Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

4685.2800 FEES.

Subpart 1.

Filing fees.

Every filing submitted to the commissioner by a health maintenance organization subject to Minnesota Statutes, sections 62D.01 to 62D.29, shall be accompanied by the following fees:


for filing an application for a certificate of authority, $3,000;


for filing each annual report, $400;


for filing a quarterly report, $200;


for filing each amendment to a certificate of authority, including the filings required under Minnesota Statutes, section 62D.08, subdivision 1, $125;


for filing a health plan premium, $125 plus $30 per product for which the premium is applicable;


for each examination, the costs, including staff salaries and fringe benefits and indirect costs, incurred in preparing for and conducting the examination and preparing the subsequent report. The commissioner shall provide the health maintenance organization an itemized statement at the time of billing.

For the purpose of this item, indirect costs include costs attributable to:




professional and technical services;


electronic data processing;


variable telephone usage;


correspondence delivery;


travel and subsistence; and


general overhead, including building rental, telephone systems, executive office services, personnel services, administrative services, and financial management.

The fee charged for the examination must be calculated by totaling staff salaries, fringe benefits, and the costs described in subitems (1) to (6) and adding the percentage of general overhead, described in subitem (7), attributable to the specific examination; and


for all other filings, $125. These filings include, but are not limited to:


requests for waiver of open enrollment;


demonstration project applications; and


expense and revenue reports required under Minnesota Statutes, section 62D.03, subdivision 4, clause (g).

Subp. 2.

Renewal fee.

The renewal fee for a certificate of authority is $21,500 for each health maintenance organization plus 70 cents for each person enrolled in the health maintenance organization on December 31 of the preceding year. The fee applies to the calendar year in which the fee is required to be paid.

Statutory Authority:

MS s 62D.08; 62D.20; 62D.21; 62D.211; 144.122


10 SR 2159; L 1987 c 384 art 2 s 1; 13 SR 2609; 15 SR 2430; 23 SR 1238; 24 SR 1288

Published Electronically:

October 11, 2007

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes