Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

Key: (1) language to be deleted (2) new language

                             CHAPTER 13-S.F.No. 129 
                  An act relating to drivers' licenses; providing for 
                  Under-21 Minnesota identification cards; amending 
                  Minnesota Statutes 1996, sections 171.06, subdivision 
                  2; and 171.07, subdivisions 3 and 4. 
           Section 1.  Minnesota Statutes 1996, section 171.06, 
        subdivision 2, is amended to read: 
           Subd. 2.  [FEES.] The fees for a license and Minnesota 
        identification card are as follows: 
        Classified Driver License    D-$18.50 C-$22.50 B-$29.50 A-$37.50
        Classified Under 21 D.L.     D-$18.50 C-$22.50 B-$29.50 A-$17.50
        Instruction Permit                                        $ 9.50
        Duplicate Driver or Under 21 License or
         duplicate identification card                            $ 8.00
        Minnesota identification card or Under-21 Minnesota
         identification card, other than duplicate,
         except as otherwise provided in section 171.07,
         subdivisions 3 and 3a                                    $12.50
           Sec. 2.  Minnesota Statutes 1996, section 171.07, 
        subdivision 3, is amended to read: 
           Subd. 3.  [IDENTIFICATION CARD; FEE.] (a) Upon payment of 
        the required fee, the department shall issue to every applicant 
        therefor a Minnesota identification card.  The department may 
        not issue a Minnesota identification card to a person who has a 
        driver's license, other than an instruction permit or a limited 
        license.  The card must bear a distinguishing number assigned to 
        the applicant, a colored photograph or an electronically 
        produced image, the full name, date of birth, residence address, 
        a description of the applicant in the manner as the commissioner 
        deems necessary, and a space upon which the applicant shall 
        write the usual signature and the date of birth of the applicant 
        with pen and ink.  Each identification card issued to an 
        applicant under the age of 21 must be of a distinguishing color 
        and plainly marked "Under-21". 
           (b) Each Minnesota identification card must be plainly 
        marked "Minnesota identification card - not a driver's license." 
           (c) The fee for a Minnesota identification card issued to a 
        person who is mentally retarded, as defined in section 252A.02, 
        subdivision 2, or to a physically disabled person, as defined in 
        section 169.345, subdivision 2, is 50 cents. 
           Sec. 3.  Minnesota Statutes 1996, section 171.07, 
        subdivision 4, is amended to read: 
           Subd. 4.  [EXPIRATION.] (a) Except as otherwise provided in 
        this subdivision, the expiration date of Minnesota 
        identification cards of applicants under the age of 65 shall be 
        the birthday of the applicant in the fourth year following the 
        date of issuance of the card. 
           (b) Minnesota identification cards issued to applicants age 
        65 or over shall be valid for the lifetime of the applicant. 
           (c) The expiration date for an Under-21 identification card 
        is the card holder's 21st birthday.  The commissioner shall 
        issue an identification card to a holder of an Under-21 
        identification card who applies for the card, pays the required 
        fee, and presents proof of identity and age, unless the 
        commissioner determines that the applicant is not qualified for 
        the identification card. 
           Presented to the governor March 18, 1997 
           Signed by the governor March 19, 1997, 10:45 a.m.

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes