Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

HF 2097

as introduced - 87th Legislature (2011 - 2012) Posted on 02/17/2012 03:55pm

KEY: stricken = removed, old language.
underscored = added, new language.
Line numbers 1.1 1.2 1.3 1.4
1.5 1.6 1.7 1.8 1.9 1.10 1.11 1.12 1.13 1.14 1.15 1.16 1.17 1.18 1.19 1.20 1.21 1.22 1.23 1.24

A bill for an act
relating to human services; modifying child care accreditation provisions;
amending Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 119B.13, subdivision 3a.


Section 1.

Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 119B.13, subdivision 3a, is amended to

Subd. 3a.

Provider rate differential for accreditation.

A family child care
provider or child care center shall be paid a 15 percent differential above the maximum
rate established in subdivision 1, up to the actual provider rate, if the provider or center
holds a current early childhood development credential or is accredited. For a family
child care provider, early childhood development credential and accreditation includes
an individual who has earned a child development associate degree, a child development
associate credential, a diploma in child development from a Minnesota state technical
college, or a bachelor's or post baccalaureate degree in early childhood education from
an accredited college or university, or who is accredited by the National Association for
Family Child Care or the Competency Based Training and Assessment Program. For a
child care center, accreditation includes accreditation by deleted text beginthe National Association for the
Education of Young Children, the Council on Accreditation, the National Early Childhood
Program Accreditation, the National School-Age Care Association, or the National Head
Start Association Program of Excellence
deleted text endnew text begin an education accrediting organization that
has been accrediting in the state of Minnesota for at least ten years or is recognized by
the Department of Health, Human Services, or Education
new text end. For Montessori programs,
accreditation includes the American Montessori Society, Association of Montessori
International-USA, or the National Center for Montessori Education.