Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Minnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

2500.1410 SPONSORSHIP OF EDUCATION PROGRAMS.

The board shall register and approve organizations or individuals who wish to offer continuing education programs to individuals licensed to practice chiropractic in this state as described in items A to C.

A.

The sponsor must submit an annual fee of $500 for all programs given during the year, or a fee of $100 for each program given during the year.

B.

The sponsor must complete and submit to the board annually a registration form developed by the board which includes at least:

(1)

the name, address, and telephone number of the organization;

(2)

the name, address, and telephone number of the person responsible and authorized to do business with the board regarding continuing education matters;

(3)

a signed statement which indicates that the sponsor of the continuing education program knows, understands, and agrees to follow all criteria for the approval of programs as listed in parts 2500.1500 and 2500.1550, and criteria for unapproved programs listed in part 2500.1600; and

(4)

a signed statement which indicates that the sponsor agrees to provide original receipts of participation to each Minnesota licensed chiropractor whose participation obligations are met indicating:

(a)

the attending chiropractor's name and address;

(b)

the attending chiropractor's Minnesota chiropractic license number;

(c)

the name of the program and the program identification number;

(d)

the date on which the program was attended;

(e)

the number of continuing education units obtained;

(f)

the type of continuing education units obtained; and

(g)

whether the units were obtained through traditional classroom participation, or whether the units were acquired through alternative formats in accordance with part 2500.1550.

C.

The sponsor must sign a statement agreeing to allow any representative of the board to attend all or part of any program that the sponsor is offering. If the representative of the board is a chiropractor licensed in Minnesota, that person must pay the full registration fee to be awarded continuing education units for attending the program.

When granting approval to individual sponsors or instructors providing continuing education programs for credit, the board must consider whether the providers or instructors are qualified by training, experience, or licensure to provide such education. The board must also deny approval to individual sponsors or instructors who are the subject of current discipline by their licensing boards, or whose licensing boards have issued any notice of contested case hearing in which the allegations, if proven, would directly reflect on the provider's qualifications to provide such programs.

Within 15 business days, the sponsor must report to the board any changes in an instructor's eligibility to provide continuing education programs in accordance with the requirements in item C.

Statutory Authority:

MS s 14.23; 148.08

History:

17 SR 1711; 25 SR 1863; 27 SR 1102

Published Electronically:

August 24, 2011