Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

SF 3765

as introduced - 91st Legislature (2019 - 2020) Posted on 02/27/2020 04:25pm

KEY: stricken = removed, old language.
underscored = added, new language.

Current Version - as introduced

Line numbers 1.1 1.2 1.3 1.4 1.5 1.6 1.7 1.8 1.9 1.10 1.11 1.12 1.13 1.14 1.15 1.16 1.17 1.18 1.19 1.20 1.21 1.22 1.23 1.24

A resolution
memorializing the Congress of the United States to direct the United States Food and
Drug Administration to conduct trials for medical marijuana research.

WHEREAS, there is a need for additional comprehensive and well-controlled studies on the
effectiveness of using marijuana and related cannabinoids to treat patients who have serious
conditions; and

WHEREAS, preclinical, anecdotal, and controlled evidence suggests the possible efficacy
of marijuana and related cannabinoid treatment, and that the application of such evidence could
enhance the understanding and treatment of disease; and

WHEREAS, marijuana is currently classified by the United States Drug Enforcement
Administration as a federal Schedule I controlled substance, thereby restricting medical use research;

WHEREAS, it is important to enable researchers to conduct more clinical and public health
research with the purpose of developing cannabinoid-based medicines, specifically allowing for
randomized clinical trials and alternative delivery methods; NOW, THEREFORE,

BE IT RESOLVED by the Legislature of the State of Minnesota that it urges the President
and the Congress of the United States to direct the United States Food and Drug Administration to
approve randomized clinical trials for medicinal use of marijuana.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of State of the State of Minnesota is directed
to prepare copies of this memorial and transmit them to the President of the United States, the
President and the Secretary of the United States Senate, the Speaker and the Clerk of the United
States House of Representatives, the chair of the United States Senate Committee on Finance, the
chair of the United States House Committee on Ways and Means, and Minnesota's Senators and
Representatives in Congress.