Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

Key: (1) language to be deleted (2) new language


                         Laws of Minnesota 1990 

                        CHAPTER 509-S.F.No. 1162 
           An act relating to drivers' licenses; setting deadline 
          for court administrators to forward driver's license 
          or permit applications and fees to the department of 
          public safety; amending Minnesota Statutes 1988, 
          section 171.06, subdivision 4.  
    Section 1.  Minnesota Statutes 1988, section 171.06, 
subdivision 4, is amended to read: 
    Subd. 4.  [APPLICATION, FILING.] Any applicant for an 
instruction permit, a driver's license, restricted license, or 
duplicate license may file an application with a court 
administrator of the district court or at a state office.  The 
administrator or state office shall receive and accept the 
application.  To cover all expenses involved in receiving, 
accepting, or forwarding to the department applications and 
fees, the court administrator of the district court may retain a 
county fee of $1 for each application for a Minnesota 
identification card, instruction permit, duplicate license, 
driver license, or restricted license.  The amount allowed to be 
retained by the court administrator of the district court shall 
be paid into the county treasury and credited to the general 
revenue fund of the county.  Before the end of the first working 
day following the final day of an established reporting period, 
the court administrator shall forward to the department all 
applications and fees collected during the reporting period, 
less the amount herein allowed to be retained for expense, to 
the department within 72 hours of the final day of any 
established reporting period expenses.  The court administrators 
of the district courts may appoint agents to assist in accepting 
applications, but the administrators shall require every agent 
to forward to the administrators by whom the agent is appointed 
all applications accepted and fees collected by the agent, 
except that an agent may retain one-half of the $1 county fee to 
cover the agent's expenses involved in receiving, accepting or 
forwarding the applications and fees.  The court administrators 
shall be responsible for the acts of agents appointed by them 
and for the forwarding to the department of all applications 
accepted and those fees collected by agents and by themselves as 
are required to be forwarded to the department. 
    Presented to the governor April 24, 1990 
    Signed by the governor April 26, 1990, 10:10 p.m.

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes