Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes


Subpart 1.

Practice requirement; physical therapists and physical therapist assistants.

Each year upon license renewal in compliance with Minnesota Statutes, section 148.73, physical therapists and physical therapist assistants must submit lists of locations or institutions where they have practiced during the past five years. Applicants for licensure who have not engaged in the practice of physical therapy as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 148.65, subdivision 1, for 320 hours during the past five years are required to achieve a passing score on retaking the licensure examination or complete no less than 320 hours of board-approved clinical experience with a broad base of interventions and patient diagnoses. In addition, every two years, the applicant must submit verification of compliance with the continuing education requirements of parts 5601.2100 to 5601.2500. An application submitted after the deadline date must be accompanied by the late fee described in Minnesota Statutes, section 148.715.

Subp. 2.

Jurisprudence continuing education; physical therapists and physical therapist assistants.

Beginning January 1, 2019, when a license is renewed each year in compliance with Minnesota Statutes, section 148.73, a licensee must complete self-study and take a jurisprudence examination on the Board of Physical Therapy Practice Act, and receive a passing score as established by the board on an open-book examination. The examination may be retaken as many times as is necessary to pass.

Statutory Authority:

MS s 148.66; 148.70; 148.74


8 SR 2573; 15 SR 1055; 25 SR 1721; 25 SR 1725; 42 SR 1183

Published Electronically:

April 10, 2018

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes