Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

8840.5950 STANDARDS FOR OPERATION OF VEHICLES.

Subpart 1.

Operation.

Standards for vehicle operation are as follows:

A.

Vehicles must be operated in compliance with Minnesota Statutes, chapter 169, and rules adopted under that chapter.

B.

Providers shall conduct or cause to be conducted, a daily visual safety inspection of:

(1)

coolant level;

(2)

lights, turn signals, hazard flashers;

(3)

tires;

(4)

windshield wipers and washer fluid;

(5)

mirrors; and

(6)

fuel level.

C.

Providers shall conduct or cause to be conducted a vehicle safety inspection once each week or every 1,000 miles, whichever comes first. The provider shall maintain a record that shows the date and mileage at each safety inspection and a notation of needed repairs and replacements. The record must be maintained in the vehicle or in the provider's files. The safety inspection must include inspection of the:

(1)

coolant level;

(2)

oil level;

(3)

lights, turn signals, hazard flashers;

(4)

tires and tire pressure;

(5)

brake, parking brake, and brake fluid level, if visible in the engine compartment;

(6)

instrument panel;

(7)

horn;

(8)

windshield wipers and washer fluid;

(9)

fan belt;

(10)

mirrors, inside and outside;

(11)

wheelchair ramps and lifts and lift electrical systems, lubrication points, and fluid reservoirs, if applicable;

(12)

wheelchair securement or stretcher securement device, if applicable;

(13)

emergency doors or windows. Tests must be conducted to ensure that the emergency doors or windows function properly;

(14)

steering mechanism;

(15)

exhaust system;

(16)

frame;

(17)

suspension;

(18)

wheels and rims; and

(19)

fuel system.

Subp. 2.

Smoking.

Smoking is prohibited in vehicles at all times. A sign stating "NO SMOKING" must be posted in the vehicle so that it is visible to all passengers. This subpart applies to a taxi only when it is providing special transportation.

Subp. 3.

Seat belts.

Drivers and passengers shall use seat belts at all times. Drivers shall instruct each passenger to use the seat belt. Before pulling away from a stop, drivers shall make sure that passengers are seated with seat belts properly secured. Children under the age of four shall use approved child-restraint systems at all times, except in taxis. This subpart does not apply to persons exempted by Minnesota Statutes, sections 169.685, subdivision 6, paragraph (b), and 169.686, subdivision 2, clause (3).

Subp. 4.

Emergency stopping.

When a vehicle is stopped for an emergency purpose or is disabled on the roadway or shoulder of a highway outside a business or residence district during the time when lighted lamps must be displayed, the driver shall promptly place an emergency warning triangle on the roadway on the traffic side of the vehicle ten feet from the vehicle in the direction of approaching traffic. A second emergency warning triangle must be placed approximately 100 feet from the vehicle in the direction of approaching traffic. If the vehicle is stopped or disabled on a one-way roadway, the driver shall place an additional warning triangle approximately 200 feet from the vehicle in the direction of approaching traffic.

Subp. 5.

Emergency policy.

Each provider shall develop a written policy that describes what action the driver or attendant must take in the event of an accident or emergency.

Statutory Authority:

MS s 174.30

History:

17 SR 634; 28 SR 1578

Published Electronically:

October 11, 2007