Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes


Subdivision 1.Revenue.

Of a district's general education revenue for fiscal year 2015 and thereafter each school district shall reserve an amount equal to the following calculation:

(1) average daily membership, according to section 126C.05, subdivision 5, in kindergarten times $299; plus

(2) average daily membership, according to section 126C.05, subdivision 5, in grades 1 to 6 times $459.

[See Note.]

Subd. 2.Definitions.

(a) "Classroom teacher" means a public employee licensed by the board of teaching who is authorized to teach all subjects to children in any grade in kindergarten through grade 6 and whose duties are full-time regular classroom instruction, excluding a teacher for whom federal aids are received or for whom categorical aids are received under section 125A.76 or who is an itinerant teacher or provides instruction outside of the regular classroom. Except as provided in section 122A.68, subdivision 6, classroom teacher does not include supervisory and support personnel defined in section 122A.15. A classroom teacher whose duties are less than full-time instruction must be included as an equivalent only for the number of hours of instruction in kindergarten through grade 3.

(b) "Class size" means the districtwide ratio at each grade level of the number of full-time students in kindergarten through grade 3 served at least 40 percent of the time in regular classrooms to the number of full-time classroom teachers in kindergarten through grade 3, determined as of October 1 of each school year.

Subd. 3.Instruction contact time.

Instruction may be provided by a classroom teacher or by a team of classroom teachers, or by a teacher resident supervised by a classroom teacher. The district must maximize classroom teacher to learner average instructional contact time in the core subjects of reading and mathematics.

Subd. 4.Revenue use.

(a) Revenue must be used to reduce and maintain the district's average class size in kindergarten through grade 3 to a level of 17 to 1 on average in each of the respective grades.

(b) A district must not increase the districtwide class sizes in other grades as a result of reducing class sizes in kindergarten through grade 3. Revenue may not be used to provide instructor preparation. A district may use a portion of the revenue reserved under this section to employ up to the same number of full-time equivalent education assistants or aides as the district employed during the 1992-1993 school year under Minnesota Statutes 1992, section 124.331, subdivision 2, through fiscal year 2002. Beginning in fiscal year 2003, class size reduction revenue may only be reserved to employ classroom teachers contributing to lower class sizes in kindergarten through grade 3.

Subd. 5.Additional revenue use.

If the board of a district determines that the district has achieved and is maintaining the class sizes specified in subdivision 4, the board may use the revenue to reduce class size in grades 4, 5, and 6, prepare and use individualized learning plans, improve program offerings, purchase instructional material, services, or technology, or provide staff development needed for reduced class sizes.

[See Note.]

Subd. 6.Annual report.

By December 1 of each year, districts receiving revenue under subdivision 1 shall make available to the public a report on the amount of revenue the district has received and the use of the revenue. This report shall be in the form and manner determined by the commissioner and shall include the district average class sizes in kindergarten through grade 6 as of October 1 of the current school year and the class sizes for each site serving kindergarten through grade 6 students in the district. A copy of the report shall be filed with the commissioner by December 15.

NOTE: The amendments to subdivisions 1 and 5 by Laws 2013, chapter 116, article 1, sections 40 and 41, are effective for revenue for fiscal year 2015 and later. Laws 2013, chapter 116, article 1, sections 40 and 41, the effective dates.

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes