Except as required by Rule 116 of these rules with respect to a certiorari appeal from the Workers' Compensation Court of Appeals, no cost bond is required for any appeal, unless ordered by the trial court on motion and for good cause shown.
(Amended effective for appeals taken on or after January 1, 1992; amended effective January 1, 1999; amended effective March 1, 2001; amended effective July 1, 2014; amended effective July 1, 2016.)
The trial court may, upon motion of any respondent and a showing that extraordinary circumstances warrant the requirement of a cost bond, order that a bond be provided as follows:
(a) the bond shall be issued by a surety licensed to issue such bonds in the State of Minnesota and shall be conditioned upon the payment of all costs and disbursements awarded against the appellant on the appeal, not exceeding the amount of the bond, which shall not exceed $1,000;
(b) in lieu of a required bond, the appellant may deposit the required amount with the trial court administrator as security for payment; and
(c) the court may require the bond to be filed when the notice of appeal is filed, or within 14 days of the order requiring a bond, whichever date is later.
(Amended effective for appeals taken on or after January 1, 1992; amended effective January 1, 1999; amended effective March 1, 2001; amended effective July 1, 2014; amended effective January 1, 2020.)
The trial court may not require a bond in the following cases:
(a) a criminal case;
(b) a case arising in juvenile court;
(d) when the appellant has been authorized to proceed in forma pauperis pursuant to Rule 109;
(e) when the appellant is the state or a governmental subdivision of the state or an officer, employee, or agency thereof;
(f) when the appellant is a party to a public assistance appeal pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, chapter 256; or
(g) when the appellant is an applicant for unemployment benefits pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, chapter 268.
(Added effective July 1, 2014.)