Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

Key: (1) language to be deleted (2) new language

                             CHAPTER 33-S.F.No. 180 
                  An act relating to education; providing for parent 
                  discretion in classroom placement of children of 
                  multiple birth; proposing coding for new law in 
                  Minnesota Statutes, chapter 120A. 
           Section 1.  [120A.38] [CLASSROOM PLACEMENT; PARENT 
           (a) A parent or guardian of twins or higher order multiples 
        may request that the children be placed in the same classroom or 
        in separate classrooms if the children are in the same grade 
        level at the same school.  The school may recommend classroom 
        placement to the parents and provide professional education 
        advice to the parents to assist them in making the best decision 
        for their children's education.  A school must provide the 
        placement requested by the children's parent or guardian, unless 
        the school board makes a classroom placement determination 
        following the school principal's request according to this 
        section.  The parent or guardian must request the classroom 
        placement no later than 14 days after the first day of each 
        school year or 14 days after the first day of attendance of the 
        children during a school year if the children are enrolled in 
        the school after the school year commences.  At the end of the 
        initial grading period, if the school principal, in consultation 
        with the children's classroom teacher, determines that the 
        requested classroom placement is disruptive to the school, the 
        school principal may request that the school board determine the 
        children's classroom placement. 
           (b) For purposes of this section, "higher order multiples" 
        means triplets, quadruplets, quintuplets, or more. 
           [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective for the 
        2005-2006 school year and later. 
           Presented to the governor May 2, 2005 
           Signed by the governor May 5, 2005, 11:04 a.m.

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes