Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Minnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

7620.0240 PENALTIES.

Subpart 1.

Statutory penalties.

Penalties for the violation of any provision of the plan are set out in Minnesota Statutes, section 216C.30.

Subp. 2.

Misdemeanor.

Any person who violates the plan or knowingly submits false information in any report required by the plan shall be guilty of a misdemeanor. Maximum penalty is $500 or 90 days or both. Each day of violation shall constitute a separate offense.

Subp. 3.

Enforcement.

The plan may be enforced by injunction, action to compel performance, or other appropriate action in the district court of the county where the violation takes place. The existence of an adequate remedy at law shall not be a defense to such an action.

Subp. 4.

Civil penalties.

A court which finds that a person has violated a requirement of the plan or has knowingly submitted false information in any report required by the plan, or has violated a court order issued pursuant to the plan may impose a civil penalty of not more than $10,000 for each such violation. These funds are payable to the general fund in the state treasury.

Statutory Authority:

MS s 216C.10

History:

L 1987 c 312 art 1 s 9,10 subd 1

Published Electronically:

October 11, 2007