Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Minnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

Key: (1) language to be deleted (2) new language


                         Laws of Minnesota 1985 

                        CHAPTER 145-H.F.No. 835 
           An act relating to driver's licenses; allowing same 
          time for expiration of driver's license for spouse of 
          active duty member of armed forces; amending Minnesota 
          Statutes 1984, section 171.27. 
    Section 1.  Minnesota Statutes 1984, section 171.27, is 
amended to read: 
    The expiration date for each driver's license, other than 
provisional licenses, is the birthday of the driver in the 
fourth year following the date of issuance of the license.  The 
birthday of the driver shall be as indicated on his the 
application for a driver's license.  A license may be renewed on 
or before expiration or within one year after expiration upon 
application, payment of the required fee, and passing the 
examination required of all drivers for renewal.  Driving 
privileges shall be extended or renewed on or preceding the 
expiration date of an existing driver's license unless the 
commissioner believes that the licensee is no longer qualified 
as a driver.  
    The expiration date for each provisional license shall be 
the 18th birthday of the licensee.  Upon the provisional 
licensee attaining the age of 18 and upon the application, 
payment of the required fee, and passing the examination 
required of all drivers for renewal, a driver's license shall be 
issued if the commissioner deems the record of the provisional 
licensee to be satisfactory.  
    Any valid Minnesota driver's license issued to a person 
then or subsequently on active duty with the Armed Forces of the 
United States, or the person's spouse, shall continue in full 
force and effect without requirement for renewal until 90 days 
after the date of his the person's discharge from such service, 
provided that a spouse's license must be renewed if the spouse 
is residing within the state at the time the license expires or 
within 90 days after the spouse returns to Minnesota and resides 
within the state.  
    All provisional licenses issued prior to August 1, 1973 
will remain in effect until the licensee's 21st birthday. 
    Approved May 17, 1985