Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes



Claiming shall be conducted according to Rule 11 from the current United States Trotting Association (USTA) Charter, Bylaws, Rules and Regulations, but any conflict between the USTA Rule 11 and this chapter will be controlled by this chapter.


For claiming prices for harness race horses in standardbred racing, the following allowances shall be applicable with respect to claiming price:


for mares racing against colts or geldings, add 20 percent;


for two-year-olds racing against older horses, add 100 percent;


for three-year-olds racing against older horses, add 50 percent;


for four-year-olds racing against older horses, add 25 percent; and


spayed mares shall not receive any sex allowance.


No claimed horse shall race at any other racetrack until after the close of the race meeting at which it was claimed, or for 60 days, whichever is shorter, except to fulfill one or more stakes engagements or to race at a county fair meet.


The stewards shall void a claim if:


the horse dies or is euthanized within one hour of racing; or


the horse is placed on the veterinarian's list for exhibiting clinical signs of any of the following within one hour of racing: a musculoskeletal injury, lameness, or unsoundness of heart or lung. However, the claim shall not be voided for this reason if the claimant elected to claim the horse regardless of whether the horse is placed on the veterinarian's list. An election made under this part shall be made on the claim form. For purposes of this subpart, "unsoundness of heart" means atrial fibrillation or cardiac arrhythmias, and "unsoundness of lung" means recurrent airway obstructive pulmonary disease or bleeding from one or both nostrils.


If a horse entered in a claiming race is scratched, any claim on the horse is void. In addition, the horse, on the next start in Minnesota, is subject to be claimed at or less than the same claiming price in the race from which it was scratched. This item applies regardless of the conditions of the newly entered race.


This item applies for 30 days from the date the horse is scratched.


The removal of the horse from Minnesota suspends the 30-day period, which starts again the day the horse is returned to the state.


If a horse that is drawn to start in a claiming race has been declared to start in a subsequent claiming race, a successful claimant, if any, of the horse in the first race shall have the option of scratching the horse from the subsequent race.


A trainer whose horse has been claimed is responsible for the horse until after the collection of blood, urine, or hair specimens at the detention barn where delivery shall be made to the successful claimant, trainer, or employee of the claimant or trainer.


Postrace testing on all claimed horses shall be performed as set forth in chapter 7892. Upon receipt of notification from a commission veterinarian that the initial forensic analysis demonstrates a medication violation under chapter 7890:


The stewards shall immediately notify the successful claimant, who shall then have 72 hours to decide whether to keep the horse or request that the claim be voided.


Within 12 hours of a notification of a medication violation from the stewards, the original trainer must provide the new trainer, on a form prescribed by the commission, the name of the specific medication. A copy of the completed form must be provided to the stewards within 24 hours.


When a claim is voided by the stewards, the following provisions shall apply.


When a claim is voided after the claimant has taken possession of the horse, the claimant is responsible for all expenses incurred for the care of the horse from the time the horse was transferred to the claimant until the time the horse is returned to the prior owner following voidance of the claim by the stewards.


Voidance of a claim is not permitted if, after coming under the care, custody, and control of the claimant, the horse has already run for the claimant or has died.

Statutory Authority:

MS s 240.03; 240.13; 240.23; 240.24; 240.29


9 SR 2527; 31 SR 1277; 33 SR 8; 40 SR 29; 42 SR 1258; 44 SR 1047; 46 SR 6; 46 SR 1210

Published Electronically:

May 12, 2022

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes