A resident must have a current admission medical history and complete physical examination performed and recorded by a physician, physician assistant, or nurse practitioner within five days before or within seven days after admission.
A nursing home must have physician orders for a resident's admission and immediate care at the time of admission.
A resident must be evaluated by a physician at least once every 30 days for the first 90 days after admission, and then whenever medically necessary. A physician visit is considered timely if it occurs within ten days after the date the visit was required.
Except as provided in this item, all required physician visits must be made by the physician personally. At the option of the physician, required visits after the initial visit may alternate between personal visits by the physician and visits by a physician assistant or nurse practitioner according to parts 5600.2600 to 5600.2670, chapters 6330 and 6340, and Minnesota Statutes, sections 147.34 and 148.235.
20 SR 303
October 11, 2007
Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes