Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

145.4135 Enforcement; penalties.

(a) If the commissioner finds that a physician or facility has failed to submit the required form under section 145.4131 within 60 days following the due date, the commissioner shall notify the physician or facility that the form is late. A physician or facility who fails to submit the required form under section 145.4131 within 30 days following notification from the commissioner that a report is late is subject to a late fee of $500 for each 30-day period, or portion thereof, that the form is overdue. If a physician or facility required to report under this section does not submit a report, or submits only an incomplete report, more than one year following the due date, the commissioner may take action to fine the physician or facility or may bring an action to require that the physician or facility be directed by a court of competent jurisdiction to submit a complete report within a period stated by court order or be subject to sanctions for civil contempt. Notwithstanding section 13.39 to the contrary, action taken by the commissioner to enforce the provision of this section shall be treated as private if the data related to this action, alone or in combination, may constitute information from which an individual having performed or having had an abortion may be identified using epidemiologic principles.

(b) If the commissioner fails to issue the public report required under section 145.4134 or fails in any way to enforce this section, a group of 100 or more citizens of the state may seek an injunction in a court of competent jurisdiction against the commissioner requiring that a complete report be issued within a period stated by court order or requiring that enforcement action be taken.

(c) A physician or facility reporting in good faith and exercising due care shall have immunity from civil, criminal, or administrative liability that might otherwise result from reporting. A physician who knowingly or recklessly submits a false report under this section is guilty of a misdemeanor.

(d) The commissioner may take reasonable steps to ensure compliance with sections 145.4131 to 145.4133 and to verify data provided, including but not limited to, inspection of places where abortions are performed in accordance with chapter 14.

(e) The commissioner shall develop recommendations on appropriate penalties and methods of enforcement for physicians or facilities who fail to submit the report required under section 145.4132, submit an incomplete report, or submit a late report. The commissioner shall also assess the effectiveness of the enforcement methods and penalties provided in paragraph (a) and shall recommend appropriate changes, if any. These recommendations shall be reported to the chairs of the senate Health and Family Security Committee and the house Health and Human Services Committee by November 15, 1998.

HIST: 1998 c 407 art 10 s 6

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes