Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Minnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

180.02 QUALIFICATIONS, SALARY, OATH, BOND.
Each inspector of mines and assistant shall be at least 25 years of age, a citizen of the state,
and a resident of the county wherein appointed, of good moral character and temperate habits.
Previous to appointment the inspector shall have had practical experience as a miner or otherwise
engaged as an employee in mines of the state at least six years, or a mining engineer having had
previous to appointment at least two years of practical experience in iron mines and iron mining
and having had at least one year of such experience in this state. The inspector shall not while in
office in any way be interested as an owner, operator, agent, stockholder, or engineer of any mine.
The inspector shall live or have an office in the mining district of the county for which appointed.
The salary of each inspector of mines and assistant shall be such sum as shall be fixed by the
county board not exceeding $7,500 per annum, and shall be allowed actual traveling expenses not
to exceed $1,200 in any one year. The inspector shall file with the county auditor an itemized
account of expenses every three months, verified by affidavit, showing that they have been
incurred in the discharge of official duties. Before entering upon the discharge of the duties of
office, the inspector shall take an oath before some person authorized by law to administer oaths
to support the Constitution of the United States and the Constitution of the state of Minnesota,
and that the inspector will faithfully, impartially, and to the best of ability discharge the duties of
office, and file a certificate of having done so in the office of the county auditor. The inspector
shall give bond, payable to the county board, in the penal sum of $5,000, with sufficient sureties
to be approved by the county board, conditioned that the inspector will faithfully discharge the
duties of office and this bond shall be filed with the county auditor.
History: (4234) 1905 c 166 s 2; 1911 c 133 s 1; 1921 c 7 s 1; 1951 c 687 s 2; 1953 c
259 s 1; 1957 c 310 s 1; 1986 c 444