Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

HF 2046

as introduced - 92nd Legislature (2021 - 2022) Posted on 03/30/2022 01:04pm

KEY: stricken = removed, old language.
underscored = added, new language.

Current Version - as introduced

Line numbers 1.1 1.2 1.3 1.4
1.5 1.6 1.7 1.8 1.9 1.10 1.11 1.12 1.13 1.14 1.15 1.16
1.17 1.18 1.19 1.20 1.21 1.22 2.1 2.2

A bill for an act
relating to education; requiring FAFSA for high school graduation; amending
Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 120B.02, by adding a subdivision.


Section 1.

Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 120B.02, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

new text begin Subd. 4. new text end

new text begin FAFSA requirement. new text end

new text begin Beginning with the 2022-2023 school year, a student
must: (1) complete and submit the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) form
in order to graduate from a Minnesota public high school, or if the student is not eligible to
complete a FAFSA form, an application for state financial aid; or (2) on a form created by
the Department of Education, file a signed waiver with the student's high school indicating
that the parent or guardian of the student, or the student if the student is at least 18 years
old or legally emancipated, understands what the FAFSA form is and has chosen not to file
an application. If a student is not able to fulfill the requirements of (1) or (2) due to
extenuating circumstances, as determined by the school, the high school principal may grant
a hardship waiver to the student.
new text end

Sec. 2. new text begin FAFSA WORKING GROUP.
new text end

new text begin The Department of Education and Office of Higher Education must convene a working
group of qualified stakeholders to make recommendations on how to provide support to
schools and students to complete the FAFSA graduation requirement under Minnesota
Statutes, section 120B.02, subdivision 4. By February 1, 2022, the Department of Education
must submit the report of the working group to the chairs and ranking minority members
of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over K-12 education policy and higher
new text end