Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

156.11 FIRMS NOT TO PRACTICE.
(a) It is unlawful in Minnesota for any firm, other than one organized pursuant to chapter
319B, to practice veterinary medicine, or to hold itself out or advertise itself in any way as being
entitled to practice veterinary medicine, or to receive compensation derived from the practice of
veterinary medicine or the performance of veterinary services by any person, whether that person
is licensed to practice veterinary medicine or not. Any firm violating the provisions of this section
is guilty of a gross misdemeanor and must be fined not more than $3,000 for each offense. Each
day that this section is violated is a separate offense.
(b) Notwithstanding section 319B.08, a veterinary medical practice firm has 12 months
after the death of an owner before all of the owner's ownership interest must be acquired by the
practice, by persons permitted to own the ownership interest, or by some combination.
History: (5851-11) 1937 c 119 s 11; 1971 c 450 s 1; 1976 c 239 s 72; 1984 c 628 art 3 s 11;
1997 c 174 art 12 s 70; 1999 c 86 art 1 s 37; 1999 c 231 s 161