at least 24 hours before the
abortion or mailed to her at least 72 hours before the abortion by certified mail, restricted delivery
to addressee, which means the postal employee can only deliver the mail to the addressee.
The information required by this clause may be provided by a tape recording if provision is
made to record or otherwise register specifically whether the female does or does not choose to
have the printed materials given or mailed to her;
(3) the female certifies in writing, prior to the abortion, that the information described in
clauses (1) and (2) has been furnished to her and that she has been informed of her opportunity to
review the information referred to in clause (2), subclause (iii); and
(4) prior to the performance of the abortion, the physician who is to perform the abortion or
the physician's agent obtains a copy of the written certification prescribed by clause (3) and retains
it on file with the female's medical record for at least three years following the date of receipt.
(b) Prior to administering the anesthetic or analgesic as described in paragraph (a), clause
(1), item (iv), the physician must disclose to the woman any additional cost of the procedure for
the administration of the anesthetic or analgesic. If the woman consents to the administration of
the anesthetic or analgesic, the physician shall administer the anesthetic or analgesic or arrange to
have the anesthetic or analgesic administered.
(c) A female seeking an abortion of her unborn child diagnosed with fetal anomaly
incompatible with life must be informed of available perinatal hospice services and offered
this care as an alternative to abortion. If perinatal hospice services are declined, voluntary and
informed consent by the female seeking an abortion is given if the female receives the information
required in paragraphs (a), clause (1), and (b). The female must comply with the requirements in
paragraph (a), clauses (3) and (4).
History: 2003 c 14 art 1 s 3; 1Sp2005 c 4 art 6 s 35; 2006 c 267 art 2 s 3

700 State Office Building, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55155 ♦ Phone: (651) 296-2868 ♦ TTY: 1-800-627-3529 ♦ Fax: (651) 296-0569