Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

    Subdivision 1. Definition. A "classic motorcycle" is a motorcycle that is at least 20 years old,
original in appearance, and owned solely as a collector's item and used in a classic motorcycle
club activity, exhibition, tour, parade, or similar use. A classic motorcycle may not be used
for general transportation purposes.
    Subd. 2. Affidavit for registration and taxation. (a) A classic motorcycle must be taxed
and registered by the vehicle owner submitting an affidavit to the commissioner stating (1) the
name and address of the owner, (2) the name and address of the person from whom purchased, (3)
the make of the classic motorcycle, (4) the year and number of the model, (5) the manufacturer's
vehicle identification number, (6) that the motorcycle is owned and operated solely as a collector's
item and will not be used for general transportation purposes, and (7) that the owner has one
or more motor vehicles with regular plates.
(b) When the commissioner is satisfied that the affidavit is true, correct, and complete and
the owner has paid a $10 registration tax, the commissioner shall register the vehicle and issue
special plates.
    Subd. 3. Classic plates. The commissioner shall issue plates of the same size as standard
motorcycle plates and inscribed "collector" and "Minnesota" with the registration number or
other combination of characters authorized under section 168.12, subdivision 2a, but without a
date. The plates are valid without renewal as long as the classic motorcycle exists and may be
issued for the applicant's use only for the classic motorcycle. The commissioner may revoke the
plates for noncompliance with this subdivision.
    Subd. 4.[Repealed, 1985 c 291 s 27]
    Subd. 5. Original plates. (a) Instead of being issued classic motorcycle plates, a classic
motorcycle registered under this section may display original Minnesota plates issued in the same
year as the model year of the motorcycle on which they are displayed. The number on the original
plates must be provided to the commissioner.
(b) Original Minnesota plates may not be used if the number on the original plate is identical
to the number on a current collector's plate issued by the commissioner.
(c) If the vehicle is not registered as a collector vehicle, the commissioner shall charge a fee
of $10 for registering the number on the original plates.
    Subd. 6.[Repealed, 1Sp2005 c 6 art 2 s 48]
History: 1983 c 173 s 1; 1991 c 333 s 5; 1Sp2005 c 6 art 2 s 4-6

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes