Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

Key: (1) language to be deleted (2) new language


                         Laws of Minnesota 1991 

                        CHAPTER 281-S.F.No. 109 
           An act relating to judicial administration; increasing 
          fees; eliminating fees; decreasing the number of 
          certified copies of marriage licenses prepared; 
          expanding the probate surcharge to informal probate 
          matters; amending Minnesota Statutes 1990, sections 
          357.021, subdivision 2; 517.101; and 525.5501, 
          subdivision 2. 
    Section 1.  Minnesota Statutes 1990, section 357.021, 
subdivision 2, is amended to read: 
    Subd. 2.  [FEE AMOUNTS.] The fees to be charged and 
collected by the court administrator shall be as follows: 
     (1) In every civil action or proceeding in said court, the 
plaintiff, petitioner, or other moving party shall pay, when the 
first paper is filed for that party in said action, a fee of $85.
     The defendant or other adverse or intervening party, or any 
one or more of several defendants or other adverse or 
intervening parties appearing separately from the others, shall 
pay, when the first paper is filed for that party in said 
action, a fee of $85. 
     The party requesting a trial by jury shall pay $30. 
     The fees above stated shall be the full trial fee 
chargeable to said parties irrespective of whether trial be to 
the court alone, to the court and jury, or disposed of without 
trial, and shall include the entry of judgment in the action, 
but does not include copies or certified copies of any papers so 
filed or proceedings under chapter 103E, except the provisions 
therein as to appeals. 
    (2) Certified copy of any instrument from a civil or 
criminal proceeding, $5, plus 25 cents per page after the first 
page, and $3.50, plus 25 cents per page after the first page for 
an uncertified copy. 
    (3) Issuing a subpoena, $3 for each name. 
    (4) Issuing an execution and filing the return thereof; 
issuing a writ of attachment, injunction, habeas corpus, 
mandamus, quo warranto, certiorari, or other writs not 
specifically mentioned, $10. 
    (5) Issuing a transcript of judgment, or for filing and 
docketing a transcript of judgment from another court, $7.50. 
    (6) Filing and entering a satisfaction of judgment, partial 
satisfaction, or assignment of judgment, $5. 
    (7) Certificate as to existence or nonexistence of 
judgments docketed, $1 $5 for each name certified to and $3 for 
each judgment certified to. 
    (8) Filing and indexing trade name; or recording notary 
commission; or recording basic science certificate; or recording 
certificate of physicians, osteopaths, chiropractors, 
veterinarians, or optometrists, $5. 
    (9) For the filing of each partial, final, or annual 
account in all trusteeships, $10. 
    (10) For the deposit of a will, $5. 
    (11) All other services required by law for which no fee is 
provided, such fee as compares favorably with those herein 
provided, or such as may be fixed by rule or order of the court. 
    Sec. 2.  Minnesota Statutes 1990, section 517.101, is 
amended to read: 
    Within ten days of receipt of the certificate and after 
recording the certificate the court administrator local 
registrar shall prepare two a certified copies copy of the 
certificate:  one to be mailed to the married parties and the 
other to the person solemnizing the marriage.  The person 
solemnizing the marriage may shall indicate at the time of 
filing the certificate with the court administrator local 
registrar that the person does not wish wishes to receive a 
certified copy. 
    Sec. 3.  Minnesota Statutes 1990, section 525.5501, 
subdivision 2, is amended to read: 
    Subd. 2.  [FILING FEE SURCHARGE.] A petitioner person who 
pays a filing fee for a petition or application under chapters 
this chapter and chapter 524 and 525 shall pay a surcharge of up 
to $20, set by the county board of the county in which the 
petition is filed, in addition to the filing fee and other 
surcharges imposed by law.  The court administrator shall 
transmit the surcharge to the county treasurer for deposit in 
the county treasury. 
    Presented to the governor May 29, 1991 
    Signed by the governor June 1, 1991, 3:56 p.m.

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes