Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes



A licensee must calibrate the survey instruments used to show compliance with parts 4731.2000 to 4731.2950 and 4731.4400 to 4731.4527 before first use, intervals not to exceed 12 months, and following a repair that affects the calibration. A licensee must:


calibrate all scales with readings up to 1,000 millirems (10 mSv) per hour with a radiation source;


calibrate two separate readings on each scale or decade that will be used to show compliance; and


conspicuously note on the instrument the date of calibration.


A licensee may not use survey instruments if the difference between the indicated exposure rate and the calculated exposure rate is more than 20 percent.


A licensee must retain a record of each survey instrument calibration according to part 4731.4502, subpart 2.

Statutory Authority:

MS s 144.1201; 144.1202; 144.1203; 144.1204; 144.1205


29 SR 755; 40 SR 145

Published Electronically:

August 27, 2015

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes