Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

93.51 PENALTIES FOR VIOLATION.
    Subdivision 1. Civil penalty. If any person fails to comply with any provision of sections
93.44 to 93.51, or any rules promulgated pursuant to these sections, or any permit condition
required by these sections or the rules, for a period of 15 days after notice of such failure, or the
expiration of time for corrective action as provided for in section 93.481, subdivision 4, such
person shall be liable for a civil penalty of not more than $1,000 for each and every day of the
continuance of such failure. The commissioner may assess and collect any such penalty.
    Subd. 2. Criminal penalty; injunctive relief. Any person who knowingly and willfully
violates or refuses to comply with any rule, decision, order or ruling of the commissioner shall
upon conviction be guilty of a gross misdemeanor. At the request of the commissioner, the
attorney general may institute a civil action in a district court of the state for a restraining order
or injunction or other appropriate remedy to prevent or preclude a violation of the terms and
conditions of any rules promulgated hereunder. The district court of the state of Minnesota in
which district the mining operation affected is conducted shall have jurisdiction to issue such
order or injunction or to provide other appropriate remedies.
History: 1969 c 774 s 8; 1973 c 526 s 7; 1985 c 248 s 70