A person may not take more than one bear in quota areas and two bears in no-quota areas during any calendar year whether by firearm or archery. Bears taken may be of either sex or any age except that bear cubs may not be taken.
Party hunting for bears is not permitted. A person may not shoot a bear for another person or tag a bear shot by another person.
A person may not take or disturb any bear in a den.
Persons taking a bear must affix a tag and validate their license at the site of kill as provided below:
Persons killing a bear must affix to the carcass the site tag provided with their bear hunting license. The tag must be fastened around the bear's sternum (breast bone), through an ear, or around a leg bone or tendon so that the tag cannot be readily removed. A hunter may not possess or use the site tag of another, except when transporting a bear as provided by Minnesota Statutes, section 97A.535.
At the time a bear is tagged at the site of kill, the license of the person whose tag is affixed to the bear must be validated. Validation consists of using a knife or similar sharp object to cut out or a pen to indelibly mark the appropriate notches on the registration slip indicating:
the date of kill;
whether taken by firearms or archery; and
the sex of the bear harvested.
Bears may be skinned, quartered, or further divided prior to transportation and registration, but all edible meat and all other parts of the bear, except the entrails, must be retained by the hunter until registration is completed.
Every person taking a bear must present it for registration:
at a designated bear registration station or must connect to an online or telephone Department of Natural Resources harvest registration system and follow the instructions; or
in the case of a nuisance bear authorization, to the authorizing wildlife manager or conservation officer.
Bear must be registered according to item A:
before the bear is processed either privately or commercially; and
within 48 hours after taking.
A person registering bear must:
obtain a big game possession tag at a bear registration station; or
obtain a registration confirmation number by using an online or telephone Department of Natural Resources harvest registration system.
Registration agents are not required to inspect bear at registration stations.
A person may not process a bear unless it has been registered as evidenced by a possession tag or registration confirmation number.
Within 48 hours after the bear season closes, a person taking a bear must submit samples to the department in the envelope provided at bear registration stations according to instructions of the department as printed on the envelope. It is the responsibility of each person taking a bear to mail the envelope to the department, except in those cases where a bear registration station is collecting the samples.
A person may not take a white bear.
18 SR 83; 22 SR 292; 24 SR 644; 34 SR 621; 39 SR 1006
November 18, 2019
Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes