Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

    Subdivision 1. Establishment and use of label. (a) The commissioner shall establish a
"Minnesota grown" logo or labeling statement for use in identifying agricultural products that
are grown, processed, or manufactured in this state. The commissioner may develop labeling
statements that apply to specific marketing or promotional needs. One version of a labeling
statement must identify food products certified as organically grown in this state. The Minnesota
grown logo or labeling statement may be used on raw agricultural products only if 80 percent or
more of the agricultural product is produced in this state.
(b) The Minnesota grown logo or labeling statement may not be used without a license from
the commissioner except that wholesalers and retailers may use the Minnesota grown logo and
labeling statement for displaying and advertising products that qualify for use of the Minnesota
grown logo or labeling statement.
    Subd. 2. Label does not replace other requirements. The logo or labeling statement does
not supersede or replace any federal label or grade standard that is required by law.
    Subd. 3. License. A person may not use the Minnesota grown logo or labeling without an
annual license from the commissioner. The commissioner shall issue licenses for a fee of $5.
    Subd. 4. Minnesota grown account. The Minnesota grown account is established as an
account in the agricultural fund. License fee receipts and penalties collected under this section
must be deposited in the agricultural fund and credited to the Minnesota grown account. The
money in the account is continuously appropriated to the commissioner to implement and enforce
this section and to promote the Minnesota grown logo and labeling.
    Subd. 5. Penalty. A person who is required to have a license and uses the Minnesota grown
logo or labeling without a license after being notified by the commissioner that a license is
required is subject to a civil penalty up to $1,000.
    Subd. 6. Rules. The commissioner shall promulgate rules authorizing and licensing the use
of the logo or labeling statement.
History: 1979 c 36 s 1; 1987 c 396 art 6 s 1; 1988 c 688 art 4 s 1; 1999 c 231 s 24;
1Sp2001 c 2 s 20

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes