Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

Key: (1) language to be deleted (2) new language


                         Laws of Minnesota 1990 

                        CHAPTER 443-S.F.No. 1879 
           An act relating to natural resources; amending a 
          certain requirement relating to the sale of state 
          timber; amending Minnesota Statutes 1988, section 
          90.101, subdivision 1.  
    Section 1.  Minnesota Statutes 1988, section 90.101, 
subdivision 1, is amended to read:  
    Subdivision 1.  The commissioner may sell the timber on any 
tract of state land in lots not exceeding $20,000 in appraised 
value and may determine the number of sections or fractional 
sections of land to be covered by any one permit issued to the 
purchaser of timber on state lands, or in any one contract or 
other instrument relating thereto.  No timber shall be sold, 
except (1) to the highest bidder at public auction, or (2) if 
unsold at public auction the commissioner may offer the timber 
for private sale for a period of no more than 90 days after the 
public auction to any person who pays the appraised value for 
the timber.  The minimum price shall be the appraised value as 
fixed by the report of the state appraiser.  All sales shall be 
held in the county in which the tract is located and no sale 
shall be held in more than one location on any one day.  In 
adjoining counties, sales may not be held less than two hours 
    Presented to the governor April 12, 1990 
    Signed by the governor April 16, 1990, 4:29 p.m.

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes