This measure is intended to conserve motor fuel by prohibiting the use and operation of all nonexempt motor vehicles for a specified 24-hour period.
Upon the department's determination that a 24-hour driving ban is necessary to reduce the demand for motor fuel, the governor may order an emergency driving ban. Upon the governor's order, the division director shall issue the order and a statement to the news media to be promptly disseminated and brought to the attention of the public. The statement shall state the designated date of the ban, the emergency services which will remain available during the ban, the enforcement actions to be taken, and the penalties imposed for violation of the ban. The statement shall be released at least five days prior to the imposition of the driving ban.
It shall be unlawful for anyone to operate a Minnesota registered and licensed motor vehicle on public roads during the period of driving ban.
The following motor vehicle uses shall be exempt from a driving ban:
sanitation services vehicles;
aviation ground support vehicles;
vehicles identified as required in part 7620.0620, subpart 7, item F and used by employees in commuting for the purposes of plant protection;
vehicles used in providing or transporting employees for emergency medical care, residential care, telecommunications services, energy production, and news reporting;
individuals who require daily medical treatment; and
out-of-state licensed vehicles.
Any vehicle registered and licensed by the state of Minnesota and operated during a driving ban shall prominently display a sticker or card that clearly identifies that vehicle as exempt. The governor may waive this requirement for any category of exempted user, for example, police, fire, ambulance, or aviation ground support vehicles.
The department will issue guidelines for identification of exempt vehicles prior to a driving ban.
MS s 216C.15
L 1987 c 312 art 1 s 9
October 11, 2007