Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Minnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

4664.0520 SMOKING.

Subpart 1.

Applicability.

A hospice provider that operates a residential hospice facility must ensure that the requirements of this part are met.

Subp. 2.

Written policy.

A residential hospice facility may allow hospice patients and visitors to smoke in the facility. If smoking is permitted, the written policy and practices must be according to part 4620.1200 and Minnesota Statutes, sections 144.411 to 144.417.

Subp. 3.

Mechanical ventilation.

Bedrooms in which smoking is permitted must be provided with adequate exhaust ventilation. The mechanical means of ventilation must provide a minimum of ten air changes per hour and be directly exhausted to the outside. A separate exhaust fan within the bedroom for this purpose is acceptable.

Subp. 4.

Fines.

For each violation of the following subparts, the stated fine shall be assessed:

A.

subpart 2, $100; and

B.

subpart 3, $200.

Statutory Authority:

MS s 144A.752

History:

28 SR 1639

Published Electronically:

October 11, 2007