Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Minnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

    Subdivision 1. State council membership. The membership of the Minnesota Education
Telecommunications Council established in Laws 1993, First Special Session chapter 2, is
expanded to include representatives of elementary and secondary education. The membership
shall consist of three representatives from the University of Minnesota; three representatives of
the Board of Trustees for Minnesota State Colleges and Universities; one representative of the
Minnesota Office of Higher Education; one representative appointed by the Private College
Council; one representative selected by the commissioner of administration; eight representatives
selected by the commissioner of education, at least one of which must come from each of the
six higher education telecommunication regions; a representative from the Office of Enterprise
Technology; two members each from the senate and the house of representatives selected by the
Subcommittee on Committees of the Committee on Rules and Administration of the senate and
the speaker of the house, one member from each body must be a member of the minority party;
and three representatives of libraries, one representing regional public libraries, one representing
multitype libraries, and one representing community libraries, selected by the governor; and two
members, one selected from and representing the higher education regional coordinators and one
selected from and representing the kindergarten through grade 12 cluster regions. The council
shall serve as a forum to establish and advocate for a statewide vision and plans for the use
of distance learning technologies, including:
(1) the coordination and collaboration of distance learning opportunities;
(2) the implementation of the use of distance learning technologies;
(3) the collaboration of distance learning users;
(4) the implementation of educational policy relating to telecommunications;
(5) the exchange of ideas;
(6) the communications with state government and related agencies and entities;
(7) the coordination of networks for postsecondary campuses, kindergarten through grade 12
education, and regional and community libraries; and
(8) the promotion of consistency of the operation of the learning network with standards of
an open system architecture.
The council expires June 30, 2004.
    Subd. 2.[Repealed by amendment, 1Sp2001 c 6 art 4 s 11]
    Subd. 3.[Repealed by amendment, 1Sp2001 c 6 art 4 s 11]
History: 1Sp1995 c 3 art 12 s 7; 1Sp1997 c 4 art 9 s 12; 1998 c 270 s 4; 1998 c 359 s 20;
1999 c 241 art 4 s 18,28; 2000 c 489 art 10 s 13; 1Sp2001 c 6 art 4 s 11; 1Sp2003 c 23 s 25;
2005 c 107 art 2 s 60; 2005 c 156 art 5 s 23