Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

    Subdivision 1. Application; fee; penalty. Any person, firm, or corporation engaged in
the business of transporting motor vehicles owned by another, by delivering, by drive-away or
towing methods, either singly or by means of the full mount method, the saddle mount method,
the tow bar method, or any other combination thereof, and under their own power, vehicles over
the highways of the state from the manufacturer or any other point of origin, to any point of
destination, within or without the state, shall make application to the registrar for a drive-away
in-transit license. This application for annual license shall be accompanied by a registration fee of
$250 and contain such information as the registrar may require. Upon the filing of the application
and the payment of the fee, the registrar shall issue to each drive-away operator a drive-away
in-transit license plate, which must be carried and displayed on the power unit consistent with
section 169.79 and the plate shall remain on the vehicle while being operated within the state.
Additional drive-away in-transit license plates desired by any drive-away operator may be secured
from the registrar of motor vehicles upon the payment of a fee of $5 for each set of additional
license plates. Any person, firm, or corporation engaging in the business as a drive-away operator,
of transporting and delivering by means of full mount method, the saddle mount method, the tow
bar method, or any combination thereof, and under their own power, motor vehicles, who fails
or refuses to file or cause to be filed an application, as is required by law, and to pay the fees
therefor as the law requires, shall be found guilty of violating the provisions of sections 168.053
to 168.057; and, upon conviction, fined not less than $50, and not more than $100, and all costs
of court. Each day so operating without securing the license and plates as required therein shall
constitute a separate offense within the meaning thereof.
    Subd. 2. Delivery of trailer or building. Notwithstanding any provisions of subdivision 1
inconsistent herewith the provisions of sections 168.053 to 168.057 shall also apply to the delivery
of new travel trailers, park trailers, manufactured homes, sectional buildings, and semitrailers by
towing methods whether or not the power unit is a part of the combination being delivered.
History: 1941 c 213 s 1; 1959 c 153 s 1; 1961 c 38 s 1; 1961 c 554 s 1; 1969 c 121 s 1; 1981
c 365 s 9; 1984 c 549 s 7; 1986 c 444; 1989 c 323 s 1; 1989 c 342 s 9; 1994 c 536 s 5

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes