Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes


Subdivision 1.Requirement.

A district or county with an approved designation plan shall proceed as provided in this section when designating facilities. A district need not repeat the designation procedures in this section to the extent that the procedures have been completed by each county having territory in the district or by a joint powers board composed of each county having territory in the district.

Subd. 2.Hearing.

(a) The district or county shall hold a public hearing to take testimony on the designation. Notice of the hearing must be:

(1) published in a newspaper of general circulation in the area for two successive weeks ending at least 15 days before the date of the hearing; and

(2) mailed to political subdivisions, processing and disposal facility operators, and licensed solid waste collectors who may be expected to use the facility.

(b) The notification must:

(1) describe the area in which the designation will apply and the plans for the use of the solid waste;

(2) specify the point or points of delivery of the solid waste;

(3) estimate the types and quantities of solid waste subject to the designation; and

(4) estimate the fee to be charged for the use of the facilities and for any products of the facilities.

(c) A designation or contract for use is not invalid by reason of the failure of the district or county to provide written notice to an entity listed in this subdivision.

Subd. 3.Negotiated contracts for use.

During a period of 90 days following the hearing, the district or county shall negotiate with the persons entitled to written notice under subdivision 2 for the purpose of developing contractual agreements that will require use of the facilities proposed to be designated.

Subd. 4.Designation decision.

At the end of the 90-day contract negotiation period, the district or county may proceed to secure approval for and implement the designation as provided in section 115A.86.

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes