Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

HF 2097

1st Engrossment - 87th Legislature (2011 - 2012) Posted on 03/29/2012 02:43pm

KEY: stricken = removed, old language.
underscored = added, new language.

Bill Text Versions

Introduction Posted on 02/08/2012
1st Engrossment Posted on 03/29/2012

Current Version - 1st Engrossment

Line numbers 1.1 1.2 1.3 1.4
1.5 1.6 1.7 1.8 1.9 1.10 1.11 1.12 1.13 1.14 1.15 1.16 1.17 1.18 1.19 1.20 1.21 1.22 1.23 1.24 2.1 2.2 2.3 2.4 2.5 2.6 2.7 2.8 2.9 2.10 2.11 2.12 2.13 2.14

A bill for an act
relating to human services; modifying child care accreditation provisions;
amending Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 119B.13, subdivision 3a.


Section 1.

Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 119B.13, subdivision 3a, is amended to

Subd. 3a.

Provider rate differential for accreditation.

A family child care
provider or child care center shall be paid a 15 percent differential above the maximum
rate established in subdivision 1, up to the actual provider rate, if the provider or center
holds a current early childhood development credential or is accredited. For a family
child care provider, early childhood development credential and accreditation includes
an individual who has earned a child development associate degree, a child development
associate credential, a diploma in child development from a Minnesota state technical
college, or a bachelor's or post baccalaureate degree in early childhood education from
an accredited college or university, or who is accredited by the National Association
for Family Child Care or the Competency Based Training and Assessment Program.
For a child care center, accreditation includes accreditation deleted text beginbydeleted text endnew text begin that meets the following
criteria: the accrediting organization must demonstrate the use of standards that promote
the physical, social, emotional, and cognitive development of children. The accreditation
standards shall include, but are not limited to, positive interactions between adults and
children, age-appropriate learning activities, a system of tracking children's learning,
use of assessment to meet children's needs, specific qualifications for staff, a learning
environment that supports developmentally appropriate experiences for children, health
and safety requirements, and family engagement strategies. The commissioner of human
services, in conjunction with the commissioners of education and health, will develop an
application and approval process based on the criteria in this section and any additional
criteria. The process developed by the commissioner of human services must address
periodic reassessment of approved accreditations. The commissioner of human services
must report the criteria developed, the application, approval, and reassessment processes,
and any additional recommendations by February 15, 2013, to the chairs and ranking
minority members of the legislative committees having jurisdiction over early childhood
issues. The following accreditations shall be recognized for the provider rate differential
until an approval process is implemented:
new text end the National Association for the Education of
Young Children, the Council on Accreditation, the National Early Childhood Program
Accreditation, the National School-Age Care Association, or the National Head Start
Association Program of Excellence. For Montessori programs, accreditation includes
the American Montessori Society, Association of Montessori International-USA, or the
National Center for Montessori Education.