Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

Key: (1) language to be deleted (2) new language

                            CHAPTER 443-H.F.No. 1928 
                  An act relating to motor vehicles; authorizing special 
                  license plates for vehicles owned by volunteer 
                  ambulance drivers; amending Minnesota Statutes 1992, 
                  section 168.12, by adding a subdivision.  
           Section 1.  Minnesota Statutes 1992, section 168.12, is 
        amended by adding a subdivision to read: 
        PLATES.] (a) The registrar shall issue special license plates to 
        an applicant who is a volunteer ambulance attendant as defined 
        in section 144.8091, subdivision 2, and who owns or jointly owns 
        a motor vehicle taxed as a passenger automobile.  The registrar 
        shall issue the special plates on payment of the registration 
        tax required by law for the vehicle, compliance with all other 
        applicable laws relating to registration and licensing of motor 
        vehicles and drivers, and payment of an additional fee of $10.  
        The registrar shall not issue more than one set of these plates 
        to each qualified applicant. 
           (b) A person may use special plates issued under this 
        subdivision only during the period that the person is a 
        volunteer ambulance attendant.  When the person to whom the 
        special plates were issued ceases to be a volunteer ambulance 
        attendant, or when ownership of the vehicle is transferred, the 
        person shall remove the special plates from the vehicle and 
        return them to the registrar.  On return of the plates, the 
        owner of the vehicle, or new owner in case of a transferred 
        vehicle, is entitled to receive regular license plates for the 
        vehicle without cost for the rest of the registration period for 
        which the special plates were issued.  Special plates issued 
        under this subdivision may be transferred to another vehicle 
        owned by the volunteer ambulance attendant on payment of a fee 
        of $5. 
           (c) The fees specified in this subdivision must be paid 
        into the state treasury and deposited in the highway user tax 
        distribution fund.  
           (d) The commissioner may adopt rules governing the design, 
        issuance, and sale of the special plates authorized by this 
           Presented to the governor April 12, 1994 
           Signed by the governor April 15, 1994, 1:34 p.m.

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes