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245A.01 CITATION.​

This chapter may be cited as the "Human Services Licensing Act."​

History: 1987 c 333 s 1; 2000 c 327 s 6​

245A.02 DEFINITIONS.​

Subdivision 1. Scope. The terms used in this chapter have the meanings given them in this section.​

Subd. 2. Adult. "Adult" means a person who is 18 years old or older and who:​

(1) has mental illness, developmental disability, physical disability, or functional impairment; or​

(2) has substance use disorder or abuses substances.​

Subd. 2a. Adult day care or family adult day services. "Adult day care," "adult day services," and​
"family adult day services" mean a program operating less than 24 hours per day that provides functionally​
impaired adults with an individualized and coordinated set of services including health services, social​
services, and nutritional services that are directed at maintaining or improving the participants' capabilities​
for self-care. Adult day care, adult day services, and family adult day services do not include programs​
where adults gather or congregate primarily for purposes of socialization, education, supervision, caregiver​
respite, religious expression, exercise, or nutritious meals.​

Subd. 2b. Annual or annually. With the exception of subdivision 2c, "annual" or "annually" means​
prior to or within the same month of the subsequent calendar year.​

Subd. 2c. [Renumbered 142B.01, subd 3]​

Subd. 3. Applicant. "Applicant" means an individual, organization, or government entity, as defined​
in section 13.02, subdivision 7a, that is subject to licensure under this chapter and that has applied for but​
not yet been granted a license under this chapter.​

Subd. 3a. Certification. "Certification" means the commissioner's written authorization for a license​
holder licensed by the commissioner of human services or the commissioner of corrections to serve children​
in a residential program and provide specialized services based on certification standards in Minnesota Rules.​
The term "certification" and its derivatives have the same meaning and may be substituted for the term​
"licensure" and its derivatives in this chapter.​

Subd. 3b. Authorized agent. "Authorized agent" means the controlling individual designated by the​
license holder responsible for communicating with the commissioner of human services on all matters related​
to this chapter and on whom service of all notices and orders must be made pursuant to section 245A.04,​
subdivision 1.​

Subd. 3c. At risk of becoming a victim of sex trafficking or commercial sexual exploitation. For​
the purposes of section 245A.25, a youth who is "at risk of becoming a victim of sex trafficking or commercial​
sexual exploitation" means a youth who meets the criteria established by the commissioner of human services​
for this purpose.​

Subd. 4. Child. "Child" means a person who has not reached age 18.​

Subd. 4a. Children's residential facility. "Children's residential facility" means a residential program​
licensed under this chapter or chapter 241 according to the applicable standards in Minnesota Rules, parts​
2960.0010 to 2960.0710.​
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Subd. 5. Commissioner. "Commissioner" means the commissioner of human services or the​
commissioner's designated representative including county agencies and private agencies.​

Subd. 5a. Controlling individual. (a) "Controlling individual" means an owner of a program or service​
provider licensed under this chapter and the following individuals, if applicable:​

(1) each officer of the organization, including the chief executive officer and chief financial officer;​

(2) the individual designated as the authorized agent under section 245A.04, subdivision 1, paragraph​
(b);​

(3) the individual designated as the compliance officer under section 256B.04, subdivision 21, paragraph​
(g);​

(4) each managerial official whose responsibilities include the direction of the management or policies​
of a program; and​

(5) the president and treasurer of the board of directors of a nonprofit corporation.​

(b) Controlling individual does not include:​

(1) a bank, savings bank, trust company, savings association, credit union, industrial loan and thrift​
company, investment banking firm, or insurance company unless the entity operates a program directly or​
through a subsidiary;​

(2) an individual who is a state or federal official, or state or federal employee, or a member or employee​
of the governing body of a political subdivision of the state or federal government that operates one or more​
programs, unless the individual is also an officer, owner, or managerial official of the program, receives​
remuneration from the program, or owns any of the beneficial interests not excluded in this subdivision;​

(3) an individual who owns less than five percent of the outstanding common shares of a corporation:​

(i) whose securities are exempt under section 80A.45, clause (6); or​

(ii) whose transactions are exempt under section 80A.46, clause (2);​

(4) an individual who is a member of an organization exempt from taxation under section 290.05, unless​
the individual is also an officer, owner, or managerial official of the program or owns any of the beneficial​
interests not excluded in this subdivision. This clause does not exclude from the definition of controlling​
individual an organization that is exempt from taxation; or​

(5) an employee stock ownership plan trust, or a participant or board member of an employee stock​
ownership plan, unless the participant or board member is a controlling individual according to paragraph​
(a).​

(c) For purposes of this subdivision, "managerial official" means an individual who has the​
decision-making authority related to the operation of the program, and the responsibility for the ongoing​
management of or direction of the policies, services, or employees of the program. A site director who has​
no ownership interest in the program is not considered to be a managerial official for purposes of this​
definition.​

Subd. 5b. Cradleboard. "Cradleboard" means a board or frame on which an infant is secured using​
blankets or other material, such as fabric or leather sides, and laces and often has a frame extending to protect​
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the infant's head. The infant is always placed with the infant's head facing outward, and the infant remains​
supervised in the cradleboard while sleeping or being carried.​

Subd. 6. County agency. "County agency" means the agency designated by the county board of​
commissioners, human service boards, local social services agencies or multicounty local social services​
agencies, or departments where those have been established under the law.​

Subd. 6a. [Renumbered 142B.01, subd 11]​

Subd. 6b. [Renumbered 142B.01, subd 12]​

Subd. 6c. Foster care for adults. "Foster care for adults" means a program operating 24 hours a day​
that provides functionally impaired adults with food, lodging, protection, supervision, and household services​
in a residence, in addition to services according to the individual service plans under Minnesota Rules, part​
9555.5105, subpart 18.​

Subd. 6d. Foster family setting. "Foster family setting" has the meaning given in Minnesota Rules,​
part 2960.3010, subpart 23, and includes settings licensed by the commissioner of human services or the​
commissioner of corrections.​

Subd. 6e. Foster residence setting. "Foster residence setting" has the meaning given in Minnesota​
Rules, part 2960.3010, subpart 26, and includes settings licensed by the commissioner of human services​
or the commissioner of corrections.​

Subd. 6f. Family adult foster care home. "Family adult foster care home" means an adult foster care​
home:​

(1) that is licensed by the Department of Human Services;​

(2) that is the primary residence of the license holder; and​

(3) in which the license holder is the primary caregiver.​

Subd. 7. Functional impairment. For the purposes of adult day care, adult day services, family adult​
day services, or adult foster care, "functional impairment" means:​

(1) a condition that is characterized by substantial difficulty in carrying out one or more of the essential​
major activities of daily living, such as caring for oneself, performing manual tasks, walking, seeing, hearing,​
speaking, breathing, learning, working; or​

(2) a disorder of thought or mood that significantly impairs judgment, behavior, capacity to recognize​
reality, or ability to cope with the ordinary demands of life and that requires support to maintain independence​
in the community.​

Subd. 7a. HIV minimum standards. "HIV minimum standards" means those items approved by the​
department and contained in the HIV-1 Guidelines for substance use disorder treatment and care programs​
in Minnesota including HIV education to clients, completion of HIV training by all new and existing staff,​
provision for referral to individual HIV counseling and services for all clients, and the implementation of​
written policies and procedures for working with HIV-infected clients.​

Subd. 7b. [Repealed, 2014 c 262 art 5 s 7]​
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Subd. 8. License. "License" means a certificate issued by the commissioner under section 245A.04​
authorizing the license holder to provide a specified program for a specified period of time and in accordance​
with the terms of the license and the rules of the commissioner.​

Subd. 9. License holder. "License holder" means an individual, organization, or government entity that​
is legally responsible for the operation of the program or service, and has been granted a license by the​
commissioner under this chapter and the rules of the commissioner.​

Subd. 10. Nonresidential program. "Nonresidential program" means care, supervision, rehabilitation,​
training or habilitation of a person provided outside the person's own home and provided for fewer than 24​
hours a day, including adult day care programs; and substance use disorder or substance abuse programs​
that are located in a nursing home or hospital and receive public funds for providing substance abuse or​
substance use disorder treatment services under chapter 254B. Nonresidential programs include home and​
community-based services for persons with disabilities or persons age 65 and older that are provided in or​
outside of a person's own home under chapter 245D.​

Subd. 10a. [Renumbered 142B.01, subd 21]​

Subd. 10b. Owner. "Owner" means an individual or organization that has a direct or indirect ownership​
interest of five percent or more in a program licensed under this chapter. For purposes of this subdivision,​
"direct ownership interest" means the possession of equity in capital, stock, or profits of an organization,​
and "indirect ownership interest" means a direct ownership interest in an entity that has a direct or indirect​
ownership interest in a licensed program. For purposes of this chapter, "owner of an employee stock ownership​
plan" means the president and treasurer of the entity. A government entity or nonprofit corporation that is​
issued a license under this chapter shall be designated the owner.​

Subd. 10c. Organization. "Organization" means a domestic or foreign corporation, nonprofit corporation,​
limited liability company, partnership, limited partnership, limited liability partnership, association, voluntary​
association, and any other legal or commercial entity. For purposes of this chapter, organization does not​
include a government entity.​

Subd. 11. Person. "Person" means a child or adult as defined in subdivisions 2 and 4.​

Subd. 12. [Renumbered 142B.01, subd 22]​

Subd. 13. Individual who is related. "Individual who is related" means a spouse, a parent, a birth or​
adopted child or stepchild, a stepparent, a stepbrother, a stepsister, a niece, a nephew, an adoptive parent, a​
grandparent, a sibling, an aunt, an uncle, or a legal guardian.​

Subd. 14. Residential program. (a) Except as provided in paragraph (b), "residential program" means​
a program that provides 24-hour-a-day care, supervision, food, lodging, rehabilitation, training, education,​
habilitation, or treatment outside a person's own home, including a program in an intermediate care facility​
for four or more persons with developmental disabilities; and substance use disorder or substance abuse​
programs that are located in a hospital or nursing home and receive public funds for providing substance​
abuse or substance use disorder treatment services under chapter 254B.​

(b) For a residential program under chapter 245D, "residential program" means a single or multifamily​
dwelling that is under the control, either directly or indirectly, of the service provider licensed under chapter​
245D and in which at least one person receives services under chapter 245D, including residential supports​
and services under section 245D.03, subdivision 1, paragraph (c), clause (3); out-of-home crisis respite​
services under section 245D.03, subdivision 1, paragraph (c), clause (1), item (ii); and out-of-home respite​
services under section 245D.03, subdivision 1, paragraph (b), clause (1). A residential program does not​

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota​
Revisor of Statutes​

245A.02​MINNESOTA STATUTES 2024​5​



include out-of-home respite services when a case manager has determined that an unlicensed site meets the​
assessed needs of the person. A residential program also does not include multifamily dwellings where​
persons receive integrated community supports, even if authorization to provide these supports is granted​
under chapter 245D and approved in the federal waiver.​

Subd. 15. Respite care services. "Respite care services" means temporary services provided to a person​
due to the absence or need for relief of the primary caregiver, the person's family member, or legal​
representative who is the primary caregiver and principally responsible for the care and supervision of the​
person. Respite care services are those that provide the level of supervision and care that is necessary to​
ensure the health and safety of the person. Respite care services do not include services that are specifically​
directed toward the training and habilitation of the person.​

Subd. 16. [Renumbered 142B.01, subd 25]​

Subd. 17. [Renumbered 142B.01, subd 26]​

Subd. 18. [Renumbered 142B.01, subd 27]​

Subd. 18a. Trauma. For the purposes of section 245A.25, "trauma" means an event, series of events,​
or set of circumstances experienced by an individual as physically or emotionally harmful or life-threatening​
and has lasting adverse effects on the individual's functioning and mental, physical, social, emotional, or​
spiritual well-being. Trauma includes the cumulative emotional or psychological harm of group traumatic​
experiences transmitted across generations within a community that are often associated with racial and​
ethnic population groups that have suffered major intergenerational losses.​

Subd. 19. [Renumbered 142B.01, subd 13]​

Subd. 20. Weekly. "Weekly" means at least once every calendar week, for the purposes of substance​
use disorder treatment programs licensed under chapter 245G.​

Subd. 21. Monthly. "Monthly" means at least once every calendar month, for the purposes of substance​
use disorder treatment programs licensed under chapter 245G.​

Subd. 22. Quarterly. "Quarterly" means at least every 90 calendar days, for the purposes of substance​
use disorder treatment programs licensed under chapter 245G.​

Subd. 23. Victim of sex trafficking or commercial sexual exploitation. For the purposes of section​
245A.25, "victim of sex trafficking or commercial sexual exploitation" means a person who meets the​
definitions in section 260C.007, subdivision 31, clauses (4) and (5).​

Subd. 24. Youth. For the purposes of section 245A.25, "youth" means a child as defined in section​
260C.007, subdivision 4, and includes individuals under 21 years of age who are in foster care pursuant to​
section 260C.451.​

History: 1987 c 333 s 2; 1988 c 411 s 1; 1989 c 282 art 2 s 60-65; 1990 c 568 art 2 s 40; 1991 c 142​
s 1; 1992 c 513 art 9 s 7,8; 1993 c 338 s 1,2; 1994 c 631 s 31; 1995 c 158 s 1,2; 1995 c 202 art 1 s 25; 1995​
c 207 art 2 s 4; 1997 c 248 s 3-7; 1999 c 36 s 1; 2000 c 327 s 6; 1Sp2001 c 9 art 14 s 4-6; 2002 c 375 art​
1 s 5,6; 2002 c 379 art 1 s 113; 2004 c 288 art 1 s 2-7; 2005 c 56 s 1; 1Sp2005 c 4 art 1 s 4; 2006 c 196 art​
1 s 52; art 2 s 5; 2013 c 108 art 8 s 8,9; art 9 s 5,6; 2014 c 228 art 2 s 2; 2014 c 291 art 1 s 1; 2015 c 78​
art 4 s 6-9; 2016 c 158 art 1 s 88; 1Sp2017 c 6 art 9 s 1,2; art 13 s 2,3; 2018 c 182 art 2 s 7-9; 1Sp2019 c​
9 art 2 s 14-21; art 7 s 5; 1Sp2020 c 2 art 1 s 5,6; 2021 c 30 art 10 s 2-8; 1Sp2021 c 7 art 13 s 4; 2022 c​
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98 art 4 s 51; art 12 s 1; 2023 c 25 s 121; 2023 c 70 art 8 s 3-5; art 17 s 9,10; 2024 c 80 art 2 s 32,33; 2024​
c 115 art 16 s 47; art 19 s 3​

245A.023 [Repealed, 2007 c 112 s 59]​

245A.03 WHO MUST BE LICENSED.​

Subdivision 1. License required. Unless licensed by the commissioner under this chapter, an individual,​
organization, or government entity must not:​

(1) operate a residential or a nonresidential program;​

(2) receive a child or adult for care, supervision, or placement in foster care; or​

(3) advertise a residential or nonresidential program.​

Subd. 2. Exclusion from licensure. (a) This chapter does not apply to:​

(1) residential or nonresidential programs that are provided to a person by an individual who is related;​

(2) nonresidential programs that are provided by an unrelated individual to persons from a single related​
family;​

(3) residential or nonresidential programs that are provided to adults who do not misuse substances or​
have a substance use disorder, a mental illness, a developmental disability, a functional impairment, or a​
physical disability;​

(4) sheltered workshops or work activity programs that are certified by the commissioner of employment​
and economic development;​

(5) programs operated by a public school for children 33 months or older;​

(6) nonresidential programs primarily for children that provide care or supervision for periods of less​
than three hours a day while the child's parent or legal guardian is in the same building as the nonresidential​
program or present within another building that is directly contiguous to the building in which the​
nonresidential program is located;​

(7) nursing homes or hospitals licensed by the commissioner of health except as specified under section​
245A.02;​

(8) board and lodge facilities licensed by the commissioner of health that do not provide children's​
residential services under Minnesota Rules, chapter 2960, mental health or substance use disorder treatment;​

(9) programs licensed by the commissioner of corrections;​

(10) recreation programs for children or adults that are operated or approved by a park and recreation​
board whose primary purpose is to provide social and recreational activities;​

(11) noncertified boarding care homes unless they provide services for five or more persons whose​
primary diagnosis is mental illness or a developmental disability;​

(12) programs for children such as scouting, boys clubs, girls clubs, and sports and art programs, and​
nonresidential programs for children provided for a cumulative total of less than 30 days in any 12-month​
period;​
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(13) residential programs for persons with mental illness, that are located in hospitals;​

(14) camps licensed by the commissioner of health under Minnesota Rules, chapter 4630;​

(15) mental health outpatient services for adults with mental illness or children with emotional disturbance;​

(16) residential programs serving school-age children whose sole purpose is cultural or educational​
exchange, until the commissioner adopts appropriate rules;​

(17) community support services programs as defined in section 245.462, subdivision 6, and family​
community support services as defined in section 245.4871, subdivision 17;​

(18) assisted living facilities licensed by the commissioner of health under chapter 144G;​

(19) substance use disorder treatment activities of licensed professionals in private practice as defined​
in section 245G.01, subdivision 17;​

(20) consumer-directed community support service funded under the Medicaid waiver for persons with​
developmental disabilities when the individual who provided the service is:​

(i) the same individual who is the direct payee of these specific waiver funds or paid by a fiscal agent,​
fiscal intermediary, or employer of record; and​

(ii) not otherwise under the control of a residential or nonresidential program that is required to be​
licensed under this chapter when providing the service;​

(21) a county that is an eligible vendor under section 254B.05 to provide care coordination and​
comprehensive assessment services;​

(22) a recovery community organization that is an eligible vendor under section 254B.05 to provide​
peer recovery support services; or​

(23) programs licensed by the commissioner of children, youth, and families in chapter 142B.​

(b) For purposes of paragraph (a), clause (6), a building is directly contiguous to a building in which a​
nonresidential program is located if it shares a common wall with the building in which the nonresidential​
program is located or is attached to that building by skyway, tunnel, atrium, or common roof.​

(c) Except for the home and community-based services identified in section 245D.03, subdivision 1,​
nothing in this chapter shall be construed to require licensure for any services provided and funded according​
to an approved federal waiver plan where licensure is specifically identified as not being a condition for the​
services and funding.​

Subd. 2a. [Renumbered 142B.05, subd 3]​

Subd. 2b. [Renumbered 142B.05, subd 4]​

Subd. 2c. [Repealed, 2015 c 37 s 3]​

Subd. 3. Unlicensed programs. (a) It is a misdemeanor for an individual, organization, or government​
entity to provide a residential or nonresidential program without a license issued under this chapter and in​
willful disregard of this chapter unless the program is excluded from licensure under subdivision 2.​
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(b) The commissioner may ask the appropriate county attorney or the attorney general to begin​
proceedings to secure a court order against the continued operation of the program, if an individual,​
organization, or government entity has:​

(1) failed to apply for a license under this chapter after receiving notice that a license is required or​
continues to operate without a license after receiving notice that a license is required;​

(2) continued to operate without a license after a license issued under this chapter has been revoked or​
suspended under this chapter, and the commissioner has issued a final order affirming the revocation or​
suspension, or the license holder did not timely appeal the sanction; or​

(3) continued to operate without a license after a temporary immediate suspension of a license has been​
issued under this chapter.​

(c) The county attorney and the attorney general have a duty to cooperate with the commissioner.​

Subd. 4. [Renumbered 142B.05, subd 6]​

Subd. 4a. [Renumbered 142B.05, subd 7]​

Subd. 5. MS 2020 [Repealed, 2022 c 98 art 7 s 32]​

Subd. 6. Right to seek certification. Nothing in this section shall prohibit a residential program licensed​
by the commissioner of corrections to serve children, that is excluded from licensure under subdivision 2,​
paragraph (a), clause (10), from seeking certification from the commissioner of human services under this​
chapter for program services for which certification standards have been adopted.​

Subd. 6a. Adult foster care homes or community residential settings serving people with mental​
illness; certification. (a) The commissioner of human services shall issue a mental health certification for​
adult foster care homes licensed under this chapter and Minnesota Rules, parts 9555.5105 to 9555.6265, or​
community residential settings licensed under chapter 245D, that serve people with a primary diagnosis of​
mental illness where the home is not the primary residence of the license holder when a provider is determined​
to have met the requirements under paragraph (b). This certification is voluntary for license holders. The​
certification shall be printed on the license, and identified on the commissioner's public website.​

(b) The requirements for certification are:​

(1) all staff working in the adult foster care home or community residential setting have received at least​
seven hours of annual training under paragraph (c) covering all of the following topics:​

(i) mental health diagnoses;​

(ii) mental health crisis response and de-escalation techniques;​

(iii) recovery from mental illness;​

(iv) treatment options including evidence-based practices;​

(v) medications and their side effects;​

(vi) suicide intervention, identifying suicide warning signs, and appropriate responses;​

(vii) co-occurring substance abuse and health conditions; and​

(viii) community resources;​
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(2) a mental health professional, as defined in section 245.462, subdivision 18, or a mental health​
practitioner as defined in section 245.462, subdivision 17, are available for consultation and assistance;​

(3) there is a protocol in place to address a mental health crisis; and​

(4) there is a crisis plan for each individual that identifies who is providing clinical services and their​
contact information, and includes an individual crisis prevention and management plan developed with the​
individual.​

(c) The training curriculum must be approved by the commissioner of human services and must include​
a testing component after training is completed. Training must be provided by a mental health professional​
or a mental health practitioner. Training may also be provided by an individual living with a mental illness​
or a family member of such an individual, who is from a nonprofit organization with a history of providing​
educational classes on mental illnesses approved by the Department of Human Services to deliver mental​
health training. Staff must receive three hours of training in the areas specified in paragraph (b), clause (1),​
items (i) and (ii), prior to working alone with residents. The remaining hours of mandatory training, including​
a review of the information in paragraph (b), clause (1), item (ii), must be completed within six months of​
the hire date. For programs licensed under chapter 245D, training under this section may be incorporated​
into the 30 hours of staff orientation required under section 245D.09, subdivision 4.​

(d) License holders seeking certification under this subdivision must request this certification on forms​
provided by the commissioner and must submit the request to the county licensing agency in which the home​
or community residential setting is located. The county licensing agency must forward the request to the​
commissioner with a county recommendation regarding whether the commissioner should issue the​
certification.​

(e) Ongoing compliance with the certification requirements under paragraph (b) shall be reviewed by​
the county licensing agency at each licensing review. When a county licensing agency determines that the​
requirements of paragraph (b) are not met, the county shall inform the commissioner, and the commissioner​
will remove the certification.​

(f) A denial of the certification or the removal of the certification based on a determination that the​
requirements under paragraph (b) have not been met by the adult foster care or community residential setting​
license holder are not subject to appeal. A license holder that has been denied a certification or that has had​
a certification removed may again request certification when the license holder is in compliance with the​
requirements of paragraph (b).​

Subd. 7. Licensing moratorium. (a) The commissioner shall not issue an initial license for child foster​
care licensed under Minnesota Rules, parts 2960.3000 to 2960.3340, which does not include child foster​
residence settings with residential program certifications for compliance with the Family First Prevention​
Services Act under section 245A.25, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), or adult foster care licensed under Minnesota​
Rules, parts 9555.5105 to 9555.6265, under this chapter for a physical location that will not be the primary​
residence of the license holder for the entire period of licensure. If a child foster residence setting that was​
previously exempt from the licensing moratorium under this paragraph has its Family First Prevention​
Services Act certification rescinded under section 245A.25, subdivision 9, or if a family adult foster care​
home license is issued during this moratorium, and the license holder changes the license holder's primary​
residence away from the physical location of the foster care license, the commissioner shall revoke the​
license according to section 245A.07. The commissioner shall not issue an initial license for a community​
residential setting licensed under chapter 245D. When approving an exception under this paragraph, the​
commissioner shall consider the resource need determination process in paragraph (h), the availability of​
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foster care licensed beds in the geographic area in which the licensee seeks to operate, the results of a person's​
choices during their annual assessment and service plan review, and the recommendation of the local county​
board. The determination by the commissioner is final and not subject to appeal. Exceptions to the moratorium​
include:​

(1) a license for a person in a foster care setting that is not the primary residence of the license holder​
and where at least 80 percent of the residents are 55 years of age or older;​

(2) foster care licenses replacing foster care licenses in existence on May 15, 2009, or community​
residential setting licenses replacing adult foster care licenses in existence on December 31, 2013, and​
determined to be needed by the commissioner under paragraph (b);​

(3) new foster care licenses or community residential setting licenses determined to be needed by the​
commissioner under paragraph (b) for the closure of a nursing facility, ICF/DD, or regional treatment center;​
restructuring of state-operated services that limits the capacity of state-operated facilities; or allowing​
movement to the community for people who no longer require the level of care provided in state-operated​
facilities as provided under section 256B.092, subdivision 13, or 256B.49, subdivision 24;​

(4) new foster care licenses or community residential setting licenses determined to be needed by the​
commissioner under paragraph (b) for persons requiring hospital-level care; or​

(5) new community residential setting licenses determined necessary by the commissioner for people​
affected by the closure of homes with a capacity of five or six beds currently licensed as supervised living​
facilities licensed under Minnesota Rules, chapter 4665, but not designated as intermediate care facilities.​
This exception is available until June 30, 2025.​

(b) The commissioner shall determine the need for newly licensed foster care homes or community​
residential settings as defined under this subdivision. As part of the determination, the commissioner shall​
consider the availability of foster care capacity in the area in which the licensee seeks to operate, and the​
recommendation of the local county board. The determination by the commissioner must be final. A​
determination of need is not required for a change in ownership at the same address.​

(c) When an adult resident served by the program moves out of a foster home that is not the primary​
residence of the license holder according to section 256B.49, subdivision 15, paragraph (f), or the adult​
community residential setting, the county shall immediately inform the Department of Human Services​
Licensing Division. The department may decrease the statewide licensed capacity for adult foster care​
settings.​

(d) Residential settings that would otherwise be subject to the decreased license capacity established in​
paragraph (c) must be exempt if the license holder's beds are occupied by residents whose primary diagnosis​
is mental illness and the license holder is certified under the requirements in subdivision 6a or section​
245D.33.​

(e) A resource need determination process, managed at the state level, using the available data required​
by section 144A.351, and other data and information must be used to determine where the reduced capacity​
determined under section 256B.493 will be implemented. The commissioner shall consult with the stakeholders​
described in section 144A.351, and employ a variety of methods to improve the state's capacity to meet the​
informed decisions of those people who want to move out of corporate foster care or community residential​
settings, long-term service needs within budgetary limits, including seeking proposals from service providers​
or lead agencies to change service type, capacity, or location to improve services, increase the independence​
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of residents, and better meet needs identified by the long-term services and supports reports and statewide​
data and information.​

(f) At the time of application and reapplication for licensure, the applicant and the license holder that​
are subject to the moratorium or an exclusion established in paragraph (a) are required to inform the​
commissioner whether the physical location where the foster care will be provided is or will be the primary​
residence of the license holder for the entire period of licensure. If the primary residence of the applicant or​
license holder changes, the applicant or license holder must notify the commissioner immediately. The​
commissioner shall print on the foster care license certificate whether or not the physical location is the​
primary residence of the license holder.​

(g) License holders of foster care homes identified under paragraph (f) that are not the primary residence​
of the license holder and that also provide services in the foster care home that are covered by a federally​
approved home and community-based services waiver, as authorized under chapter 256S or section 256B.092​
or 256B.49, must inform the human services licensing division that the license holder provides or intends​
to provide these waiver-funded services.​

(h) The commissioner may adjust capacity to address needs identified in section 144A.351. Under this​
authority, the commissioner may approve new licensed settings or delicense existing settings. Delicensing​
of settings will be accomplished through a process identified in section 256B.493.​

(i) The commissioner must notify a license holder when its corporate foster care or community residential​
setting licensed beds are reduced under this section. The notice of reduction of licensed beds must be in​
writing and delivered to the license holder by certified mail or personal service. The notice must state why​
the licensed beds are reduced and must inform the license holder of its right to request reconsideration by​
the commissioner. The license holder's request for reconsideration must be in writing. If mailed, the request​
for reconsideration must be postmarked and sent to the commissioner within 20 calendar days after the​
license holder's receipt of the notice of reduction of licensed beds. If a request for reconsideration is made​
by personal service, it must be received by the commissioner within 20 calendar days after the license holder's​
receipt of the notice of reduction of licensed beds.​

(j) The commissioner shall not issue an initial license for children's residential treatment services licensed​
under Minnesota Rules, parts 2960.0580 to 2960.0700, under this chapter for a program that Centers for​
Medicare and Medicaid Services would consider an institution for mental diseases. Facilities that serve only​
private pay clients are exempt from the moratorium described in this paragraph. The commissioner has the​
authority to manage existing statewide capacity for children's residential treatment services subject to the​
moratorium under this paragraph and may issue an initial license for such facilities if the initial license would​
not increase the statewide capacity for children's residential treatment services subject to the moratorium​
under this paragraph.​

Subd. 8. [Renumbered 142B.05, subd 8]​

Subd. 9. Permitted services by an individual who is related. Notwithstanding subdivision 2, paragraph​
(a), clause (1), and subdivision 7, an individual who is related to a person receiving supported living services​
may provide licensed services to that person if:​

(1) the person who receives supported living services received these services in a residential site on July​
1, 2005;​
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(2) the services under clause (1) were provided in a corporate foster care setting for adults and were​
funded by the developmental disabilities home and community-based services waiver defined in section​
256B.092;​

(3) the individual who is related obtains and maintains both a license under chapter 245D or successor​
licensing requirements for the provision of supported living services and an adult foster care license under​
Minnesota Rules, parts 9555.5105 to 9555.6265; and​

(4) the individual who is related is not the guardian of the person receiving supported living services.​

History: 1987 c 333 s 3; 1988 c 411 s 2; 1989 c 282 art 2 s 66-68; 1990 c 568 art 2 s 41; 1991 c 265​
art 9 s 63; 1992 c 499 art 3 s 12; 1992 c 513 art 9 s 9; 1993 c 338 s 3,4; 1993 c 339 s 5; 1994 c 483 s 1;​
1994 c 598 s 1,2; 1994 c 631 s 3,4,31; 1995 c 158 s 3; 1995 c 207 art 2 s 5; 1Sp1995 c 3 art 16 s 13; 1997​
c 113 s 16; 1997 c 248 s 9; 1998 c 397 art 11 s 3; 1998 c 406 art 1 s 4,37; 1998 c 407 art 6 s 3,4; art 9 s 4;​
2000 c 327 s 1,2,6; 1Sp2001 c 9 art 14 s 7-9; 2002 c 375 art 1 s 7; 2002 c 379 art 1 s 113; 2003 c 130 s 12;​
2004 c 288 art 1 s 8,9; 2005 c 56 s 1; 1Sp2005 c 4 art 1 s 5,6; 2007 c 112 s 3; 2009 c 79 art 8 s 8; 2009 c​
86 art 1 s 89; 2009 c 142 art 2 s 12,13; 2009 c 173 art 1 s 43; 2010 c 329 art 1 s 2,3; 2010 c 352 art 1 s​
4,5; 2011 c 86 s 4; 1Sp2011 c 9 art 7 s 1; 2012 c 216 art 9 s 3; art 16 s 1; art 18 s 1; 2012 c 247 art 4 s 5,6;​
2013 c 108 art 7 s 3; art 8 s 10-12; art 9 s 7; 2013 c 125 a 1 s 107; 2014 c 262 art 5 s 2; 2014 c 291 art 3​
s 1; 2014 c 312 art 25 s 2; art 27 s 6; 2015 c 37 s 1,2; 2016 c 158 art 1 s 89-93; 1Sp2017 c 6 art 2 s 3; art​
8 s 12; 2019 c 54 art 2 s 5; 1Sp2019 c 9 art 2 s 22,23; 1Sp2020 c 2 art 5 s 4; 1Sp2021 c 7 art 13 s 5; 2022​
c 98 art 4 s 10,51; art 14 s 12; 2023 c 50 art 1 s 14; 2023 c 61 art 1 s 2; 2023 c 70 art 8 s 6; 2024 c 80 art​
2 s 34-37; 2024 c 85 s 52,53; 2024 c 115 art 18 s 11; 2024 c 125 art 1 s 4; 2024 c 127 art 46 s 4; art 62 s​
1​

245A.035 Subdivision 1. [Renumbered 142B.06, subdivision 1]​

Subd. 2. [Renumbered 142B.06, subd 2]]​

Subd. 3. [Renumbered 142B.06, subd 3]​

Subd. 4. [Renumbered 142B.06, subd 4]​

Subd. 5. [Renumbered 142B.06, subd 5]​

Subd. 6. [Repealed by amendment, 2007 c 147 art 3 s 1]​

245A.04 APPLICATION PROCEDURES.​

Subdivision 1. Application for licensure. (a) An individual, organization, or government entity that is​
subject to licensure under section 245A.03 must apply for a license. The application must be made on the​
forms and in the manner prescribed by the commissioner. The commissioner shall provide the applicant​
with instruction in completing the application and provide information about the rules and requirements of​
other state agencies that affect the applicant. An applicant seeking licensure in Minnesota with headquarters​
outside of Minnesota must have a program office located within 30 miles of the Minnesota border. An​
applicant who intends to buy or otherwise acquire a program or services licensed under this chapter that is​
owned by another license holder must apply for a license under this chapter and comply with the application​
procedures in this section and section 245A.043.​

The commissioner shall act on the application within 90 working days after a complete application and​
any required reports have been received from other state agencies or departments, counties, municipalities,​
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or other political subdivisions. The commissioner shall not consider an application to be complete until the​
commissioner receives all of the required information.​

When the commissioner receives an application for initial licensure that is incomplete because the​
applicant failed to submit required documents or that is substantially deficient because the documents​
submitted do not meet licensing requirements, the commissioner shall provide the applicant written notice​
that the application is incomplete or substantially deficient. In the written notice to the applicant the​
commissioner shall identify documents that are missing or deficient and give the applicant 45 days to resubmit​
a second application that is substantially complete. An applicant's failure to submit a substantially complete​
application after receiving notice from the commissioner is a basis for license denial under section 245A.043.​

(b) An application for licensure must identify all controlling individuals as defined in section 245A.02,​
subdivision 5a, and must designate one individual to be the authorized agent. The application must be signed​
by the authorized agent and must include the authorized agent's first, middle, and last name; mailing address;​
and email address. By submitting an application for licensure, the authorized agent consents to electronic​
communication with the commissioner throughout the application process. The authorized agent must be​
authorized to accept service on behalf of all of the controlling individuals. A government entity that holds​
multiple licenses under this chapter may designate one authorized agent for all licenses issued under this​
chapter or may designate a different authorized agent for each license. Service on the authorized agent is​
service on all of the controlling individuals. It is not a defense to any action arising under this chapter that​
service was not made on each controlling individual. The designation of a controlling individual as the​
authorized agent under this paragraph does not affect the legal responsibility of any other controlling​
individual under this chapter.​

(c) An applicant or license holder must have a policy that prohibits license holders, employees,​
subcontractors, and volunteers, when directly responsible for persons served by the program, from abusing​
prescription medication or being in any manner under the influence of a chemical that impairs the individual's​
ability to provide services or care. The license holder must train employees, subcontractors, and volunteers​
about the program's drug and alcohol policy.​

(d) An applicant and license holder must have a program grievance procedure that permits persons​
served by the program and their authorized representatives to bring a grievance to the highest level of​
authority in the program.​

(e) The commissioner may limit communication during the application process to the authorized agent​
or the controlling individuals identified on the license application and for whom a background study was​
initiated under chapter 245C. Upon implementation of the provider licensing and reporting hub, applicants​
and license holders must use the hub in the manner prescribed by the commissioner. The commissioner may​
require the applicant, except for child foster care, to demonstrate competence in the applicable licensing​
requirements by successfully completing a written examination. The commissioner may develop a prescribed​
written examination format.​

(f) When an applicant is an individual, the applicant must provide:​

(1) the applicant's taxpayer identification numbers including the Social Security number or Minnesota​
tax identification number, and federal employer identification number if the applicant has employees;​

(2) at the request of the commissioner, a copy of the most recent filing with the secretary of state that​
includes the complete business name, if any;​
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(3) if doing business under a different name, the doing business as (DBA) name, as registered with the​
secretary of state;​

(4) if applicable, the applicant's National Provider Identifier (NPI) number and Unique Minnesota​
Provider Identifier (UMPI) number; and​

(5) at the request of the commissioner, the notarized signature of the applicant or authorized agent.​

(g) When an applicant is an organization, the applicant must provide:​

(1) the applicant's taxpayer identification numbers including the Minnesota tax identification number​
and federal employer identification number;​

(2) at the request of the commissioner, a copy of the most recent filing with the secretary of state that​
includes the complete business name, and if doing business under a different name, the doing business as​
(DBA) name, as registered with the secretary of state;​

(3) the first, middle, and last name, and address for all individuals who will be controlling individuals,​
including all officers, owners, and managerial officials as defined in section 245A.02, subdivision 5a, and​
the date that the background study was initiated by the applicant for each controlling individual;​

(4) if applicable, the applicant's NPI number and UMPI number;​

(5) the documents that created the organization and that determine the organization's internal governance​
and the relations among the persons that own the organization, have an interest in the organization, or are​
members of the organization, in each case as provided or authorized by the organization's governing statute,​
which may include a partnership agreement, bylaws, articles of organization, organizational chart, and​
operating agreement, or comparable documents as provided in the organization's governing statute; and​

(6) the notarized signature of the applicant or authorized agent.​

(h) When the applicant is a government entity, the applicant must provide:​

(1) the name of the government agency, political subdivision, or other unit of government seeking the​
license and the name of the program or services that will be licensed;​

(2) the applicant's taxpayer identification numbers including the Minnesota tax identification number​
and federal employer identification number;​

(3) a letter signed by the manager, administrator, or other executive of the government entity authorizing​
the submission of the license application; and​

(4) if applicable, the applicant's NPI number and UMPI number.​

(i) At the time of application for licensure or renewal of a license under this chapter, the applicant or​
license holder must acknowledge on the form provided by the commissioner if the applicant or license holder​
elects to receive any public funding reimbursement from the commissioner for services provided under the​
license that:​

(1) the applicant's or license holder's compliance with the provider enrollment agreement or registration​
requirements for receipt of public funding may be monitored by the commissioner as part of a licensing​
investigation or licensing inspection; and​
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(2) noncompliance with the provider enrollment agreement or registration requirements for receipt of​
public funding that is identified through a licensing investigation or licensing inspection, or noncompliance​
with a licensing requirement that is a basis of enrollment for reimbursement for a service, may result in:​

(i) a correction order or a conditional license under section 245A.06, or sanctions under section 245A.07;​

(ii) nonpayment of claims submitted by the license holder for public program reimbursement;​

(iii) recovery of payments made for the service;​

(iv) disenrollment in the public payment program; or​

(v) other administrative, civil, or criminal penalties as provided by law.​

Subd. 2. Notification of affected municipality. The commissioner must not issue a license under this​
chapter without giving 30 calendar days' written notice to the affected municipality or other political​
subdivision unless the program is considered a permitted single-family residential use under sections 245A.11​
and 245A.14. The commissioner may provide notice through electronic communication. The notification​
must be given before the first issuance of a license under this chapter and annually after that time if annual​
notification is requested in writing by the affected municipality or other political subdivision. State funds​
must not be made available to or be spent by an agency or department of state, county, or municipal​
government for payment to a residential or nonresidential program licensed under this chapter until the​
provisions of this subdivision have been complied with in full. The provisions of this subdivision shall not​
apply to programs located in hospitals.​

Subd. 2a. Meeting fire and safety codes. An applicant or license holder under sections 245A.01 to​
245A.16 must document compliance with applicable building codes, fire and safety codes, health rules, and​
zoning ordinances, or document that an appropriate waiver has been granted.​

Subd. 3. Background study. Individuals and organizations that are required under section 245C.03 to​
have or initiate background studies shall comply with the requirements in chapter 245C.​

Subd. 3a. Notice of background study results; determination of risk of harm. The notice of​
background study results and the commissioner's determination of the background subject's risk of harm​
shall be governed according to sections 245C.16 and 245C.17.​

Subd. 3b. Reconsideration of disqualification. Reconsideration of a disqualification shall be governed​
according to sections 245C.21 to 245C.27.​

Subd. 3c. Contested case. Contested case hearing rights related to a disqualification shall be governed​
according to section 245C.28.​

Subd. 3d. Disqualification. Disqualification shall be governed according to sections 245C.14 and​
245C.15.​

Subd. 3e. Variance for a disqualified individual. A variance for a disqualified individual shall be​
governed according to section 245C.30.​

Subd. 3f. Conclusive determinations or dispositions. Whether a disqualification determination or​
maltreatment determination or disposition is deemed conclusive shall be governed according to section​
245C.29.​
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Subd. 4. Inspections; waiver. (a) Before issuing a license under this chapter, the commissioner shall​
conduct an inspection of the program. The inspection must include but is not limited to:​

(1) an inspection of the physical plant;​

(2) an inspection of records and documents;​

(3) observation of the program in operation; and​

(4) an inspection for the health, safety, and fire standards in licensing requirements for a child care​
license holder.​

(b) The observation in paragraph (a), clause (3), is not required prior to issuing a license under subdivision​
7. If the commissioner issues a license under this chapter, these requirements must be completed within one​
year after the issuance of the license.​

Subd. 5. Commissioner's right of access. (a) When the commissioner is exercising the powers conferred​
by this chapter, section 626.557, and chapter 260E, the commissioner must be given access to:​

(1) the physical plant and grounds where the program is provided;​

(2) documents and records, including records maintained in electronic format;​

(3) persons served by the program; and​

(4) staff and personnel records of current and former staff whenever the program is in operation and the​
information is relevant to inspections or investigations conducted by the commissioner. Upon request, the​
license holder must provide the commissioner verification of documentation of staff work experience,​
training, or educational requirements.​

The commissioner must be given access without prior notice and as often as the commissioner considers​
necessary if the commissioner is investigating alleged maltreatment, conducting a licensing inspection, or​
investigating an alleged violation of applicable laws or rules. In conducting inspections, the commissioner​
may request and shall receive assistance from other state, county, and municipal governmental agencies and​
departments. The applicant or license holder shall allow the commissioner to photocopy, photograph, and​
make audio and video tape recordings during the inspection of the program at the commissioner's expense.​
The commissioner shall obtain a court order or the consent of the subject of the records or the parents or​
legal guardian of the subject before photocopying hospital medical records.​

(b) Persons served by the program have the right to refuse to consent to be interviewed, photographed,​
or audio or videotaped. Failure or refusal of an applicant or license holder to fully comply with this subdivision​
is reasonable cause for the commissioner to deny the application or immediately suspend or revoke the​
license.​

Subd. 6. Commissioner's evaluation. (a) Before issuing, denying, suspending, revoking, or making​
conditional a license, the commissioner shall evaluate information gathered under this section. The​
commissioner's evaluation shall consider the applicable requirements of statutes and rules for the program​
or services for which the applicant seeks a license, including the disqualification standards set forth in chapter​
245C, and shall evaluate facts, conditions, or circumstances concerning:​

(1) the program's operation;​

(2) the well-being of persons served by the program;​
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(3) available evaluations of the program by persons receiving services;​

(4) information about the qualifications of the personnel employed by the applicant or license holder;​
and​

(5) the applicant's or license holder's ability to demonstrate competent knowledge of the applicable​
requirements of statutes and rules, including this chapter and chapter 245C, for which the applicant seeks a​
license or the license holder is licensed.​

(b) The commissioner shall also evaluate the results of the study required in subdivision 3 and determine​
whether a risk of harm to the persons served by the program exists. In conducting this evaluation, the​
commissioner shall apply the disqualification standards set forth in chapter 245C.​

Subd. 7. Grant of license; license extension. (a) If the commissioner determines that the program​
complies with all applicable rules and laws, the commissioner shall issue a license consistent with this section​
or, if applicable, a temporary change of ownership license under section 245A.043. At minimum, the license​
shall state:​

(1) the name of the license holder;​

(2) the address of the program;​

(3) the effective date and expiration date of the license;​

(4) the type of license;​

(5) the maximum number and ages of persons that may receive services from the program; and​

(6) any special conditions of licensure.​

(b) The commissioner may issue a license for a period not to exceed two years if:​

(1) the commissioner is unable to conduct the observation required by subdivision 4, paragraph (a),​
clause (3), because the program is not yet operational;​

(2) certain records and documents are not available because persons are not yet receiving services from​
the program; and​

(3) the applicant complies with applicable laws and rules in all other respects.​

(c) A decision by the commissioner to issue a license does not guarantee that any person or persons will​
be placed or cared for in the licensed program.​

(d) Except as provided in paragraphs (i) and (j), the commissioner shall not issue a license if the applicant,​
license holder, or an affiliated controlling individual has:​

(1) been disqualified and the disqualification was not set aside and no variance has been granted;​

(2) been denied a license under this chapter or chapter 142B within the past two years;​

(3) had a license issued under this chapter or chapter 142B revoked within the past five years; or​

(4) failed to submit the information required of an applicant under subdivision 1, paragraph (f), (g), or​
(h), after being requested by the commissioner.​
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When a license issued under this chapter or chapter 142B is revoked, the license holder and each affiliated​
controlling individual with a revoked license may not hold any license under chapter 245A for five years​
following the revocation, and other licenses held by the applicant or license holder or licenses affiliated with​
each controlling individual shall also be revoked.​

(e) Notwithstanding paragraph (d), the commissioner may elect not to revoke a license affiliated with​
a license holder or controlling individual that had a license revoked within the past five years if the​
commissioner determines that (1) the license holder or controlling individual is operating the program in​
substantial compliance with applicable laws and rules and (2) the program's continued operation is in the​
best interests of the community being served.​

(f) Notwithstanding paragraph (d), the commissioner may issue a new license in response to an application​
that is affiliated with an applicant, license holder, or controlling individual that had an application denied​
within the past two years or a license revoked within the past five years if the commissioner determines that​
(1) the applicant or controlling individual has operated one or more programs in substantial compliance with​
applicable laws and rules and (2) the program's operation would be in the best interests of the community​
to be served.​

(g) In determining whether a program's operation would be in the best interests of the community to be​
served, the commissioner shall consider factors such as the number of persons served, the availability of​
alternative services available in the surrounding community, the management structure of the program,​
whether the program provides culturally specific services, and other relevant factors.​

(h) The commissioner shall not issue or reissue a license under this chapter if an individual living in the​
household where the services will be provided as specified under section 245C.03, subdivision 1, has been​
disqualified and the disqualification has not been set aside and no variance has been granted.​

(i) Pursuant to section 245A.07, subdivision 1, paragraph (b), when a license issued under this chapter​
has been suspended or revoked and the suspension or revocation is under appeal, the program may continue​
to operate pending a final order from the commissioner. If the license under suspension or revocation will​
expire before a final order is issued, a temporary provisional license may be issued provided any applicable​
license fee is paid before the temporary provisional license is issued.​

(j) Notwithstanding paragraph (i), when a revocation is based on the disqualification of a controlling​
individual or license holder, and the controlling individual or license holder is ordered under section 245C.17​
to be immediately removed from direct contact with persons receiving services or is ordered to be under​
continuous, direct supervision when providing direct contact services, the program may continue to operate​
only if the program complies with the order and submits documentation demonstrating compliance with the​
order. If the disqualified individual fails to submit a timely request for reconsideration, or if the disqualification​
is not set aside and no variance is granted, the order to immediately remove the individual from direct contact​
or to be under continuous, direct supervision remains in effect pending the outcome of a hearing and final​
order from the commissioner.​

(k) Unless otherwise specified by statute, all licenses issued under this chapter expire at 12:01 a.m. on​
the day after the expiration date stated on the license. A license holder must apply for and be granted a new​
license to operate the program or the program must not be operated after the expiration date.​

(l) The commissioner shall not issue or reissue a license under this chapter if it has been determined that​
a Tribal licensing authority has established jurisdiction to license the program or service.​
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(m) The commissioner of human services may coordinate and share data with the commissioner of​
children, youth, and families to enforce this section.​

Subd. 7a. Notification required. (a) A license holder must notify the commissioner, in a manner​
prescribed by the commissioner, and obtain the commissioner's approval before making any change that​
would alter the license information listed under subdivision 7, paragraph (a).​

(b) A license holder must also notify the commissioner, in a manner prescribed by the commissioner,​
before making any change:​

(1) to the license holder's authorized agent as defined in section 245A.02, subdivision 3b;​

(2) to the license holder's controlling individual as defined in section 245A.02, subdivision 5a;​

(3) to the license holder information on file with the secretary of state;​

(4) in the location of the program or service licensed under this chapter; and​

(5) to the federal or state tax identification number associated with the license holder.​

(c) When, for reasons beyond the license holder's control, a license holder cannot provide the​
commissioner with prior notice of the changes in paragraph (b), clauses (1) to (3), the license holder must​
notify the commissioner by the tenth business day after the change and must provide any additional​
information requested by the commissioner.​

(d) When a license holder notifies the commissioner of a change to the license holder information on​
file with the secretary of state, the license holder must provide amended articles of incorporation and other​
documentation of the change.​

(e) Upon implementation of the provider licensing and reporting hub, license holders must enter and​
update information in the hub in a manner prescribed by the commissioner.​

Subd. 7b. Notification to commissioner of changes in key staff positions; children's residential​
facilities and detoxification programs. (a) A license holder must notify the commissioner within five​
business days of a change or vacancy in a key staff position under paragraph (b) or (c). The license holder​
must notify the commissioner of the staffing change on a form approved by the commissioner and include​
the name of the staff person now assigned to the key staff position and the staff person's qualifications for​
the position. The license holder must notify the program licensor of a vacancy to discuss how the duties of​
the key staff position will be fulfilled during the vacancy.​

(b) The key staff position for a children's residential facility licensed according to Minnesota Rules,​
parts 2960.0130 to 2960.0220, is a program director; and​

(c) The key staff positions for a detoxification program licensed according to Minnesota Rules, parts​
9530.6510 to 9530.6590, are:​

(1) a program director as required by Minnesota Rules, part 9530.6560, subpart 1;​

(2) a registered nurse as required by Minnesota Rules, part 9530.6560, subpart 4; and​

(3) a medical director as required by Minnesota Rules, part 9530.6560, subpart 5.​

Subd. 8. Hospital inspections. Licensing authority granted under this section shall not modify the​
presumption regarding routine hospital inspections under section 144.55, subdivision 4.​
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Subd. 9. Variances. The commissioner may grant variances to rules that do not affect the health or​
safety of persons in a licensed program if the following conditions are met:​

(1) the variance must be requested by an applicant or license holder on a form and in a manner prescribed​
by the commissioner;​

(2) the request for a variance must include the reasons that the applicant or license holder cannot comply​
with a requirement as stated in the rule and the alternative equivalent measures that the applicant or license​
holder will follow to comply with the intent of the rule; and​

(3) the request must state the period of time for which the variance is requested.​

The commissioner may grant a permanent variance when conditions under which the variance is requested​
do not affect the health or safety of persons being served by the licensed program, nor compromise the​
qualifications of staff to provide services. The permanent variance shall expire as soon as the conditions​
that warranted the variance are modified in any way. Any applicant or license holder must inform the​
commissioner of any changes or modifications that have occurred in the conditions that warranted the​
permanent variance. Failure to advise the commissioner shall result in revocation of the permanent variance​
and may be cause for other sanctions under sections 245A.06 and 245A.07.​

The commissioner's decision to grant or deny a variance request is final and not subject to appeal under​
the provisions of chapter 14.​

Subd. 9a. [Renumbered 142B.10, subd 17]​

Subd. 10. [Renumbered 142B.10, subd 18]​

Subd. 11. Education program; permitted ages, additional requirement. (a) Except for foster care,​
the commissioner of human services may not grant a license to a residential facility for the placement of​
children before the commissioner has received documentation of approval of the on-site educational program​
from the commissioner of education according to section 125A.515.​

(b) A program licensed by the commissioner under Minnesota Rules, chapter 2960, may serve persons​
who are over the age of 18 but under the age of 21 when the person is:​

(1) completing secondary education or a program leading to an equivalent credential;​

(2) enrolled in an institution which provides postsecondary or vocational education;​

(3) participating in a program or activity designed to promote, or remove barriers to, employment;​

(4) employed for at least 80 hours per month; or​

(5) incapable of doing any of the activities described in clauses (1) to (4) due to a medical condition,​
which incapability is supported by regularly updated information in the case plan of the person.​

(c) In addition to the requirements in paragraph (b), a residential program licensed by the commissioner​
of human services under Minnesota Rules, parts 2960.0010 to 2960.0710, may serve persons under the age​
of 21 provided the facility complies with the following requirements:​

(1) for each person age 18 and older served at the program, the program must assess and document the​
person's risk of victimizing other residents residing in the facility, and based on the assessment, the facility​
must develop and implement necessary measures to minimize any risk of harm to other residents, including​
making arrangements for appropriate sleeping arrangements; and​
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(2) the program must assure that the services and living arrangements provided to all residents are​
suitable to the age and functioning of the residents, including separation of services, staff supervision, and​
other program operations as appropriate.​

(d) Nothing in this subdivision precludes the license holder from seeking other variances under subdivision​
9.​

Subd. 12. Adult day care facilities; Alzheimer's disease or related disorders. (a) If an adult day care​
facility markets or otherwise promotes services for persons with Alzheimer's disease or related disorders,​
the facility's direct care staff and their supervisors must be trained in dementia care.​

(b) Areas of required training include:​

(1) an explanation of Alzheimer's disease and related disorders;​

(2) assistance with activities of daily living;​

(3) problem solving with challenging behaviors; and​

(4) communication skills.​

(c) The facility shall provide to consumers in written or electronic form a description of the training​
program, the categories of employees trained, the frequency of training, and the basic topics covered.​

Subd. 13. Funds and property; other requirements. (a) A license holder must ensure that persons​
served by the program retain the use and availability of personal funds or property unless restrictions are​
justified in the person's individual plan.​

(b) The license holder must ensure separation of funds of persons served by the program from funds of​
the license holder, the program, or program staff.​

(c) Whenever the license holder assists a person served by the program with the safekeeping of funds​
or other property, the license holder must:​

(1) immediately document receipt and disbursement of the person's funds or other property at the time​
of receipt or disbursement, including the person's signature, or the signature of the conservator or payee;​
and​

(2) return to the person upon the person's request, funds and property in the license holder's possession​
subject to restrictions in the person's treatment plan, as soon as possible, but no later than three working​
days after the date of request.​

(d) License holders and program staff must not:​

(1) borrow money from a person served by the program;​

(2) purchase personal items from a person served by the program;​

(3) sell merchandise or personal services to a person served by the program;​

(4) require a person served by the program to purchase items for which the license holder is eligible for​
reimbursement; or​

(5) use funds of persons served by the program to purchase items for which the facility is already​
receiving public or private payments.​
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Subd. 14. Policies and procedures for program administration required and enforceable. (a) The​
license holder shall develop program policies and procedures necessary to maintain compliance with licensing​
requirements under Minnesota Statutes and Minnesota Rules.​

(b) The license holder shall:​

(1) provide training to program staff related to their duties in implementing the program's policies and​
procedures developed under paragraph (a);​

(2) document the provision of this training; and​

(3) monitor implementation of policies and procedures by program staff.​

(c) The license holder shall keep program policies and procedures readily accessible to staff and index​
the policies and procedures with a table of contents or another method approved by the commissioner.​

(d) An adult foster care license holder that provides foster care services to a resident under chapter 256S​
must annually provide a copy of the resident termination policy under section 245A.11, subdivision 11, to​
a resident covered by the policy.​

Subd. 15. Pandemic planning. Upon request, the license holder must cooperate with state and local​
government disaster planning agencies working to prepare for or react to emergencies presented by a pandemic​
outbreak.​

Subd. 15a. Plan for transfer of clients and records upon closure. (a) Except for license holders who​
reside on the premises and child care providers, an applicant for initial or continuing licensure or certification​
must submit a written plan indicating how the program will ensure the transfer of clients and records for​
both open and closed cases if the program closes. The plan must provide for managing private and confidential​
information concerning program clients. The plan must also provide for notifying affected clients of the​
closure at least 25 days prior to closure, including information on how to access their records. A controlling​
individual of the program must annually review and sign the plan.​

(b) Plans for the transfer of open cases and case records must specify arrangements the program will​
make to transfer clients to another provider or county agency for continuation of services and to transfer the​
case record with the client.​

(c) Plans for the transfer of closed case records must be accompanied by a signed agreement or other​
documentation indicating that a county or a similarly licensed provider has agreed to accept and maintain​
the program's closed case records and to provide follow-up services as necessary to affected clients.​

Subd. 16. Program policy; reporting a death in the program. Unless such reporting is otherwise​
already required under statute or rule, programs licensed under this chapter must have a written policy for​
reporting the death of an individual served by the program to the commissioner of human services. Within​
24 hours of receiving knowledge of the death of an individual served by the program, the license holder​
shall notify the commissioner of the death. If the license holder has reason to know that the death has been​
reported to the commissioner, a subsequent report is not required.​

Subd. 17. MS 2022 [Repealed, 2024 c 80 art 2 s 75]​

History: 1987 c 333 s 4; 1988 c 411 s 3,4; 1988 c 608 s 2; 1989 c 282 art 2 s 69-76; 1990 c 542 s 7;​
1990 c 568 art 2 s 42-44; 1991 c 38 s 1; 1992 c 513 art 9 s 10; 1993 c 171 s 3,4; 1993 c 306 s 1; 1993 c​
338 s 5; 1993 c 351 s 29; 1994 c 434 s 1-3; 1994 c 465 art 1 s 29; 1994 c 631 s 5,31; 1995 c 207 art 2 s​
7-10; 1995 c 229 art 3 s 5; art 4 s 11; 1996 c 408 art 10 s 5; 1997 c 177 s 1; 1997 c 248 s 10-18,39; 1998​
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c 367 art 2 s 32; 1998 c 406 art 1 s 6,7,37; 1998 c 407 art 9 s 6,7; 1999 c 139 art 4 s 2; 1999 c 241 art 2 s​
53; 1999 c 245 art 4 s 9; 2000 c 260 s 29; 2000 c 319 s 1; 2000 c 327 s 3-6; 1Sp2001 c 9 art 14 s 11-18;​
2002 c 292 s 1,2; 2002 c 375 art 1 s 9-12; 2002 c 379 art 1 s 113; 2003 c 15 art 2 s 1-8; 2003 c 37 s 4; 2003​
c 130 s 12; 2004 c 288 art 1 s 10-14; 1Sp2005 c 4 art 1 s 9,10; 2007 c 112 s 4-6; 2009 c 142 art 2 s 14,15;​
2010 c 301 art 3 s 1; 2010 c 329 art 1 s 4,5; 2012 c 216 art 16 s 2-5,27; art 17 s 1; 2013 c 108 art 9 s 8;​
2014 c 228 art 2 s 3-5; 2014 c 275 art 1 s 38; 2014 c 312 art 29 s 2; 2015 c 78 art 4 s 10; 1Sp2017 c 6 art​
2 s 4; art 9 s 3; art 16 s 1; 2018 c 200 s 1; 2019 c 54 art 2 s 6; 1Sp2019 c 9 art 2 s 24-32; 1Sp2020 c 2 art​
1 s 7; art 8 s 41; 2021 c 30 art 17 s 46; 2023 c 25 s 122; 2023 c 61 art 7 s 1; 2023 c 70 art 8 s 7-9; art 17​
s 11,12; 2024 c 80 art 2 s 39-41; 2024 c 115 art 19 s 4; 2024 c 127 art 62 s 2​

245A.041 SYSTEMS AND RECORDS.​

Subdivision 1. Establishment; use. The commissioner's establishment and use of systems and records​
to fulfill the requirements under chapter 245C shall be governed according to section 245C.32, subdivisions​
1 and 2.​

Subd. 2. National records search. National records searches shall be governed according to section​
245C.32, subdivision 3.​

Subd. 3. Record retention; license holder requirements. (a) A license holder must maintain and store​
records in a manner that will allow for review by the commissioner as identified in section 245A.04,​
subdivision 5. The following records must be maintained as specified and in accordance with applicable​
state or federal law, regulation, or rule:​

(1) service recipient records, including verification of service delivery, must be maintained for a minimum​
of five years following discharge or termination of service;​

(2) personnel records must be maintained for a minimum of five years following termination of​
employment; and​

(3) program administration and financial records must be maintained for a minimum of five years from​
the date the program closes.​

(b) A license holder who ceases to provide services must maintain all records related to the licensed​
program for five years from the date the program closes. The license holder must notify the commissioner​
of the location where the licensing records will be stored and the name of the person responsible for​
maintaining the stored records.​

(c) If the ownership of a licensed program or service changes, the transferor, unless otherwise provided​
by law or written agreement with the transferee, is responsible for maintaining, preserving, and making​
available to the commissioner on demand the license records generated before the date of the transfer.​

(d) In the event of a contested case, the license holder must retain records as required in paragraph (a)​
or until the final agency decision is issued and the conclusion of any related appeal, whichever period is​
longer.​

Subd. 4. Electronic records; license holder use. A license holder's use of electronic record keeping or​
electronic signatures must meet the following requirements:​

(1) use of electronic record keeping or electronic signatures does not alter the license holder's obligations​
under state or federal law, regulation, or rule;​
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(2) the license holder must ensure that the use of electronic record keeping does not limit the​
commissioner's access to records as specified under section 245A.04, subdivision 5;​

(3) upon request, the license holder must assist the commissioner in accessing and copying all records,​
including encrypted records and electronic signatures; and​

(4) the license holder must establish a mechanism or procedure to ensure that:​

(i) the act of creating the electronic record or signature is attributable to the license holder, according​
to section 325L.09;​

(ii) the electronic records and signatures are maintained in a form capable of being retained and accurately​
reproduced;​

(iii) the commissioner has access to information that establishes the date and time that data and signatures​
were entered into the electronic record; and​

(iv) the license holder's use of electronic record keeping or electronic signatures does not compromise​
the security of the records.​

Subd. 5. First date of working in a facility or setting; documentation requirements. Children's​
residential facility and foster residence setting license holders must document the first date that a person​
who is a background study subject begins working in the license holder's facility or setting. If the license​
holder does not maintain documentation of each background study subject's first date of working in the​
facility or setting in the license holder's personnel files, the license holder must provide documentation to​
the commissioner that contains the first date that each background study subject began working in the license​
holder's program upon the commissioner's request.​

Subd. 6. First date of direct contact; documentation requirements. Except for family adult day​
services that the license holder provides in the license holder's residence, license holders must document​
the first date that a background study subject has direct contact, as defined in section 245C.02, subdivision​
11, with a person served by the license holder's program. Unless this chapter otherwise requires, if the license​
holder does not maintain the documentation required by this subdivision in the license holder's personnel​
files, the license holder must provide the documentation to the commissioner upon the commissioner's​
request.​

History: 2001 c 163 s 1; 2003 c 15 art 2 s 9; 2012 c 216 art 18 s 2,3; 2021 c 30 art 10 s 9; 2023 c 70​
art 17 s 13; 2024 c 80 art 2 s 42​

245A.042 HOME AND COMMUNITY-BASED SERVICES; ADDITIONAL STANDARDS AND​
PROCEDURES.​

Subdivision 1. Standards governing the provision of home and community-based services. Residential​
and nonresidential programs for persons with disabilities or age 65 and older must obtain a license according​
to this chapter to provide home and community-based services defined in the federal waiver plans governed​
by United States Code, title 42, sections 1396 et seq., or the state's alternative care program according to​
section 256B.0913, and identified in section 245D.03, subdivision 1. As a condition of licensure, an applicant​
or license holder must demonstrate and maintain verification of compliance with:​

(1) licensing requirements under this chapter and chapter 245D;​

(2) applicable health care program requirements under Minnesota Rules, parts 9505.0170 to 9505.0475​
and 9505.2160 to 9505.2245; and​
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(3) provider standards and qualifications identified in the federal waiver plans or the alternative care​
program.​

Subd. 2. Modified application procedures. (a) Applicants seeking chapter 245D licensure who meet​
the following criteria are subject to modified application procedures:​

(1) the applicant holds a chapter 245B license issued on or before December 31, 2012, at the time of​
application;​

(2) the applicant's chapter 245B license or licenses are in substantial compliance according to the licensing​
standards in this chapter and chapter 245B; and​

(3) the commissioner has conducted at least one on-site inspection of the chapter 245B license or licenses​
within the two-year period before submitting the chapter 245D license application.​

For purposes of this subdivision, "substantial compliance" means the commissioner has not issued a​
sanction according to section 245A.07 against any chapter 245B license held by the applicant or made the​
chapter 245B license or licenses conditional according to section 245A.06 within the 12-month period before​
submitting the application for chapter 245D licensure.​

(b) The modified application procedures mean the commissioner must accept the applicant's attestation​
of compliance with certain requirements in lieu of providing information to the commissioner for evaluation​
that is otherwise required when seeking chapter 245D licensure.​

Subd. 3. Implementation. (a) The commissioner shall implement the responsibilities of this chapter​
according to the timelines in paragraphs (b) and (c) only within the limits of available appropriations or​
other administrative cost recovery methodology.​

(b) The licensure of home and community-based services according to this section shall be implemented​
January 1, 2014. License applications shall be received and processed on a phased-in schedule as determined​
by the commissioner beginning July 1, 2013. Licenses will be issued thereafter upon the commissioner's​
determination that the application is complete according to section 245A.04.​

(c) Within the limits of available appropriations or other administrative cost recovery methodology,​
implementation of compliance monitoring must be phased in after January 1, 2014.​

(1) Applicants who do not currently hold a license issued under chapter 245B must receive an initial​
compliance monitoring visit after 12 months of the effective date of the initial license for the purpose of​
providing technical assistance on how to achieve and maintain compliance with the applicable law or rules​
governing the provision of home and community-based services under chapter 245D. If during the review​
the commissioner finds that the license holder has failed to achieve compliance with an applicable law or​
rule and this failure does not imminently endanger the health, safety, or rights of the persons served by the​
program, the commissioner may issue a licensing review report with recommendations for achieving and​
maintaining compliance.​

(2) Applicants who do currently hold a license issued under this chapter must receive a compliance​
monitoring visit after 24 months of the effective date of the initial license.​

(d) Nothing in this subdivision shall be construed to limit the commissioner's authority to suspend or​
revoke a license or issue a fine at any time under section 245A.07, or issue correction orders and make a​
license conditional for failure to comply with applicable laws or rules under section 245A.06, based on the​
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nature, chronicity, or severity of the violation of law or rule and the effect of the violation on the health,​
safety, or rights of persons served by the program.​

(e) License holders governed under chapter 245D must ensure compliance with the following requirements​
within the stated timelines:​

(1) service initiation and service planning requirements must be met at the next annual meeting of the​
person's support team or by January 1, 2015, whichever is later, for the following:​

(i) provision of a written notice that identifies the service recipient rights and an explanation of those​
rights as required under section 245D.04, subdivision 1;​

(ii) service planning for basic support services as required under section 245D.07, subdivision 2; and​

(iii) service planning for intensive support services under section 245D.071, subdivisions 3 and 4;​

(2) staff orientation to program requirements as required under section 245D.09, subdivision 4, for staff​
hired before January 1, 2014, must be met by January 1, 2015. The license holder may otherwise provide​
documentation verifying these requirements were met before January 1, 2014;​

(3) development of policy and procedures as required under section 245D.11, must be completed no​
later than August 31, 2014;​

(4) written or electronic notice and copies of policies and procedures must be provided to all persons or​
their legal representatives and case managers as required under section 245D.10, subdivision 4, paragraphs​
(b) and (c), by September 15, 2014, or within 30 days of development of the required policies and procedures,​
whichever is earlier; and​

(5) all employees must be informed of the revisions and training must be provided on implementation​
of the revised policies and procedures as required under section 245D.10, subdivision 4, paragraph (d), by​
September 15, 2014, or within 30 days of development of the required policies and procedures, whichever​
is earlier.​

Subd. 4. Stakeholder consultation. The commissioner shall consult with the existing stakeholder group​
established as part of the provider standards process to gather input related to the development of an​
administrative cost recovery methodology to implement the provisions in chapter 245D.​

History: 2012 c 216 art 18 s 4; 2013 c 108 art 8 s 13; 2014 c 312 art 27 s 7​

245A.043 LICENSE APPLICATION AFTER CHANGE OF OWNERSHIP.​

Subdivision 1. Transfer prohibited. A license issued under this chapter is only valid for a premises​
and individual, organization, or government entity identified by the commissioner on the license. A license​
is not transferable or assignable.​

Subd. 2. Change in ownership. (a) If the commissioner determines that there is a change in ownership,​
the commissioner shall require submission of a new license application. This subdivision does not apply to​
a licensed program or service located in a home where the license holder resides. A change in ownership​
occurs when:​

(1) except as provided in paragraph (b), the license holder sells or transfers 100 percent of the property,​
stock, or assets;​

(2) the license holder merges with another organization;​
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(3) the license holder consolidates with two or more organizations, resulting in the creation of a new​
organization;​

(4) there is a change to the federal tax identification number associated with the license holder; or​

(5) except as provided in paragraph (b), all controlling individuals for the original license have changed.​

(b) For changes under paragraph (a), clause (1) or (5), no change in ownership has occurred and a new​
license application is not required if at least one controlling individual has been affiliated as a controlling​
individual for the license for at least the previous 12 months immediately preceding the change.​

Subd. 3. Standard change of ownership process. (a) When a change in ownership is proposed and the​
party intends to assume operation without an interruption in service longer than 60 days after acquiring the​
program or service, the license holder must provide the commissioner with written notice of the proposed​
change on a form provided by the commissioner at least 90 days before the anticipated date of the change​
in ownership. For purposes of this section, "party" means the party that intends to operate the service or​
program.​

(b) The party must submit a license application under this chapter on the form and in the manner​
prescribed by the commissioner at least 90 days before the change in ownership is anticipated to be complete​
and must include documentation to support the upcoming change. The party must comply with background​
study requirements under chapter 245C and shall pay the application fee required under section 245A.10.​

(c) A party that intends to assume operation without an interruption in service longer than 60 days after​
acquiring the program or service is exempt from the requirements of sections 245G.03, subdivision 2,​
paragraph (b), and 254B.03, subdivision 2, paragraphs (c) and (d).​

(d) The commissioner may streamline application procedures when the party is an existing license holder​
under this chapter and is acquiring a program licensed under this chapter or service in the same service class​
as one or more licensed programs or services the party operates and those licenses are in substantial​
compliance. For purposes of this subdivision, "substantial compliance" means within the previous 12 months​
the commissioner did not (1) issue a sanction under section 245A.07 against a license held by the party, or​
(2) make a license held by the party conditional according to section 245A.06.​

(e) While the standard change of ownership process is pending, the existing license holder remains​
responsible for operating the program according to applicable laws and rules until a license under this chapter​
is issued to the party.​

(f) If a licensing inspection of the program or service was conducted within the previous 12 months and​
the existing license holder's license record demonstrates substantial compliance with the applicable licensing​
requirements, the commissioner may waive the party's inspection required by section 245A.04, subdivision​
4. The party must submit to the commissioner (1) proof that the premises was inspected by a fire marshal​
or that the fire marshal deemed that an inspection was not warranted, and (2) proof that the premises was​
inspected for compliance with the building code or that no inspection was deemed warranted.​

(g) If the party is seeking a license for a program or service that has an outstanding action under section​
245A.06 or 245A.07, the party must submit a written plan as part of the application process identifying how​
the party has or will come into full compliance with the licensing requirements.​

(h) The commissioner shall evaluate the party's application according to section 245A.04, subdivision​
6. If the commissioner determines that the party has remedied or demonstrates the ability to remedy the​
outstanding actions under section 245A.06 or 245A.07 and has determined that the program otherwise​
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complies with all applicable laws and rules, the commissioner shall issue a license or conditional license​
under this chapter. A conditional license issued under this section is final and not subject to reconsideration​
under section 245A.06, subdivision 4. The conditional license remains in effect until the commissioner​
determines that the grounds for the action are corrected or no longer exist.​

(i) The commissioner may deny an application as provided in section 245A.05. An applicant whose​
application was denied by the commissioner may appeal the denial according to section 245A.05.​

(j) This subdivision does not apply to a licensed program or service located in a home where the license​
holder resides.​

Subd. 3a. Emergency change in ownership process. (a) In the event of a death of a license holder or​
sole controlling individual or a court order or other event that results in the license holder being inaccessible​
or unable to operate the program or service, a party may submit a request to the commissioner to allow the​
party to assume operation of the program or service under an emergency change in ownership process to​
ensure persons continue to receive services while the commissioner evaluates the party's license application.​

(b) To request the emergency change of ownership process, the party must immediately:​

(1) notify the commissioner of the event resulting in the inability of the license holder to operate the​
program and of the party's intent to assume operations; and​

(2) provide the commissioner with documentation that demonstrates the party has a legal or legitimate​
ownership interest in the program or service if applicable and is able to operate the program or service.​

(c) If the commissioner approves the party to continue operating the program or service under an​
emergency change in ownership process, the party must:​

(1) request to be added as a controlling individual or license holder to the existing license;​

(2) notify persons receiving services of the emergency change in ownership in a manner approved by​
the commissioner;​

(3) submit an application for a new license within 30 days of approval;​

(4) comply with the background study requirements under chapter 245C; and​

(5) pay the application fee required under section 245A.10.​

(d) While the emergency change of ownership process is pending, a party approved under this subdivision​
is responsible for operating the program under the existing license according to applicable laws and rules​
until a new license under this chapter is issued.​

(e) The provisions in subdivision 3, paragraphs (c), (d), and (f) to (i) apply to this subdivision.​

(f) Once a party is issued a new license or has decided not to seek a new license, the commissioner must​
close the existing license.​

(g) This subdivision applies to any program or service licensed under this chapter.​

Subd. 4. Temporary transitional license. If a party's application under subdivision 2 is for a satellite​
license for a community residential setting under section 245D.23 or day services facility under section​
245D.27 and if the party already holds an active license to provide services under chapter 245D, the​
commissioner may issue a temporary transitional license to the party for the community residential setting​
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or day services facility while the commissioner evaluates the party's application. Until a decision is made​
to grant or deny a community residential setting or day services facility satellite license, the party must be​
solely responsible for operating the program according to applicable laws and rules, and the existing license​
must be closed. The temporary transitional license expires after 12 months from the date it was issued or​
upon issuance of the community residential setting or day services facility satellite license, whichever occurs​
first.​

Subd. 5. Failure to comply. If the commissioner finds that the applicant or license holder has not fully​
complied with this section, the commissioner may impose a licensing sanction under section 245A.05,​
245A.06, or 245A.07.​

History: 1Sp2019 c 9 art 2 s 33; 2021 c 30 art 2 s 1; 2023 c 50 art 2 s 6; 2024 c 127 art 62 s 3-7​

245A.05 DENIAL OF APPLICATION.​

(a) The commissioner may deny a license if an applicant or controlling individual:​

(1) fails to submit a substantially complete application after receiving notice from the commissioner​
under section 245A.04, subdivision 1;​

(2) fails to comply with applicable laws or rules;​

(3) knowingly withholds relevant information from or gives false or misleading information to the​
commissioner in connection with an application for a license or during an investigation;​

(4) has a disqualification that has not been set aside under section 245C.22 and no variance has been​
granted;​

(5) has an individual living in the household who received a background study under section 245C.03,​
subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clause (2), who has a disqualification that has not been set aside under section​
245C.22, and no variance has been granted;​

(6) is associated with an individual who received a background study under section 245C.03, subdivision​
1, paragraph (a), clause (6), who may have unsupervised access to children or vulnerable adults, and who​
has a disqualification that has not been set aside under section 245C.22, and no variance has been granted;​

(7) fails to comply with section 245A.04, subdivision 1, paragraph (f) or (g);​

(8) fails to demonstrate competent knowledge as required by section 245A.04, subdivision 6;​

(9) has a history of noncompliance as a license holder or controlling individual with applicable laws or​
rules, including but not limited to this chapter and chapters 142E and 245C; or​

(10) is prohibited from holding a license according to section 245.095.​

(b) An applicant whose application has been denied by the commissioner must be given notice of the​
denial, which must state the reasons for the denial in plain language. Notice must be given by certified mail,​
by personal service, or through the provider licensing and reporting hub. The notice must state the reasons​
the application was denied and must inform the applicant of the right to a contested case hearing under​
chapter 14 and Minnesota Rules, parts 1400.8505 to 1400.8612. The applicant may appeal the denial by​
notifying the commissioner in writing by certified mail, by personal service, or through the provider licensing​
and reporting hub. If mailed, the appeal must be postmarked and sent to the commissioner within 20 calendar​
days after the applicant received the notice of denial. If an appeal request is made by personal service, it​
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must be received by the commissioner within 20 calendar days after the applicant received the notice of​
denial. If the order is issued through the provider hub, the appeal must be received by the commissioner​
within 20 calendar days from the date the commissioner issued the order through the hub. Section 245A.08​
applies to hearings held to appeal the commissioner's denial of an application.​

History: 1987 c 333 s 5; 1Sp2001 c 9 art 14 s 19; 2002 c 379 art 1 s 113; 2004 c 288 art 1 s 15; 2009​
c 142 art 2 s 16; 2012 c 216 art 16 s 6; 2018 c 200 s 2; 1Sp2019 c 9 art 2 s 34; 1Sp2021 c 7 art 2 s 4; 2023​
c 70 art 8 s 10; 2024 c 80 art 2 s 43; art 4 s 26; art 5 s 7; 2024 c 115 art 16 s 42​

245A.055 CLOSING A LICENSE.​

Subdivision 1. Inactive programs. The commissioner may close a license if the commissioner determines​
that a licensed program has not been serving any client for a consecutive period of 12 months or longer. The​
license holder is not prohibited from reapplying for a license if the license holder's license was closed under​
this chapter.​

Subd. 2. Reconsideration of closure. If a license is closed, the commissioner must notify the license​
holder of closure by certified mail, by personal service, or through the provider licensing and reporting hub.​
If mailed, the notice of closure must be mailed to the last known address of the license holder and must​
inform the license holder why the license was closed and that the license holder has the right to request​
reconsideration of the closure. If the license holder believes that the license was closed in error, the license​
holder may ask the commissioner to reconsider the closure. The license holder's request for reconsideration​
must be made in writing and must include documentation that the licensed program has served a client in​
the previous 12 months. The request for reconsideration must be postmarked and sent to the commissioner​
or submitted through the provider licensing and reporting hub within 20 calendar days after the license​
holder receives the notice of closure. Upon implementation of the provider licensing and reporting hub, the​
provider must use the hub to request reconsideration. If the order is issued through the provider hub, the​
reconsideration must be received by the commissioner within 20 calendar days from the date the commissioner​
issued the order through the hub. A timely request for reconsideration stays imposition of the license closure​
until the commissioner issues a decision on the request for reconsideration.​

Subd. 3. Reconsideration final. The commissioner's disposition of a request for reconsideration is final​
and not subject to appeal under chapter 14.​

History: 1Sp2019 c 9 art 2 s 35; 2023 c 70 art 8 s 11​

245A.06 CORRECTION ORDER AND CONDITIONAL LICENSE.​

Subdivision 1. Contents of correction orders and conditional licenses. (a) If the commissioner finds​
that the applicant or license holder has failed to comply with an applicable law or rule and this failure does​
not imminently endanger the health, safety, or rights of the persons served by the program, the commissioner​
may issue a correction order and an order of conditional license to the applicant or license holder. When​
issuing a conditional license, the commissioner shall consider the nature, chronicity, or severity of the​
violation of law or rule and the effect of the violation on the health, safety, or rights of persons served by​
the program. The correction order or conditional license must state the following in plain language:​

(1) the conditions that constitute a violation of the law or rule;​

(2) the specific law or rule violated;​

(3) the time allowed to correct each violation; and​
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(4) if a license is made conditional, the length and terms of the conditional license, and the reasons for​
making the license conditional.​

(b) Nothing in this section prohibits the commissioner from proposing a sanction as specified in section​
245A.07, prior to issuing a correction order or conditional license.​

(c) The commissioner may issue a correction order and an order of conditional license to the applicant​
or license holder through the provider licensing and reporting hub.​

Subd. 1a. Correction orders and conditional licenses for programs licensed as home and​
community-based services. (a) For programs licensed under both this chapter and chapter 245D, if the​
license holder operates more than one service site under a single license governed by chapter 245D, the​
order issued under this section shall be specific to the service site or sites at which the violations of applicable​
law or rules occurred. The order shall not apply to other service sites governed by chapter 245D and operated​
by the same license holder unless the commissioner has included in the order the articulable basis for applying​
the order to another service site.​

(b) If the commissioner has issued more than one license to the license holder under this chapter, the​
conditions imposed under this section shall be specific to the license for the program at which the violations​
of applicable law or rules occurred and shall not apply to other licenses held by the same license holder if​
those programs are being operated in substantial compliance with applicable law and rules.​

Subd. 2. Reconsideration of correction orders. (a) If the applicant or license holder believes that the​
contents of the commissioner's correction order are in error, the applicant or license holder may ask the​
Department of Human Services to reconsider the parts of the correction order that are alleged to be in error.​
The request for reconsideration must be made in writing and must be postmarked and sent to the commissioner​
within 20 calendar days after receipt of the correction order by the applicant or license holder or submitted​
in the provider licensing and reporting hub within 20 calendar days from the date the commissioner issued​
the order through the hub, and:​

(1) specify the parts of the correction order that are alleged to be in error;​

(2) explain why they are in error; and​

(3) include documentation to support the allegation of error.​

Upon implementation of the provider licensing and reporting hub, the provider must use the hub to​
request reconsideration. A request for reconsideration does not stay any provisions or requirements of the​
correction order. The commissioner's disposition of a request for reconsideration is final and not subject to​
appeal under chapter 14.​

(b) This paragraph applies only to licensed family child care providers. A licensed family child care​
provider who requests reconsideration of a correction order under paragraph (a) may also request, on a form​
and in the manner prescribed by the commissioner, that the commissioner expedite the review if:​

(1) the provider is challenging a violation and provides a description of how complying with the corrective​
action for that violation would require the substantial expenditure of funds or a significant change to their​
program; and​

(2) describes what actions the provider will take in lieu of the corrective action ordered to ensure the​
health and safety of children in care pending the commissioner's review of the correction order.​
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Subd. 3. Failure to comply. If the commissioner finds that the applicant or license holder has not​
corrected the violations specified in the correction order or conditional license, the commissioner may impose​
a fine and order other licensing sanctions pursuant to section 245A.07.​

Subd. 4. Notice of conditional license; reconsideration of conditional license. (a) If a license is made​
conditional, the license holder must be notified of the order by certified mail, by personal service, or through​
the provider licensing and reporting hub. If mailed, the notice must be mailed to the address shown on the​
application or the last known address of the license holder. The notice must state the reasons the conditional​
license was ordered and must inform the license holder of the right to request reconsideration of the conditional​
license by the commissioner. The license holder may request reconsideration of the order of conditional​
license by notifying the commissioner by certified mail, by personal service, or through the provider licensing​
and reporting hub. The request must be made in writing. If sent by certified mail, the request must be​
postmarked and sent to the commissioner within ten calendar days after the license holder received the order.​
If a request is made by personal service, it must be received by the commissioner within ten calendar days​
after the license holder received the order. If the order is issued through the provider hub, the request must​
be received by the commissioner within ten calendar days from the date the commissioner issued the order​
through the hub. The license holder may submit with the request for reconsideration written argument or​
evidence in support of the request for reconsideration. A timely request for reconsideration shall stay​
imposition of the terms of the conditional license until the commissioner issues a decision on the request​
for reconsideration. If the commissioner issues a dual order of conditional license under this section and an​
order to pay a fine under section 245A.07, subdivision 3, the license holder has a right to a contested case​
hearing under chapter 14 and Minnesota Rules, parts 1400.8505 to 1400.8612. The scope of the contested​
case hearing shall include the fine and the conditional license. In this case, a reconsideration of the conditional​
license will not be conducted under this section. If the license holder does not appeal the fine, the license​
holder does not have a right to a contested case hearing and a reconsideration of the conditional license must​
be conducted under this subdivision.​

(b) The commissioner's disposition of a request for reconsideration is final and not subject to appeal​
under chapter 14.​

Subd. 5. [Repealed by amendment, 1Sp2001 c 9 art 14 s 20]​

Subd. 5a. [Repealed by amendment, 1Sp2001 c 9 art 14 s 20]​

Subd. 6. [Repealed by amendment, 1Sp2001 c 9 art 14 s 20]​

Subd. 7. [Repealed by amendment, 1Sp2001 c 9 art 14 s 20]​

Subd. 8. [Renumbered 142B.16, subd 5]​

Subd. 9. [Renumbered 142B.16, subd 6]​

History: 1987 c 333 s 6; 1989 c 282 art 2 s 77-79; 1993 c 338 s 6; 1995 c 207 art 2 s 11-13; 1997 c​
248 s 19-25; 1Sp2001 c 9 art 14 s 20; 2002 c 379 art 1 s 113; 2004 c 288 art 1 s 16,17; 1Sp2005 c 4 art 1​
s 11; 2007 c 112 s 7; 2015 c 71 art 7 s 3; 1Sp2017 c 6 art 9 s 4-6; 2018 c 153 s 1; 2018 c 200 s 3; 1Sp2020​
c 2 art 8 s 42; 2023 c 70 art 8 s 12-14​

245A.065 [Renumbered 142B.17]​
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245A.07 SANCTIONS.​

Subdivision 1. Sanctions; appeals; license. (a) In addition to making a license conditional under section​
245A.06, the commissioner may suspend or revoke the license, impose a fine, or secure an injunction against​
the continuing operation of the program of a license holder who does not comply with applicable law or​
rule.​

When applying sanctions authorized under this section, the commissioner shall consider the nature, chronicity,​
or severity of the violation of law or rule and the effect of the violation on the health, safety, or rights of​
persons served by the program.​

(b) If a license holder appeals the suspension or revocation of a license and the license holder continues​
to operate the program pending a final order on the appeal, the commissioner shall issue the license holder​
a temporary provisional license. The commissioner may include terms the license holder must follow pending​
a final order on the appeal. Unless otherwise specified by the commissioner, variances in effect on the date​
of the license sanction under appeal continue under the temporary provisional license. If a license holder​
fails to comply with applicable law or rule while operating under a temporary provisional license, the​
commissioner may impose additional sanctions under this section and section 245A.06, and may terminate​
any prior variance. If a temporary provisional license is set to expire, a new temporary provisional license​
shall be issued to the license holder upon payment of any fee required under section 245A.10. The temporary​
provisional license shall expire on the date the final order is issued. If the license holder prevails on the​
appeal, a new nonprovisional license shall be issued for the remainder of the current license period.​

(c) If a license holder is under investigation and the license issued under this chapter is due to expire​
before completion of the investigation, the program shall be issued a new license upon completion of the​
reapplication requirements and payment of any applicable license fee. Upon completion of the investigation,​
a licensing sanction may be imposed against the new license under this section, section 245A.06, or 245A.08.​

(d) Failure to reapply or closure of a license issued under this chapter by the license holder prior to the​
completion of any investigation shall not preclude the commissioner from issuing a licensing sanction under​
this section or section 245A.06 at the conclusion of the investigation.​

Subd. 2. Temporary immediate suspension. (a) The commissioner shall act immediately to temporarily​
suspend a license issued under this chapter if:​

(1) the license holder's actions or failure to comply with applicable law or rule, or the actions of other​
individuals or conditions in the program, pose an imminent risk of harm to the health, safety, or rights of​
persons served by the program;​

(2) while the program continues to operate pending an appeal of an order of revocation, the commissioner​
identifies one or more subsequent violations of law or rule which may adversely affect the health or safety​
of persons served by the program; or​

(3) the license holder is criminally charged in state or federal court with an offense that involves fraud​
or theft against a program administered by the commissioner.​

(b) No state funds shall be made available or be expended by any agency or department of state, county,​
or municipal government for use by a license holder regulated under this chapter while a license issued​
under this chapter is under immediate suspension. A notice stating the reasons for the immediate suspension​
and informing the license holder of the right to an expedited hearing under chapter 14 and Minnesota Rules,​
parts 1400.8505 to 1400.8612, must be delivered by personal service to the address shown on the application​
or the last known address of the license holder. The license holder may appeal an order immediately​
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suspending a license. The appeal of an order immediately suspending a license must be made in writing by​
certified mail, personal service, or other means expressly set forth in the commissioner's order. If mailed,​
the appeal must be postmarked and sent to the commissioner within five calendar days after the license​
holder receives notice that the license has been immediately suspended. If a request is made by personal​
service, it must be received by the commissioner within five calendar days after the license holder received​
the order. A license holder and any controlling individual shall discontinue operation of the program upon​
receipt of the commissioner's order to immediately suspend the license.​

Subd. 2a. Immediate suspension expedited hearing. (a) Within five working days of receipt of the​
license holder's timely appeal, the commissioner shall request assignment of an administrative law judge.​
The request must include a proposed date, time, and place of a hearing. A hearing must be conducted by an​
administrative law judge within 30 calendar days of the request for assignment, unless an extension is​
requested by either party and granted by the administrative law judge for good cause. The commissioner​
shall issue a notice of hearing by certified mail or personal service at least ten working days before the​
hearing. The scope of the hearing shall be limited solely to the issue of whether the temporary immediate​
suspension should remain in effect pending the commissioner's final order under section 245A.08, regarding​
a licensing sanction issued under subdivision 3 following the immediate suspension. For suspensions under​
subdivision 2, paragraph (a), clause (1), the burden of proof in expedited hearings under this subdivision​
shall be limited to the commissioner's demonstration that reasonable cause exists to believe that the license​
holder's actions or failure to comply with applicable law or rule poses, or the actions of other individuals or​
conditions in the program poses an imminent risk of harm to the health, safety, or rights of persons served​
by the program. "Reasonable cause" means there exist specific articulable facts or circumstances which​
provide the commissioner with a reasonable suspicion that there is an imminent risk of harm to the health,​
safety, or rights of persons served by the program. When the commissioner has determined there is reasonable​
cause to order the temporary immediate suspension of a license based on a violation of safe sleep requirements,​
as defined in section 245A.1435, the commissioner is not required to demonstrate that an infant died or was​
injured as a result of the safe sleep violations. For suspensions under subdivision 2, paragraph (a), clause​
(2), the burden of proof in expedited hearings under this subdivision shall be limited to the commissioner's​
demonstration by a preponderance of the evidence that, since the license was revoked, the license holder​
committed additional violations of law or rule which may adversely affect the health or safety of persons​
served by the program.​

(b) The administrative law judge shall issue findings of fact, conclusions, and a recommendation within​
ten working days from the date of hearing. The parties shall have ten calendar days to submit exceptions to​
the administrative law judge's report. The record shall close at the end of the ten-day period for submission​
of exceptions. The commissioner's final order shall be issued within ten working days from the close of the​
record. When an appeal of a temporary immediate suspension is withdrawn or dismissed, the commissioner​
shall issue a final order affirming the temporary immediate suspension within ten calendar days of the​
commissioner's receipt of the withdrawal or dismissal. Within 90 calendar days after an immediate suspension​
has been issued and the license holder has not submitted a timely appeal under subdivision 2, paragraph (b),​
or within 90 calendar days after a final order affirming an immediate suspension, the commissioner shall​
determine:​

(1) whether a final licensing sanction shall be issued under subdivision 3, paragraph (a), clauses (1) to​
(6). The license holder shall continue to be prohibited from operation of the program during this 90-day​
period; or​

(2) whether the outcome of related, ongoing investigations or judicial proceedings are necessary to​
determine if a final licensing sanction under subdivision 3, paragraph (a), clauses (1) to (6), will be issued​
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and whether persons served by the program remain at an imminent risk of harm during the investigation​
period or proceedings. If so, the commissioner shall issue a suspension order under subdivision 3, paragraph​
(a), clause (7).​

(c) When the final order under paragraph (b) affirms an immediate suspension, or the license holder​
does not submit a timely appeal of the immediate suspension, and a final licensing sanction is issued under​
subdivision 3 and the license holder appeals that sanction, the license holder continues to be prohibited from​
operation of the program pending a final commissioner's order under section 245A.08, subdivision 5,​
regarding the final licensing sanction.​

(d) The license holder shall continue to be prohibited from operation of the program while a suspension​
order issued under paragraph (b), clause (2), remains in effect.​

(e) For suspensions under subdivision 2, paragraph (a), clause (3), the burden of proof in expedited​
hearings under this subdivision shall be limited to the commissioner's demonstration by a preponderance of​
the evidence that a criminal complaint and warrant or summons was issued for the license holder that was​
not dismissed, and that the criminal charge is an offense that involves fraud or theft against a program​
administered by the commissioner.​

Subd. 2b. Immediate suspension of residential programs. For suspensions issued to a licensed​
residential program as defined in section 245A.02, subdivision 14, the effective date of the order may be​
delayed for up to 30 calendar days to provide for the continuity of care of service recipients. The license​
holder must cooperate with the commissioner to ensure service recipients receive continued care during the​
period of the delay and to facilitate the transition of service recipients to new providers. In these cases, the​
suspension order takes effect when all service recipients have been transitioned to a new provider or 30 days​
after the suspension order was issued, whichever comes first.​

Subd. 2c. Immediate suspension for programs with multiple licensed service sites. (a) For license​
holders that operate more than one service site under a single license, the suspension order must be specific​
to the service site or sites where the commissioner determines an order is required under subdivision 2. The​
order must not apply to other service sites operated by the same license holder unless the commissioner has​
included in the order an articulable basis for applying the order to other service sites.​

(b) If the commissioner has issued more than one license to the license holder under this chapter, the​
suspension imposed under this section must be specific to the license for the program at which the​
commissioner determines an order is required under subdivision 2. The order must not apply to other licenses​
held by the same license holder if those programs are being operated in substantial compliance with applicable​
law and rules.​

Subd. 3. License suspension, revocation, or fine. (a) The commissioner may suspend or revoke a​
license, or impose a fine if:​

(1) a license holder fails to comply fully with applicable laws or rules including but not limited to the​
requirements of this chapter and chapter 245C;​

(2) a license holder, a controlling individual, or an individual living in the household where the licensed​
services are provided or is otherwise subject to a background study has been disqualified and the​
disqualification was not set aside and no variance has been granted;​

(3) a license holder knowingly withholds relevant information from or gives false or misleading​
information to the commissioner in connection with an application for a license, in connection with the​
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background study status of an individual, during an investigation, or regarding compliance with applicable​
laws or rules;​

(4) a license holder is excluded from any program administered by the commissioner under section​
245.095;​

(5) revocation is required under section 245A.04, subdivision 7, paragraph (d); or​

(6) suspension is necessary under subdivision 2a, paragraph (b), clause (2).​

A license holder who has had a license issued under this chapter suspended, revoked, or has been ordered​
to pay a fine must be given notice of the action by certified mail, by personal service, or through the provider​
licensing and reporting hub. If mailed, the notice must be mailed to the address shown on the application or​
the last known address of the license holder. The notice must state in plain language the reasons the license​
was suspended or revoked, or a fine was ordered.​

(b) If the license was suspended or revoked, the notice must inform the license holder of the right to a​
contested case hearing under chapter 14 and Minnesota Rules, parts 1400.8505 to 1400.8612. The license​
holder may appeal an order suspending or revoking a license. The appeal of an order suspending or revoking​
a license must be made in writing by certified mail, by personal service, or through the provider licensing​
and reporting hub. If mailed, the appeal must be postmarked and sent to the commissioner within ten calendar​
days after the license holder receives notice that the license has been suspended or revoked. If a request is​
made by personal service, it must be received by the commissioner within ten calendar days after the license​
holder received the order. If the order is issued through the provider hub, the appeal must be received by​
the commissioner within ten calendar days from the date the commissioner issued the order through the hub.​
Except as provided in subdivision 2a, paragraph (c), if a license holder submits a timely appeal of an order​
suspending or revoking a license, the license holder may continue to operate the program as provided in​
section 245A.04, subdivision 7, paragraphs (i) and (j), until the commissioner issues a final order on the​
suspension or revocation.​

(c)(1) If the license holder was ordered to pay a fine, the notice must inform the license holder of the​
responsibility for payment of fines and the right to a contested case hearing under chapter 14 and Minnesota​
Rules, parts 1400.8505 to 1400.8612. The appeal of an order to pay a fine must be made in writing by​
certified mail, by personal service, or through the provider licensing and reporting hub. If mailed, the appeal​
must be postmarked and sent to the commissioner within ten calendar days after the license holder receives​
notice that the fine has been ordered. If a request is made by personal service, it must be received by the​
commissioner within ten calendar days after the license holder received the order. If the order is issued​
through the provider hub, the appeal must be received by the commissioner within ten calendar days from​
the date the commissioner issued the order through the hub.​

(2) The license holder shall pay the fines assessed on or before the payment date specified. If the license​
holder fails to fully comply with the order, the commissioner may issue a second fine or suspend the license​
until the license holder complies. If the license holder receives state funds, the state, county, or municipal​
agencies or departments responsible for administering the funds shall withhold payments and recover any​
payments made while the license is suspended for failure to pay a fine. A timely appeal shall stay payment​
of the fine until the commissioner issues a final order.​

(3) A license holder shall promptly notify the commissioner of human services, in writing, when a​
violation specified in the order to forfeit a fine is corrected. If upon reinspection the commissioner determines​
that a violation has not been corrected as indicated by the order to forfeit a fine, the commissioner may issue​
a second fine. The commissioner shall notify the license holder by certified mail, by personal service, or​
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through the provider licensing and reporting hub that a second fine has been assessed. The license holder​
may appeal the second fine as provided under this subdivision.​

(4) Fines shall be assessed as follows:​

(i) the license holder shall forfeit $1,000 for each determination of maltreatment of a child under chapter​
260E or the maltreatment of a vulnerable adult under section 626.557 for which the license holder is​
determined responsible for the maltreatment under section 260E.30, subdivision 4, paragraphs (a) and (b),​
or 626.557, subdivision 9c, paragraph (c);​

(ii) if the commissioner determines that a determination of maltreatment for which the license holder is​
responsible is the result of maltreatment that meets the definition of serious maltreatment as defined in​
section 245C.02, subdivision 18, the license holder shall forfeit $5,000;​

(iii) the license holder shall forfeit $200 for each occurrence of a violation of law or rule governing​
matters of health, safety, or supervision, including but not limited to the provision of adequate staff-to-child​
or adult ratios, and failure to comply with background study requirements under chapter 245C; and​

(iv) the license holder shall forfeit $100 for each occurrence of a violation of law or rule other than those​
subject to a $5,000, $1,000, or $200 fine in items (i) to (iv).​

For purposes of this section, "occurrence" means each violation identified in the commissioner's fine​
order. Fines assessed against a license holder that holds a license to provide home and community-based​
services, as identified in section 245D.03, subdivision 1, and a community residential setting or day services​
facility license under chapter 245D where the services are provided, may be assessed against both licenses​
for the same occurrence, but the combined amount of the fines shall not exceed the amount specified in this​
clause for that occurrence.​

(5) When a fine has been assessed, the license holder may not avoid payment by closing, selling, or​
otherwise transferring the licensed program to a third party. In such an event, the license holder will be​
personally liable for payment. In the case of a corporation, each controlling individual is personally and​
jointly liable for payment.​

(d) Except for background study violations involving the failure to comply with an order to immediately​
remove an individual or an order to provide continuous, direct supervision, the commissioner shall not issue​
a fine under paragraph (c) relating to a background study violation to a license holder who self-corrects a​
background study violation before the commissioner discovers the violation. A license holder who has​
previously exercised the provisions of this paragraph to avoid a fine for a background study violation may​
not avoid a fine for a subsequent background study violation unless at least 365 days have passed since the​
license holder self-corrected the earlier background study violation.​

Subd. 4. [Renumbered 142B.18, subd 5]​

Subd. 5. [Renumbered 142B.18, subd 6]​

Subd. 6. Appeal of multiple sanctions. (a) When the license holder appeals more than one licensing​
action or sanction that were simultaneously issued by the commissioner, the license holder shall specify the​
actions or sanctions that are being appealed.​

(b) If there are different timelines prescribed in statutes for the licensing actions or sanctions being​
appealed, the license holder must submit the appeal within the longest of those timelines specified in statutes.​
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(c) The appeal must be made in writing by certified mail, by personal service, or through the provider​
licensing and reporting hub. If mailed, the appeal must be postmarked and sent to the commissioner within​
the prescribed timeline with the first day beginning the day after the license holder receives the certified​
letter. If a request is made by personal service, it must be received by the commissioner within the prescribed​
timeline with the first day beginning the day after the license holder receives the certified letter. If the appeal​
is made through the provider licensing and reporting hub, it must be received by the commissioner within​
the prescribed timeline with the first day beginning the day after the commissioner issued the order through​
the hub.​

(d) When there are different timelines prescribed in statutes for the appeal of licensing actions or sanctions​
simultaneously issued by the commissioner, the commissioner shall specify in the notice to the license holder​
the timeline for appeal as specified under paragraph (b).​

Subd. 7. Time frame for conducting hearing. Within 15 working days of receipt of the license holder's​
timely appeal of a sanction under this section other than a temporary immediate suspension, the commissioner​
shall request assignment of an administrative law judge. The commissioner's request must include a proposed​
date, time, and place of a hearing. A hearing must be conducted by an administrative law judge within 90​
calendar days of the request for assignment, unless an extension is requested by either party and granted by​
the administrative law judge for good cause or for purposes of discussing settlement. In no case shall one​
or more extensions be granted for a total of more than 90 calendar days unless there is a criminal or juvenile​
court action pending against the license holder or another individual subject to a background study.​

History: 1987 c 333 s 7; 1989 c 282 art 2 s 80; 1990 c 568 art 2 s 45; 1992 c 513 art 9 s 11,12; 1994​
c 631 s 6,31; 1995 c 207 art 2 s 14; 1997 c 248 s 26,27; 2000 c 327 s 6; 1Sp2001 c 9 art 14 s 21; 2002 c​
375 art 1 s 13,14; 2002 c 379 art 1 s 113; 2002 c 396 s 2,3; 2004 c 288 art 1 s 18-20; 1Sp2005 c 4 art 1 s​
12-14; 2007 c 112 s 8-10; 2008 c 317 s 1; 2009 c 142 art 2 s 17,18; 2010 c 329 art 1 s 6-8; 2012 c 216 art​
16 s 7; 2013 c 108 art 3 s 13; art 9 s 9; 2014 c 228 art 2 s 6-8; 2015 c 78 art 4 s 11,12; 1Sp2017 c 6 art 9​
s 8; 2018 c 200 s 4; 2019 c 50 art 1 s 64; 1Sp2019 c 9 art 2 s 36-39; 1Sp2020 c 2 art 8 s 43,44; 1Sp2021 c​
7 art 2 s 5; 2023 c 61 art 7 s 2,3; 2023 c 70 art 8 s 15,16; art 17 s 14,15; 2024 c 80 art 2 s 44,45; 2024 c​
127 art 62 s 8,9​

245A.075 DISQUALIFIED INDIVIDUAL; DENIAL, CONDITIONAL LICENSE, REVOCATION.​

(a) For the purpose of keeping a disqualified individual away from individuals receiving services in a​
license holder's home, when the disqualified individual has not received a set-aside and a variance has not​
been granted under chapter 245C, the commissioner may issue:​

(1) an order of denial of an application;​

(2) an order of conditional license; or​

(3) an order of revocation.​

(b) An order issued by the commissioner under this section is subject to notice and appeal rights provided​
under this chapter as follows:​

(1) an order of denial of an application according to section 245A.05;​

(2) an order of conditional license according to section 245A.06; and​

(3) an order of revocation of a license according to section 245A.07.​

History: 2014 c 228 art 2 s 9​
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245A.08 HEARINGS.​

Subdivision 1. Receipt of appeal; conduct of hearing. Upon receiving a timely appeal or petition​
pursuant to section 245A.05, 245A.07, subdivision 3, or 245C.28, the commissioner shall issue a notice of​
and order for hearing to the appellant under chapter 14 and Minnesota Rules, parts 1400.8505 to 1400.8612.​

Subd. 2. Conduct of hearings. At any hearing provided for by section 245A.05, 245A.07, subdivision​
3, or 245C.28, the appellant may be represented by counsel and has the right to call, examine, and​
cross-examine witnesses. The administrative law judge may require the presence of witnesses and evidence​
by subpoena on behalf of any party.​

Subd. 2a. Consolidated contested case hearings. (a) When a denial of a license under section 245A.05​
or a licensing sanction under section 245A.07, subdivision 3, is based on a disqualification for which​
reconsideration was timely requested and which was not set aside under section 245C.22, the scope of the​
contested case hearing shall include the disqualification and the licensing sanction or denial of a license,​
unless otherwise specified in this subdivision. When the licensing sanction or denial of a license is based​
on a determination of maltreatment under section 626.557 or chapter 260E, or a disqualification for serious​
or recurring maltreatment which was not set aside, the scope of the contested case hearing shall include the​
maltreatment determination, disqualification, and the licensing sanction or denial of a license, unless otherwise​
specified in this subdivision. In such cases, a fair hearing under section 256.045 shall not be conducted as​
provided for in sections 245C.27, 260E.33, and 626.557, subdivision 9d.​

(b) Reconsideration of a maltreatment determination under sections 260E.33 and 626.557, subdivision​
9d, and reconsideration of a disqualification under section 245C.22, shall not be conducted when:​

(1) a denial of a license under section 245A.05, or a licensing sanction under section 245A.07, is based​
on a determination that the license holder is responsible for maltreatment or the disqualification of a license​
holder is based on serious or recurring maltreatment;​

(2) the denial of a license or licensing sanction is issued at the same time as the maltreatment determination​
or disqualification; and​

(3) the license holder appeals the maltreatment determination or disqualification, and denial of a license​
or licensing sanction. In these cases, a fair hearing shall not be conducted under sections 245C.27, 260E.33,​
and 626.557, subdivision 9d. The scope of the contested case hearing must include the maltreatment​
determination, disqualification, and denial of a license or licensing sanction.​

Notwithstanding clauses (1) to (3), if the license holder appeals the maltreatment determination or​
disqualification, but does not appeal the denial of a license or a licensing sanction, reconsideration of the​
maltreatment determination shall be conducted under sections 260E.33 and 626.557, subdivision 9d, and​
reconsideration of the disqualification shall be conducted under section 245C.22. In such cases, a fair hearing​
shall also be conducted as provided under sections 245C.27, 260E.33, and 626.557, subdivision 9d.​

(c) In consolidated contested case hearings regarding sanctions issued in family adult day services, adult​
foster care, and community residential settings, the county attorney shall defend the commissioner's orders​
in accordance with section 245A.16, subdivision 4.​

(d) The commissioner's final order under subdivision 5 is the final agency action on the issue of​
maltreatment and disqualification, including for purposes of subsequent background studies under chapter​
245C and is the only administrative appeal of the final agency determination, specifically, including a​
challenge to the accuracy and completeness of data under section 13.04.​
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(e) When consolidated hearings under this subdivision involve a licensing sanction based on a previous​
maltreatment determination for which the commissioner has issued a final order in an appeal of that​
determination under section 256.045, or the individual failed to exercise the right to appeal the previous​
maltreatment determination under section 260E.33 or 626.557, subdivision 9d, the commissioner's order is​
conclusive on the issue of maltreatment. In such cases, the scope of the administrative law judge's review​
shall be limited to the disqualification and the licensing sanction or denial of a license. In the case of a denial​
of a license or a licensing sanction issued to a facility based on a maltreatment determination regarding an​
individual who is not the license holder or a household member, the scope of the administrative law judge's​
review includes the maltreatment determination.​

(f) The hearings of all parties may be consolidated into a single contested case hearing upon consent of​
all parties and the administrative law judge, if:​

(1) a maltreatment determination or disqualification, which was not set aside under section 245C.22, is​
the basis for a denial of a license under section 245A.05 or a licensing sanction under section 245A.07;​

(2) the disqualified subject is an individual other than the license holder and upon whom a background​
study must be conducted under section 245C.03; and​

(3) the individual has a hearing right under section 245C.27.​

(g) When a denial of a license under section 245A.05 or a licensing sanction under section 245A.07 is​
based on a disqualification for which reconsideration was requested and was not set aside under section​
245C.22, and the individual otherwise has no hearing right under section 245C.27, the scope of the​
administrative law judge's review shall include the denial or sanction and a determination whether the​
disqualification should be set aside, unless section 245C.24 prohibits the set-aside of the disqualification.​
In determining whether the disqualification should be set aside, the administrative law judge shall consider​
the factors under section 245C.22, subdivision 4, to determine whether the individual poses a risk of harm​
to any person receiving services from the license holder.​

(h) Notwithstanding section 245C.30, subdivision 5, when a licensing sanction under section 245A.07​
is based on the termination of a variance under section 245C.30, subdivision 4, the scope of the administrative​
law judge's review shall include the sanction and a determination whether the disqualification should be set​
aside, unless section 245C.24 prohibits the set-aside of the disqualification. In determining whether the​
disqualification should be set aside, the administrative law judge shall consider the factors under section​
245C.22, subdivision 4, to determine whether the individual poses a risk of harm to any person receiving​
services from the license holder.​

Subd. 3. Burden of proof. (a) At a hearing regarding a licensing sanction under section 245A.07,​
including consolidated hearings under subdivision 2a, the commissioner may demonstrate reasonable cause​
for action taken by submitting statements, reports, or affidavits to substantiate the allegations that the license​
holder failed to comply fully with applicable law or rule. If the commissioner demonstrates that reasonable​
cause existed, the burden of proof shifts to the license holder to demonstrate by a preponderance of the​
evidence that the license holder was in full compliance with those laws or rules that the commissioner alleges​
the license holder violated, at the time that the commissioner alleges the violations of law or rules occurred.​

(b) At a hearing on denial of an application, the applicant bears the burden of proof to demonstrate by​
a preponderance of the evidence that the appellant has complied fully with this chapter and other applicable​
law or rule and that the application should be approved and a license granted.​
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Subd. 4. Recommendation of administrative law judge. The administrative law judge shall recommend​
whether or not the commissioner's order should be affirmed. The recommendations must be consistent with​
this chapter and the rules of the commissioner. The recommendations must be in writing and accompanied​
by findings of fact and conclusions and must be mailed to the parties by certified mail to their last known​
addresses as shown on the license or application.​

Subd. 5. Notice of commissioner's final order. After considering the findings of fact, conclusions, and​
recommendations of the administrative law judge, the commissioner shall issue a final order. The​
commissioner shall consider, but shall not be bound by, the recommendations of the administrative law​
judge. The appellant must be notified of the commissioner's final order as required by chapter 14 and​
Minnesota Rules, parts 1400.8505 to 1400.8612. The notice must also contain information about the appellant's​
rights under chapter 14 and Minnesota Rules, parts 1400.8505 to 1400.8612. The institution of proceedings​
for judicial review of the commissioner's final order shall not stay the enforcement of the final order except​
as provided in section 14.65.​

Subd. 5a. Granting subsequent license. (a) A license holder and each controlling individual of a license​
holder whose license has been revoked because of noncompliance with applicable law or rule must not be​
granted a license for five years following the revocation. Notwithstanding the five-year restriction, when a​
license is revoked because a person, other than the license holder, resides in the home where services are​
provided and that person has a disqualification that is not set aside and no variance has been granted, the​
former license holder may reapply for a license when:​

(1) the person with a disqualification, who is not a minor child, is no longer residing in the home and is​
prohibited from residing in or returning to the home; or​

(2) the person with the disqualification is a minor child, the restriction applies until the minor child​
becomes an adult and permanently moves away from the home or five years, whichever is less.​

(b) An applicant or controlling individual whose application was denied must not be granted a license​
for two years following a denial, unless the applicant's subsequent application contains new information​
which constitutes a substantial change in the conditions that caused the previous denial. The addition of a​
new co-applicant in a subsequent application does not constitute a substantial change. If an applicant or​
controlling individual whose application was denied is affiliated with a subsequent application, and two​
years have not passed since the denial, the subsequent application must be denied.​

History: 1987 c 333 s 8; 1989 c 282 art 2 s 81; 1990 c 568 art 2 s 46; 1997 c 248 s 28,29; 1999 c 245​
art 4 s 10; 2000 c 327 s 6; 1Sp2001 c 9 art 14 s 22; 2002 c 379 art 1 s 113; 2003 c 15 art 1 s 33; 2004 c​
288 art 1 s 21-23; 1Sp2005 c 4 art 1 s 15,16; 2007 c 112 s 11; 2013 c 108 art 8 s 14; 2014 c 228 art 2 s​
10,11; 1Sp2020 c 2 art 8 s 45; 2024 c 80 art 2 s 46​

245A.081 SETTLEMENT AGREEMENT.​

(a) A license holder who has made a timely appeal pursuant to section 245A.06, subdivision 4, or​
245A.07, subdivision 3, or the commissioner may initiate a discussion about a possible settlement agreement​
related to the licensing sanction. For the purposes of this section, the following conditions apply to a settlement​
agreement reached by the parties:​

(1) if the parties enter into a settlement agreement, the effect of the agreement shall be that the appeal​
is withdrawn and the agreement shall constitute the full agreement between the commissioner and the party​
who filed the appeal; and​
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(2) the settlement agreement must identify the agreed-upon actions the license holder has taken and will​
take in order to achieve and maintain compliance with the licensing requirements that the commissioner​
determined the license holder had violated.​

(b) Neither the license holder nor the commissioner is required to initiate a settlement discussion under​
this section.​

(c) If a settlement discussion is initiated by the license holder, the commissioner shall respond to the​
license holder within 14 calendar days of receipt of the license holder's submission.​

(d) If the commissioner agrees to engage in settlement discussions, the commissioner may decide at any​
time not to continue settlement discussions with a license holder.​

History: 2015 c 71 art 7 s 4​

245A.085 CONSOLIDATION OF HEARINGS; RECONSIDERATION.​

Hearings authorized under this chapter, sections 256.045, 256B.04, and 626.557, and chapters 245C​
and 260E, shall be consolidated if feasible and in accordance with other applicable statutes and rules.​
Reconsideration under sections 245C.28; 260E.33; and 626.557, subdivision 9d, shall also be consolidated​
if feasible.​

History: 2002 c 375 art 1 s 15; 2003 c 15 art 1 s 33; 2004 c 288 art 1 s 24; 2012 c 216 art 18 s 5;​
1Sp2020 c 2 art 8 s 46​

245A.09 RULES.​

Subdivision 1. Commissioner's authority. The commissioner shall adopt rules under chapter 14 to​
govern the operation, maintenance, and licensure of programs subject to licensure under this chapter. The​
commissioner shall not adopt any rules that are inconsistent with or duplicative of existing state or federal​
regulations. Nothing in this subdivision shall be construed to prohibit the commissioner from incorporating​
existing state or federal regulations or accreditation standards by reference.​

Subd. 2. Standards and regulatory methods. This subdivision applies to rules governing this chapter​
that are adopted after July 1, 1987. As appropriate for each type of license:​

(a) The commissioner shall give preference in rule to standards that describe program outcomes and the​
practices that have been shown to result in the desired program outcomes.​

(b) The rules may include model program standards for each type of program licensed by the​
commissioner.​

(c) The rules shall include basic licensing standards governing licensure of each type of program licensed​
by the commissioner. The basic licensing standards must be met by all applicants and license holders. Basic​
licensing standards must include, but are not limited to:​

(1) standards for adequate staff that take into account the age distribution and severity of the disability​
of persons served by the program;​

(2) safety standards that take into account the size and conditions of the physical plant and studies of​
fire safety including studies of the interaction between fire detection factors, fire spread factors, and evacuation​
factors in case of a fire;​
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(3) standards for program services that describe, when appropriate, adequate levels of shelter, nutrition,​
planned activities, materials, and qualifications of individuals responsible for administering and delivering​
program services;​

(4) standards that describe the characteristics of the settings where program services are to be delivered;​
and​

(5) health and sanitation standards.​

Subd. 3. Reduction of fees. The commissioner may adopt rules under subdivision 1 to provide for the​
reduction of fees established under section 245A.10 when a license holder substantially exceeds the basic​
standards for licensure.​

Subd. 4. Evaluation of rules. For rules adopted under this section after July 1, 1987, the commissioner​
shall evaluate the effects of the rules within three years after the date of adoption and at least once every​
five years thereafter. The evaluation must include an assessment of any discrepancies between the actual​
and intended effects of the rules, identification of necessary revisions, if any, and a discussion of the rules'​
effect on the availability and quality of licensed programs. The commissioner shall consider the results of​
the evaluation in amending and writing rules.​

Subd. 5. Other duties of commissioner. For rules adopted after July 1, 1987, the commissioner shall:​

(1) summarize the rules in language understandable to the general public and inform license holders​
and applicants where they may obtain a copy of the rules and the summary;​

(2) develop and provide each applicant with information describing the services offered to applicants​
by the commissioner and explaining the penalties for operating an unlicensed program or failing to fully​
comply with the commissioner's correction orders or applicable laws or rules;​

(3) upon request, interpret rules for applicants and license holders; and​

(4) take measures to ensure that rules are enforced uniformly throughout the state.​

Subd. 6. Consultation with affected parties. In developing rules, the commissioner shall request and​
receive consultation from: other state departments and agencies; counties and other affected political​
subdivisions that reflect the diversity of political subdivisions affected by the rule; persons and relatives of​
persons using the program governed by the rule; advocacy groups; and representatives of license holders​
affected by the rule. In choosing parties for consultation, the commissioner shall choose individuals and​
representatives of groups that reflect a cross section of urban, suburban, and rural areas of the state.​

Subd. 7. Regulatory methods. (a) Where appropriate and feasible the commissioner shall identify and​
implement alternative methods of regulation and enforcement to the extent authorized in this subdivision.​
These methods shall include:​

(1) expansion of the types and categories of licenses that may be granted;​

(2) when the standards of another state or federal governmental agency or an independent accreditation​
body have been shown to require the same standards, methods, or alternative methods to achieve substantially​
the same intended outcomes as the licensing standards, the commissioner shall consider compliance with​
the governmental or accreditation standards to be equivalent to partial compliance with the licensing standards;​
and​
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(3) use of an abbreviated inspection that employs key standards that have been shown to predict full​
compliance with the rules.​

(b) If the commissioner accepts accreditation as documentation of compliance with a licensing standard​
under paragraph (a), the commissioner shall continue to investigate complaints related to noncompliance​
with all licensing standards. The commissioner may take a licensing action for noncompliance under this​
chapter and shall recognize all existing appeal rights regarding any licensing actions taken under this chapter.​

(c) The commissioner shall work with the commissioners of health; public safety; administration;​
children, youth, and families; and education in consolidating duplicative licensing and certification rules​
and standards if the commissioner determines that consolidation is administratively feasible, would​
significantly reduce the cost of licensing, and would not reduce the protection given to persons receiving​
services in licensed programs. Where administratively feasible and appropriate, the commissioner shall work​
with the commissioners of health, public safety, administration, and education in conducting joint agency​
inspections of programs.​

(d) The commissioner shall work with the commissioners of health; public safety; administration;​
children, youth, and families; and education in establishing a single point of application for applicants who​
are required to obtain concurrent licensure from more than one of the commissioners listed in this clause.​

(e) Unless otherwise specified in statute, the commissioner may conduct routine inspections biennially.​

Subd. 8. Interpretive guidelines; authority. The commissioner of human services may develop and​
publish interpretive guidelines.​

Subd. 9. Effect of interpretive guidelines. Interpretive guidelines do not have the force and effect of​
law and have no precedential effect, but may be relied on by consumers, providers of service, county agencies,​
the Department of Human Services, and others concerned until revoked or modified. A guideline may be​
expressly revoked or modified by the commissioner, by the issuance of another interpretive guideline, but​
may not be revoked or modified retroactively to the detriment of consumers, providers of service, county​
agencies, the Department of Human Services, or others concerned. A change in the law or an interpretation​
of the law occurring after the interpretive guidelines are issued, whether in the form of a statute, court​
decision, administrative ruling, or subsequent interpretive guideline, results in the revocation or modification​
of the previously adopted guidelines to the extent that the change affects the guidelines.​

Subd. 10. MS 2022 [Repealed, 2024 c 80 art 2 s 75]​

Subd. 11. Issuance; discretion of commissioner. The issuance of interpretive guidelines is at the​
discretion of the commissioner of human services.​

Subd. 12. [Repealed, 2014 c 262 art 5 s 7]​

History: 1987 c 333 s 9; 1993 c 338 s 7; 1995 c 207 art 2 s 15-19; 1Sp1995 c 3 art 16 s 13; 1997 c 187​
art 4 s 7; 1997 c 248 s 30; 2000 c 327 s 6; 2003 c 130 s 12; 1Sp2003 c 14 art 6 s 8; 2005 c 56 s 1; 1Sp2017​
c 6 art 16 s 2; 2024 c 80 art 2 s 47​

245A.091 [Repealed, 1997 c 248 s 51]​

245A.095 RULES FOR PROGRAMS SERVING PERSONS WITH MENTAL ILLNESSES.​

Subdivision 1. License required. Residential programs with five or more persons with a mental illness​
must be licensed under this chapter. To assure that this requirement is met, the commissioner of health, in​
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cooperation with the commissioner of human services, shall monitor licensed boarding care homes, board​
and lodging houses, and supervised living facilities.​

By January 1, 1989, the commissioner of health shall recommend to the legislature an appropriate method​
for enforcing this requirement.​

Subd. 1a. Rules. In developing rules for serving persons with mental illness, the commissioner of human​
services shall assure that persons with mental illness are provided with needed treatment or support in the​
least restrictive, most appropriate environment, that supportive residential care in small homelike settings​
is available for persons needing that care, and that a mechanism is developed to ensure that no person is​
placed in a care or treatment setting inappropriate for meeting the person's needs. To the maximum extent​
possible, the rule shall assure that length of stay is governed solely by client need and shall allow for a variety​
of innovative and flexible approaches in meeting residential and support needs of persons with mental illness.​

Subd. 2. Specific review of rules. The commissioner shall:​

(1) provide in rule for additional types of programs and services, including but not limited to supportive​
small group residential care, semi-independent and apartment living services, and crisis and respite services,​
to address the residential treatment and support needs of persons with mental illness;​

(2) review category I and II programs established in Minnesota Rules, parts 9520.0500 to 9520.0670 to​
ensure that the categories of programs provide a continuum of residential service programs for persons with​
mental illness, including but not limited to programs meeting needs for intensive treatment, crisis and respite​
care, and rehabilitation and training;​

(3) provide in rule for a definition of the term "treatment" as used in relation to persons with mental​
illness;​

(4) adjust funding mechanisms by rule as needed to reflect the requirements established by rule for​
services being provided;​

(5) review and recommend staff educational requirements and staff training as needed; and​

(6) review and make changes in rules relating to residential care and service programs for persons with​
mental illness as the commissioner may determine necessary.​

Subd. 3. [Repealed, 1989 c 282 art 4 s 64]​

History: 1987 c 333 s 10; 1988 c 411 s 5; 1989 c 282 art 4 s 61; 2000 c 327 s 6; 2016 c 158 art 1 s​
214; 2018 c 182 art 1 s 44​

245A.0951 ADOPTION OF RULES FOR LICENSURE OF SECURE TREATMENT FACILITIES.​

The commissioner of human services shall adopt rules to govern the licensure of secure treatment​
facilities operated by the Minnesota Sex Offender Program or any other facility operated by the executive​
board for a person committed as a sexual psychopathic personality or a sexually dangerous person.​

History: 2024 c 79 art 9 s 6​

245A.10 FEES.​

Subdivision 1. Application or license fee required; programs exempt from fee. (a) Unless exempt​
under paragraph (b), the commissioner shall charge a fee for evaluation of applications and inspection of​
programs which are licensed under this chapter.​
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(b) Except as provided under subdivision 2, no application or license fee shall be charged for a child​
foster residence setting, adult foster care, or a community residential setting.​

Subd. 2. County fees for applications and licensing inspections. (a) For purposes of adult foster care​
and child foster residence setting licensing and licensing the physical plant of a community residential setting,​
under this chapter, a county agency may charge a fee to a corporate applicant or corporate license holder to​
recover the actual cost of licensing inspections, not to exceed $500 annually.​

(b) Counties may elect to reduce or waive the fees in paragraph (a) under the following circumstances:​

(1) in cases of financial hardship;​

(2) if the county has a shortage of providers in the county's area; or​

(3) for new providers.​

Subd. 3. Application fee for initial license or certification. (a) For fees required under subdivision 1,​
an applicant for an initial license or certification issued by the commissioner shall submit a $500 application​
fee with each new application required under this subdivision. An applicant for an initial day services facility​
license under chapter 245D shall submit a $250 application fee with each new application. The application​
fee shall not be prorated, is nonrefundable, and is in lieu of the annual license or certification fee that expires​
on December 31. The commissioner shall not process an application until the application fee is paid.​

(b) Except as provided in paragraph (c), an applicant shall apply for a license to provide services at a​
specific location.​

(c) For a license to provide home and community-based services to persons with disabilities or age 65​
and older under chapter 245D, an applicant shall submit an application to provide services statewide.​

Subd. 4. License or certification fee for certain programs. (a)(1) A program licensed to provide one​
or more of the home and community-based services and supports identified under chapter 245D to persons​
with disabilities or age 65 and older, shall pay an annual nonrefundable license fee based on revenues derived​
from the provision of services that would require licensure under chapter 245D during the calendar year​
immediately preceding the year in which the license fee is paid, according to the following schedule:​

License Fee​License Holder Annual Revenue​

$200​less than or equal to $10,000​

$300​
greater than $10,000 but less than or equal to​
$25,000​

$400​
greater than $25,000 but less than or equal to​
$50,000​

$500​
greater than $50,000 but less than or equal to​
$100,000​

$600​
greater than $100,000 but less than or equal to​
$150,000​

$800​
greater than $150,000 but less than or equal to​
$200,000​
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$1,000​
greater than $200,000 but less than or equal to​
$250,000​

$1,200​
greater than $250,000 but less than or equal to​
$300,000​

$1,400​
greater than $300,000 but less than or equal to​
$350,000​

$1,600​
greater than $350,000 but less than or equal to​
$400,000​

$1,800​
greater than $400,000 but less than or equal to​
$450,000​

$2,000​
greater than $450,000 but less than or equal to​
$500,000​

$2,250​
greater than $500,000 but less than or equal to​
$600,000​

$2,500​
greater than $600,000 but less than or equal to​
$700,000​

$2,750​
greater than $700,000 but less than or equal to​
$800,000​

$3,000​
greater than $800,000 but less than or equal to​
$900,000​

$3,250​
greater than $900,000 but less than or equal to​
$1,000,000​

$3,500​
greater than $1,000,000 but less than or equal to​
$1,250,000​

$3,750​
greater than $1,250,000 but less than or equal to​
$1,500,000​

$4,000​
greater than $1,500,000 but less than or equal to​
$1,750,000​

$4,250​
greater than $1,750,000 but less than or equal to​
$2,000,000​

$4,500​
greater than $2,000,000 but less than or equal to​
$2,500,000​

$4,750​
greater than $2,500,000 but less than or equal to​
$3,000,000​

$5,000​
greater than $3,000,000 but less than or equal to​
$3,500,000​
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$5,500​
greater than $3,500,000 but less than or equal to​
$4,000,000​

$6,000​
greater than $4,000,000 but less than or equal to​
$4,500,000​

$6,500​
greater than $4,500,000 but less than or equal to​
$5,000,000​

$7,000​
greater than $5,000,000 but less than or equal to​
$7,500,000​

$8,500​
greater than $7,500,000 but less than or equal to​
$10,000,000​

$10,000​
greater than $10,000,000 but less than or equal​
to $12,500,000​

$14,000​
greater than $12,500,000 but less than or equal​
to $15,000,000​

$18,000​greater than $15,000,000​

(2) If requested, the license holder shall provide the commissioner information to verify the license​
holder's annual revenues or other information as needed, including copies of documents submitted to the​
Department of Revenue.​

(3) At each annual renewal, a license holder may elect to pay the highest renewal fee, and not provide​
annual revenue information to the commissioner.​

(4) A license holder that knowingly provides the commissioner incorrect revenue amounts for the purpose​
of paying a lower license fee shall be subject to a civil penalty in the amount of double the fee the provider​
should have paid.​

(b) A substance use disorder treatment program licensed under chapter 245G, to provide substance use​
disorder treatment shall pay an annual nonrefundable license fee based on the following schedule:​

License Fee​Licensed Capacity​

$600​1 to 24 persons​

$800​25 to 49 persons​

$1,000​50 to 74 persons​

$1,200​75 to 99 persons​

$1,400​100 or more persons​

(c) A detoxification program licensed under Minnesota Rules, parts 9530.6510 to 9530.6590, or a​
withdrawal management program licensed under chapter 245F shall pay an annual nonrefundable license​
fee based on the following schedule:​
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License Fee​Licensed Capacity​

$760​1 to 24 persons​

$960​25 to 49 persons​

$1,160​50 or more persons​

A detoxification program that also operates a withdrawal management program at the same location shall​
only pay one fee based upon the licensed capacity of the program with the higher overall capacity.​

(d) A children's residential facility licensed under Minnesota Rules, chapter 2960, to serve children shall​
pay an annual nonrefundable license fee based on the following schedule:​

License Fee​Licensed Capacity​

$1,000​1 to 24 persons​

$1,100​25 to 49 persons​

$1,200​50 to 74 persons​

$1,300​75 to 99 persons​

$1,400​100 or more persons​

(e) A residential facility licensed under section 245I.23 or Minnesota Rules, parts 9520.0500 to 9520.0670,​
to serve persons with mental illness shall pay an annual nonrefundable license fee based on the following​
schedule:​

License Fee​Licensed Capacity​

$2,525​1 to 24 persons​

$2,725​25 or more persons​

(f) A residential facility licensed under Minnesota Rules, parts 9570.2000 to 9570.3400, to serve persons​
with physical disabilities shall pay an annual nonrefundable license fee based on the following schedule:​

License Fee​Licensed Capacity​

$450​1 to 24 persons​

$650​25 to 49 persons​

$850​50 to 74 persons​

$1,050​75 to 99 persons​

$1,250​100 or more persons​

(g) A program licensed as an adult day care center licensed under Minnesota Rules, parts 9555.9600 to​
9555.9730, shall pay an annual nonrefundable license fee based on the following schedule:​
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License Fee​Licensed Capacity​

$500​1 to 24 persons​

$700​25 to 49 persons​

$900​50 to 74 persons​

$1,100​75 to 99 persons​

$1,300​100 or more persons​

(h) A program licensed to provide treatment services to persons with sexual psychopathic personalities​
or sexually dangerous persons under Minnesota Rules, parts 9515.3000 to 9515.3110, shall pay an annual​
nonrefundable license fee of $20,000.​

(i) A mental health clinic certified under section 245I.20 shall pay an annual nonrefundable certification​
fee of $1,550. If the mental health clinic provides services at a primary location with satellite facilities, the​
satellite facilities shall be certified with the primary location without an additional charge.​

Subd. 5. [Repealed, 1Sp2011 c 9 art 4 s 10]​

Subd. 6. License not issued until license or certification fee is paid. The commissioner shall not issue​
or reissue a license or certification until the license or certification fee is paid. The commissioner shall send​
a bill for the license or certification fee to the billing address identified by the license holder. If the license​
holder does not submit the license or certification fee payment by the due date, the commissioner shall send​
the license holder a past due notice. If the license holder fails to pay the license or certification fee by the​
due date on the past due notice, the commissioner shall send a final notice to the license holder informing​
the license holder that the program license will expire on December 31 unless the license fee is paid before​
December 31. If a license expires, the program is no longer licensed and, unless exempt from licensure under​
section 245A.03, subdivision 2, must not operate after the expiration date. After a license expires, if the​
former license holder wishes to provide licensed services, the former license holder must submit a new​
license application and application fee under subdivision 3.​

Subd. 7. Human services licensing fees to recover expenditures. Notwithstanding section 16A.1285,​
subdivision 2, related to activities for which the commissioner charges a fee, the commissioner must plan​
to fully recover direct expenditures for licensing activities under this chapter over a five-year period. The​
commissioner may have anticipated expenditures in excess of anticipated revenues in a biennium by using​
surplus revenues accumulated in previous bienniums.​

Subd. 8. Deposit of license fees. A human services licensing account is created in the state government​
special revenue fund. Fees collected under subdivisions 3 and 4 must be deposited in the human services​
licensing account and are annually appropriated to the commissioner for licensing activities authorized under​
this chapter.​

Subd. 9. License not reissued until outstanding debt is paid. The commissioner shall not reissue a​
license or certification until the license holder has paid all outstanding debts related to a licensing fine or​
settlement agreement for which payment is delinquent. If the payment is past due, the commissioner shall​
send a past due notice informing the license holder that the program license will expire on December 31​
unless the outstanding debt is paid before December 31. If a license expires, the program is no longer licensed​
and must not operate after the expiration date. After a license expires, if the former license holder wishes​
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to provide licensed services, the former license holder must submit a new license application and application​
fee under subdivision 3.​

History: 1987 c 333 s 11; 1995 c 158 s 4; 2000 c 327 s 6; 1Sp2003 c 14 art 6 s 9; 2005 c 56 s 1; 1Sp2005​
c 4 art 3 s 4; art 5 s 6; 2007 c 112 s 12; 2007 c 147 art 3 s 2; 2008 c 268 s 2; 2009 c 79 art 1 s 1,2; 1Sp2011​
c 9 art 4 s 1-5; 2013 c 108 art 8 s 15; 1Sp2017 c 6 art 16 s 3; 2018 c 182 art 2 s 10; 2021 c 30 art 17 s 47;​
1Sp2021 c 7 art 2 s 6; 2022 c 98 art 4 s 51; 2023 c 61 art 7 s 4,5; 2023 c 70 art 17 s 16,17; 2024 c 80 art​
2 s 48-51; 2024 c 85 s 54; 2024 c 115 art 16 s 8,9​

245A.11 SPECIAL CONDITIONS FOR RESIDENTIAL PROGRAMS.​

Subdivision 1. Policy statement. It is the policy of the state that persons shall not be excluded by​
municipal zoning ordinances or other land use regulations from the benefits of normal residential surroundings.​

Subd. 2. Permitted single-family residential use. (a) Residential programs with a licensed capacity of​
six or fewer persons shall be considered a permitted single-family residential use of property for the purposes​
of zoning and other land use regulations, except that a residential program whose primary purpose is to treat​
juveniles who have violated criminal statutes relating to sex offenses or have been adjudicated delinquent​
on the basis of conduct in violation of criminal statutes relating to sex offenses shall not be considered a​
permitted use. This exception shall not apply to residential programs licensed before July 1, 1995. Programs​
otherwise allowed under this subdivision shall not be prohibited by operation of restrictive covenants or​
similar restrictions, regardless of when entered into, which cannot be met because of the nature of the licensed​
program, including provisions which require the home's occupants be related, and that the home must be​
occupied by the owner, or similar provisions.​

(b) A community residential setting as defined in section 245D.02, subdivision 4a, with a licensed​
capacity of six or fewer persons that is actively serving residents for which it is licensed is exempt from​
rental licensing regulations imposed by any town, municipality, or county.​

Subd. 2a. Adult foster care and community residential setting license capacity. (a) The commissioner​
shall issue adult foster care and community residential setting licenses with a maximum licensed capacity​
of four beds, including nonstaff roomers and boarders, except that the commissioner may issue a license​
with a capacity of five beds, including roomers and boarders, according to paragraphs (b) to (h).​

(b) The license holder may have a maximum license capacity of five if all persons in care are age 55 or​
over and do not have a serious and persistent mental illness or a developmental disability.​

(c) The commissioner may grant variances to paragraph (b) to allow a facility with a licensed capacity​
of up to five persons to admit an individual under the age of 55 if the variance complies with section 245A.04,​
subdivision 9, and approval of the variance is recommended by the county in which the licensed facility is​
located.​

(d) The commissioner may grant variances to paragraph (a) to allow the use of an additional bed, up to​
six, for emergency crisis services for a person with serious and persistent mental illness or a developmental​
disability, regardless of age, if the variance complies with section 245A.04, subdivision 9, and approval of​
the variance is recommended by the county in which the licensed facility is located.​

(e) The commissioner may grant a variance to paragraph (b) to allow for the use of an additional bed,​
up to six, for respite services, as defined in section 245A.02, for persons with disabilities, regardless of age,​
if the variance complies with sections 245A.03, subdivision 7, and 245A.04, subdivision 9, and approval of​
the variance is recommended by the county in which the licensed facility is located. Respite care may be​
provided under the following conditions:​
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(1) staffing ratios cannot be reduced below the approved level for the individuals being served in the​
home on a permanent basis;​

(2) no more than two different individuals can be accepted for respite services in any calendar month​
and the total respite days may not exceed 120 days per program in any calendar year;​

(3) the person receiving respite services must have his or her own bedroom, which could be used for​
alternative purposes when not used as a respite bedroom, and cannot be the room of another person who​
lives in the facility; and​

(4) individuals living in the facility must be notified when the variance is approved. The provider must​
give 60 days' notice in writing to the residents and their legal representatives prior to accepting the first​
respite placement. Notice must be given to residents at least two days prior to service initiation, or as soon​
as the license holder is able if they receive notice of the need for respite less than two days prior to initiation,​
each time a respite client will be served, unless the requirement for this notice is waived by the resident or​
legal guardian.​

(f) The commissioner may issue an adult foster care or community residential setting license with a​
capacity of five adults if the fifth bed does not increase the overall statewide capacity of licensed adult foster​
care or community residential setting beds in homes that are not the primary residence of the license holder,​
as identified in a plan submitted to the commissioner by the county, when the capacity is recommended by​
the county licensing agency of the county in which the facility is located and if the recommendation verifies​
that:​

(1) the facility meets the physical environment requirements in the adult foster care licensing rule;​

(2) the five-bed living arrangement is specified for each resident in the resident's:​

(i) individualized plan of care;​

(ii) individual service plan under section 256B.092, subdivision 1b, if required; or​

(iii) individual resident placement agreement under Minnesota Rules, part 9555.5105, subpart 19, if​
required;​

(3) the license holder obtains written and signed informed consent from each resident or resident's legal​
representative documenting the resident's informed choice to remain living in the home and that the resident's​
refusal to consent would not have resulted in service termination; and​

(4) the facility was licensed for adult foster care before March 1, 2016.​

(g) The commissioner shall not issue a new adult foster care license under paragraph (f) after December​
31, 2020. The commissioner shall allow a facility with an adult foster care license issued under paragraph​
(f) before December 31, 2020, to continue with a capacity of five adults if the license holder continues to​
comply with the requirements in paragraph (f).​

(h) The commissioner may issue an adult foster care or community residential setting license with a​
capacity of five or six adults to facilities meeting the criteria in section 245A.03, subdivision 7, paragraph​
(a), clause (5), and grant variances to paragraph (b) to allow the facility to admit an individual under the age​
of 55 if the variance complies with section 245A.04, subdivision 9, and approval of the variance is​
recommended by the county in which the licensed facility is located.​
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(i) Notwithstanding Minnesota Rules, part 9520.0500, adult foster care and community residential setting​
licenses with a capacity of up to six adults as allowed under this subdivision are not required to be licensed​
as an adult mental health residential program according to Minnesota Rules, parts 9520.0500 to 9520.0670.​

[See Note.]​

Subd. 2b. Adult foster care; family adult day services. An adult foster care license holder licensed​
under the conditions in subdivision 2a may also provide family adult day care for adults age 18 or over.​
Family adult day services provided in a licensed adult foster care setting must be provided as specified under​
section 245A.143. Authorization to provide family adult day services in the adult foster care setting shall​
be printed on the license certificate by the commissioner. Adult foster care homes licensed under this section​
and family adult day services licensed under section 245A.143 shall not be subject to licensure by the​
commissioner of health under the provisions of chapter 144, 144A, 157, or any other law requiring facility​
licensure by the commissioner of health. A separate license is not required to provide family adult day​
services in a licensed adult foster care home.​

Subd. 2c. MS 2022 [Expired, 2022 c 98 art 4 s 13]​

Subd. 3. Permitted multifamily residential use. Unless otherwise provided in any town, municipal,​
or county zoning regulation, a licensed residential program with a licensed capacity of seven to 16 persons​
shall be considered a permitted multifamily residential use of property for the purposes of zoning and other​
land use regulations. A town, municipal, or county zoning authority may require a conditional use or special​
use permit to assure proper maintenance and operation of a residential program. Conditions imposed on the​
residential program must not be more restrictive than those imposed on other conditional uses or special​
uses of residential property in the same zones, unless the additional conditions are necessary to protect the​
health and safety of the persons being served by the program. Nothing in this chapter shall be construed to​
exclude or prohibit residential programs from single-family zones if otherwise permitted by local zoning​
regulations.​

Subd. 4. Location of residential programs. In determining whether to grant a license, the commissioner​
shall specifically consider the population, size, land use plan, availability of community services, and the​
number and size of existing licensed residential programs in the town, municipality, or county in which the​
applicant seeks to operate a residential program. The commissioner shall not grant an initial license to any​
residential program if the residential program will be within 1,320 feet of an existing residential program​
unless one of the following conditions apply: (1) the existing residential program is located in a hospital​
licensed by the commissioner of health; (2) the town, municipality, or county zoning authority grants the​
residential program a conditional use or special use permit; (3) the program serves six or fewer persons and​
is not located in a city of the first class; or (4) the program is foster care, or a community residential setting​
as defined under section 245D.02, subdivision 4a.​

Subd. 5. [Repealed, 2014 c 262 art 5 s 7]​

Subd. 5a. Integration of residential programs. The commissioner of human services shall seek input​
from counties and municipalities on methods for integrating all residential programs into the community.​

Subd. 6. Hospitals; exemption. Residential programs located in hospitals shall be exempt from the​
provisions of this section.​

Subd. 7. Adult foster care and community residential setting; variance for alternate overnight​
supervision. (a) The commissioner may grant a variance under section 245A.04, subdivision 9, to statute​
or rule parts requiring a caregiver to be present in an adult foster care home or a community residential​
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setting during normal sleeping hours to allow for alternative methods of overnight supervision. The​
commissioner may grant the variance if the local county licensing agency recommends the variance and the​
county recommendation includes documentation verifying that:​

(1) the county has approved the license holder's plan for alternative methods of providing overnight​
supervision and determined the plan protects the residents' health, safety, and rights;​

(2) the license holder has obtained written and signed informed consent from each resident or each​
resident's legal representative documenting the resident's or legal representative's agreement with the​
alternative method of overnight supervision; and​

(3) the alternative method of providing overnight supervision, which may include the use of technology,​
is specified for each resident in the resident's: (i) individualized plan of care; (ii) support plan under section​
256B.092, subdivision 1b, if required; or (iii) individual resident placement agreement under Minnesota​
Rules, part 9555.5105, subpart 19, if required.​

(b) To be eligible for a variance under paragraph (a), the adult foster care or community residential​
setting license holder must not have had a conditional license issued under section 245A.06, or any other​
licensing sanction issued under section 245A.07 during the prior 24 months based on failure to provide​
adequate supervision, health care services, or resident safety in the adult foster care home or a community​
residential setting.​

(c) A license holder requesting a variance under this subdivision to utilize technology as a component​
of a plan for alternative overnight supervision may request the commissioner's review in the absence of a​
county recommendation. Upon receipt of such a request from a license holder, the commissioner shall review​
the variance request with the county.​

Subd. 7a. Alternate overnight supervision technology; adult foster care licenses. (a) The commissioner​
may grant an applicant or license holder an adult foster care license for a residence that does not have a​
caregiver in the residence during normal sleeping hours as required under Minnesota Rules, part 9555.5105,​
subpart 37, item B, or section 245D.02, subdivision 33b, but uses monitoring technology to alert the license​
holder when an incident occurs that may jeopardize the health, safety, or rights of a foster care recipient.​
The applicant or license holder must comply with all other requirements under Minnesota Rules, parts​
9555.5105 to 9555.6265, or applicable requirements under chapter 245D, and the requirements under this​
subdivision. The license printed by the commissioner must state in bold and large font:​

(1) that the facility is under electronic monitoring; and​

(2) the telephone number of the county's common entry point for making reports of suspected maltreatment​
of vulnerable adults under section 626.557, subdivision 9.​

(b) Applications for a license under this section must be submitted directly to the Department of Human​
Services licensing division. The licensing division must immediately notify the county licensing agency.​
The licensing division must collaborate with the county licensing agency in the review of the application​
and the licensing of the program.​

(c) Before a license is issued by the commissioner, and for the duration of the license, the applicant or​
license holder must establish, maintain, and document the implementation of written policies and procedures​
addressing the requirements in paragraphs (d) through (f).​

(d) The applicant or license holder must have policies and procedures that:​
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(1) establish characteristics of target populations that will be admitted into the home, and characteristics​
of populations that will not be accepted into the home;​

(2) explain the discharge process when a resident served by the program requires overnight supervision​
or other services that cannot be provided by the license holder due to the limited hours that the license holder​
is on site;​

(3) describe the types of events to which the program will respond with a physical presence when those​
events occur in the home during time when staff are not on site, and how the license holder's response plan​
meets the requirements in paragraph (e), clause (1) or (2);​

(4) establish a process for documenting a review of the implementation and effectiveness of the response​
protocol for the response required under paragraph (e), clause (1) or (2). The documentation must include:​

(i) a description of the triggering incident;​

(ii) the date and time of the triggering incident;​

(iii) the time of the response or responses under paragraph (e), clause (1) or (2);​

(iv) whether the response met the resident's needs;​

(v) whether the existing policies and response protocols were followed; and​

(vi) whether the existing policies and protocols are adequate or need modification.​

When no physical presence response is completed for a three-month period, the license holder's written​
policies and procedures must require a physical presence response drill to be conducted for which the​
effectiveness of the response protocol under paragraph (e), clause (1) or (2), will be reviewed and documented​
as required under this clause; and​

(5) establish that emergency and nonemergency phone numbers are posted in a prominent location in a​
common area of the home where they can be easily observed by a person responding to an incident who is​
not otherwise affiliated with the home.​

(e) The license holder must document and include in the license application which response alternative​
under clause (1) or (2) is in place for responding to situations that present a serious risk to the health, safety,​
or rights of residents served by the program:​

(1) response alternative (1) requires only the technology to provide an electronic notification or alert to​
the license holder that an event is underway that requires a response. Under this alternative, no more than​
ten minutes will pass before the license holder will be physically present on site to respond to the situation;​
or​

(2) response alternative (2) requires the electronic notification and alert system under alternative (1),​
but more than ten minutes may pass before the license holder is present on site to respond to the situation.​
Under alternative (2), all of the following conditions are met:​

(i) the license holder has a written description of the interactive technological applications that will assist​
the license holder in communicating with and assessing the needs related to the care, health, and safety of​
the foster care recipients. This interactive technology must permit the license holder to remotely assess the​
well being of the resident served by the program without requiring the initiation of the foster care recipient.​
Requiring the foster care recipient to initiate a telephone call does not meet this requirement;​
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(ii) the license holder documents how the remote license holder is qualified and capable of meeting the​
needs of the foster care recipients and assessing foster care recipients' needs under item (i) during the absence​
of the license holder on site;​

(iii) the license holder maintains written procedures to dispatch emergency response personnel to the​
site in the event of an identified emergency; and​

(iv) each resident's individualized plan of care, support plan under sections 256B.0913, subdivision 8;​
256B.092, subdivision 1b; 256B.49, subdivision 15; and 256S.10, if required, or individual resident placement​
agreement under Minnesota Rules, part 9555.5105, subpart 19, if required, identifies the maximum response​
time, which may be greater than ten minutes, for the license holder to be on site for that resident.​

(f) Each resident's placement agreement, individual service agreement, and plan must clearly state that​
the adult foster care license category is a program without the presence of a caregiver in the residence during​
normal sleeping hours; the protocols in place for responding to situations that present a serious risk to the​
health, safety, or rights of residents served by the program under paragraph (e), clause (1) or (2); and a signed​
informed consent from each resident served by the program or the person's legal representative documenting​
the person's or legal representative's agreement with placement in the program. If electronic monitoring​
technology is used in the home, the informed consent form must also explain the following:​

(1) how any electronic monitoring is incorporated into the alternative supervision system;​

(2) the backup system for any electronic monitoring in times of electrical outages or other equipment​
malfunctions;​

(3) how the caregivers or direct support staff are trained on the use of the technology;​

(4) the event types and license holder response times established under paragraph (e);​

(5) how the license holder protects each resident's privacy related to electronic monitoring and related​
to any electronically recorded data generated by the monitoring system. A resident served by the program​
may not be removed from a program under this subdivision for failure to consent to electronic monitoring.​
The consent form must explain where and how the electronically recorded data is stored, with whom it will​
be shared, and how long it is retained; and​

(6) the risks and benefits of the alternative overnight supervision system.​

The written explanations under clauses (1) to (6) may be accomplished through cross-references to other​
policies and procedures as long as they are explained to the person giving consent, and the person giving​
consent is offered a copy.​

(g) Nothing in this section requires the applicant or license holder to develop or maintain separate or​
duplicative policies, procedures, documentation, consent forms, or individual plans that may be required​
for other licensing standards, if the requirements of this section are incorporated into those documents.​

(h) The commissioner may grant variances to the requirements of this section according to section​
245A.04, subdivision 9.​

(i) For the purposes of paragraphs (d) through (h), "license holder" has the meaning under section​
245A.02, subdivision 9, and additionally includes all staff, volunteers, and contractors affiliated with the​
license holder.​

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota​
Revisor of Statutes​

245A.11​MINNESOTA STATUTES 2024​57​



(j) For the purposes of paragraph (e), the terms "assess" and "assessing" mean to remotely determine​
what action the license holder needs to take to protect the well-being of the foster care recipient.​

(k) The commissioner shall evaluate license applications using the requirements in paragraphs (d) to​
(f). The commissioner shall provide detailed application forms, including a checklist of criteria needed for​
approval.​

(l) To be eligible for a license under paragraph (a), the adult foster care license holder must not have​
had a conditional license issued under section 245A.06 or any licensing sanction under section 245A.07​
during the prior 24 months based on failure to provide adequate supervision, health care services, or resident​
safety in the adult foster care home.​

(m) The commissioner shall review an application for an alternative overnight supervision license within​
60 days of receipt of the application. When the commissioner receives an application that is incomplete​
because the applicant failed to submit required documents or that is substantially deficient because the​
documents submitted do not meet licensing requirements, the commissioner shall provide the applicant​
written notice that the application is incomplete or substantially deficient. In the written notice to the applicant,​
the commissioner shall identify documents that are missing or deficient and give the applicant 45 days to​
resubmit a second application that is substantially complete. An applicant's failure to submit a substantially​
complete application after receiving notice from the commissioner is a basis for license denial under section​
245A.05. The commissioner shall complete subsequent review within 30 days.​

(n) Once the application is considered complete under paragraph (m), the commissioner will approve​
or deny an application for an alternative overnight supervision license within 60 days.​

(o) For the purposes of this subdivision, "supervision" means:​

(1) oversight by a caregiver or direct support staff as specified in the individual resident's place agreement​
or support plan and awareness of the resident's needs and activities; and​

(2) the presence of a caregiver or direct support staff in a residence during normal sleeping hours, unless​
a determination has been made and documented in the individual's support plan that the individual does not​
require the presence of a caregiver or direct support staff during normal sleeping hours.​

Subd. 7b. Adult foster care data privacy and security. (a) An adult foster care or community residential​
setting license holder who creates, collects, records, maintains, stores, or discloses any individually identifiable​
recipient data, whether in an electronic or any other format, must comply with the privacy and security​
provisions of applicable privacy laws and regulations, including:​

(1) the federal Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 (HIPAA), Public Law 104-1;​
and the HIPAA Privacy Rule, Code of Federal Regulations, title 45, part 160, and subparts A and E of part​
164; and​

(2) the Minnesota Government Data Practices Act as codified in chapter 13.​

(b) For purposes of licensure, the license holder shall be monitored for compliance with the following​
data privacy and security provisions:​

(1) the license holder must control access to data on residents served by the program according to the​
definitions of public and private data on individuals under section 13.02; classification of the data on​
individuals as private under section 13.46, subdivision 2; and control over the collection, storage, use, access,​
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protection, and contracting related to data according to section 13.05, in which the license holder is assigned​
the duties of a government entity;​

(2) the license holder must provide each resident served by the program with a notice that meets the​
requirements under section 13.04, in which the license holder is assigned the duties of the government entity,​
and that meets the requirements of Code of Federal Regulations, title 45, part 164.52. The notice shall​
describe the purpose for collection of the data, and to whom and why it may be disclosed pursuant to law.​
The notice must inform the individual that the license holder uses electronic monitoring and, if applicable,​
that recording technology is used;​

(3) the license holder must not install monitoring cameras in bathrooms;​

(4) electronic monitoring cameras must not be concealed from the residents served by the program; and​

(5) electronic video and audio recordings of residents served by the program shall be stored by the​
license holder for five days unless: (i) a resident served by the program or legal representative requests that​
the recording be held longer based on a specific report of alleged maltreatment; or (ii) the recording captures​
an incident or event of alleged maltreatment under section 626.557 or chapter 260E or a crime under chapter​
609. When requested by a resident served by the program or when a recording captures an incident or event​
of alleged maltreatment or a crime, the license holder must maintain the recording in a secured area for no​
longer than 30 days to give the investigating agency an opportunity to make a copy of the recording. The​
investigating agency will maintain the electronic video or audio recordings as required in section 626.557,​
subdivision 12b.​

(c) The commissioner shall develop, and make available to license holders and county licensing workers,​
a checklist of the data privacy provisions to be monitored for purposes of licensure.​

Subd. 8. Community residential setting license. (a) The commissioner shall establish provider standards​
for residential support services that integrate service standards and the residential setting under one license.​
The commissioner shall propose statutory language and an implementation plan for licensing requirements​
for residential support services to the legislature by January 15, 2012, as a component of the quality outcome​
standards recommendations required by Laws 2010, chapter 352, article 1, section 24.​

(b) Providers licensed under chapter 245B, and providing, contracting, or arranging for services in​
settings licensed as adult foster care under Minnesota Rules, parts 9555.5105 to 9555.6265; and meeting​
the provisions of section 245D.02, subdivision 4a, must be required to obtain a community residential setting​
license.​

Subd. 9. Adult foster care bedrooms. (a) A resident receiving services must have a choice of roommate.​
Each roommate must consent in writing to sharing a bedroom with one another. The license holder is​
responsible for notifying a resident of the resident's right to request a change of roommate.​

(b) The license holder must provide a lock for each resident's bedroom door, unless otherwise indicated​
for the resident's health, safety, or well-being. A restriction on the use of the lock must be documented and​
justified in the resident's individual abuse prevention plan required by sections 245A.65, subdivision 2,​
paragraph (b), and 626.557, subdivision 14. For a resident served under chapter 256S, the case manager​
must be part of the interdisciplinary team under section 245A.65, subdivision 2, paragraph (b).​

Subd. 10. Adult foster care resident rights. (a) The license holder shall ensure that a resident and a​
resident's legal representative are given, at admission:​

(1) an explanation and copy of the resident's rights specified in paragraph (b);​
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(2) a written summary of the Vulnerable Adults Protection Act prepared by the department; and​

(3) the name, address, and telephone number of the local agency to which a resident or a resident's legal​
representative may submit an oral or written complaint.​

(b) Adult foster care resident rights include the right to:​

(1) have daily, private access to and use of a non-coin-operated telephone for local and long-distance​
telephone calls made collect or paid for by the resident;​

(2) receive and send, without interference, uncensored, unopened mail or electronic correspondence or​
communication;​

(3) have use of and free access to common areas in the residence and the freedom to come and go from​
the residence at will;​

(4) have privacy for visits with the resident's spouse, next of kin, legal counsel, religious adviser, or​
others, according to section 363A.09 of the Human Rights Act, including privacy in the resident's bedroom;​

(5) keep, use, and access the resident's personal clothing and possessions as space permits, unless this​
right infringes on the health, safety, or rights of another resident or household member, including the right​
to access the resident's personal possessions at any time;​

(6) choose the resident's visitors and time of visits and participate in activities of commercial, religious,​
political, and community groups without interference if the activities do not infringe on the rights of another​
resident or household member;​

(7) if married, privacy for visits by the resident's spouse, and, if both spouses are residents of the adult​
foster home, the residents have the right to share a bedroom and bed;​

(8) privacy, including use of the lock on the resident's bedroom door or unit door. A resident's privacy​
must be respected by license holders, caregivers, household members, and volunteers by knocking on the​
door of a resident's bedroom or bathroom and seeking consent before entering, except in an emergency;​

(9) furnish and decorate the resident's bedroom or living unit;​

(10) engage in chosen activities and have an individual schedule supported by the license holder that​
meets the resident's preferences;​

(11) freedom and support to access food at any time;​

(12) have personal, financial, service, health, and medical information kept private, and be advised of​
disclosure of this information by the license holder;​

(13) access records and recorded information about the resident according to applicable state and federal​
law, regulation, or rule;​

(14) be free from maltreatment;​

(15) be treated with courtesy and respect and receive respectful treatment of the resident's property;​

(16) reasonable observance of cultural and ethnic practice and religion;​

(17) be free from bias and harassment regarding race, gender, age, disability, spirituality, and sexual​
orientation;​
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(18) be informed of and use the license holder's grievance policy and procedures, including how to​
contact the highest level of authority in the program;​

(19) assert the resident's rights personally, or have the rights asserted by the resident's family, authorized​
representative, or legal representative, without retaliation; and​

(20) give or withhold written informed consent to participate in any research or experimental treatment.​

(c) A restriction of a resident's rights under paragraph (b), clauses (1) to (4), (6), (8), (10), and (11), is​
allowed only if determined necessary to ensure the health, safety, and well-being of the resident. Any​
restriction of a resident's right must be documented and justified in the resident's individual abuse prevention​
plan required by sections 245A.65, subdivision 2, paragraph (b) and 626.557, subdivision 14. For a resident​
served under chapter 256S, the case manager must be part of the interdisciplinary team under section 245A.65,​
subdivision 2, paragraph (b). The restriction must be implemented in the least restrictive manner necessary​
to protect the resident and provide support to reduce or eliminate the need for the restriction.​

Subd. 11. Adult foster care service termination for elderly waiver participants. (a) This subdivision​
applies to foster care services for a resident served under chapter 256S.​

(b) The foster care license holder must establish policies and procedures for service termination that​
promote continuity of care and service coordination with the resident and the case manager and with another​
licensed caregiver, if any, who also provides support to the resident. The policy must include the requirements​
specified in paragraphs (c) to (h).​

(c) The license holder must allow a resident to remain in the program and cannot terminate services​
unless:​

(1) the termination is necessary for the resident's health, safety, and well-being and the resident's needs​
cannot be met in the facility;​

(2) the safety of the resident or another resident in the program is endangered and positive support​
strategies were attempted and have not achieved and effectively maintained safety for the resident or another​
resident in the program;​

(3) the health, safety, and well-being of the resident or another resident in the program would otherwise​
be endangered;​

(4) the program was not paid for services;​

(5) the program ceases to operate; or​

(6) the resident was terminated by the lead agency from waiver eligibility.​

(d) Before giving notice of service termination, the license holder must document the action taken to​
minimize or eliminate the need for termination. The action taken by the license holder must include, at a​
minimum:​

(1) consultation with the resident's interdisciplinary team to identify and resolve issues leading to a​
notice of service termination; and​

(2) a request to the case manager or other professional consultation or intervention services to support​
the resident in the program. This requirement does not apply to a notice of service termination issued under​
paragraph (c), clause (4) or (5).​
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(e) If, based on the best interests of the resident, the circumstances at the time of notice were such that​
the license holder was unable to take the action specified in paragraph (d), the license holder must document​
the specific circumstances and the reason the license holder was unable to take the action.​

(f) The license holder must notify the resident or the resident's legal representative and the case manager​
in writing of the intended service termination. The notice must include:​

(1) the reason for the action;​

(2) except for service termination under paragraph (c), clause (4) or (5), a summary of the action taken​
to minimize or eliminate the need for termination and the reason the action failed to prevent the termination;​

(3) the resident's right to appeal the service termination under section 256.045, subdivision 3, paragraph​
(a); and​

(4) the resident's right to seek a temporary order staying the service termination according to the​
procedures in section 256.045, subdivision 4a, or subdivision 6, paragraph (c).​

(g) Notice of the proposed service termination must be given at least 30 days before terminating a​
resident's service.​

(h) After the resident receives the notice of service termination and before the services are terminated,​
the license holder must:​

(1) work with the support team or expanded support team to develop reasonable alternatives to support​
continuity of care and to protect the resident;​

(2) provide information requested by the resident or case manager; and​

(3) maintain information about the service termination, including the written notice of service termination,​
in the resident's record.​

Subd. 12. License holder qualifications for child foster care. (a) Child foster care license holders​
must maintain the ability to care for a foster child and ensure a safe home environment for children placed​
in their care. License holders must immediately notify the licensing agency of:​

(1) any changes to the license holder or household member's physical or behavioral health that may​
affect the license holder's ability to care for a foster child or pose a risk to a foster child's health; or​

(2) changes related to the care of a child or vulnerable adult for whom the license holder is a parent or​
legally responsible, including living out of the home for treatment for physical or behavioral health, modified​
parenting time arrangements, legal custody, or placement in foster care.​

(b) The licensing agency may request a license holder or household member to undergo an evaluation​
by a specialist in areas such as physical or behavioral health to evaluate the license holder's ability to provide​
a safe environment for a foster child. Prior to assigning a specialist to evaluate, the licensing agency must​
tell the license holder or household member why the licensing agency has requested a specialist evaluation​
and request a release of information from the license holder or household member.​

History: 1987 c 333 s 12; 1988 c 411 s 6; 1990 c 568 art 2 s 47; 1992 c 513 art 9 s 14; 1993 c 10 s 1;​
1995 c 224 s 79; 1997 c 203 art 7 s 4; 1997 c 248 s 31; 2000 c 327 s 6; 2001 c 4 s 1,2; 1Sp2003 c 14 art 6​
s 10-12; 2004 c 288 art 1 s 25; art 5 s 2; 2007 c 112 s 13; 2009 c 79 art 1 s 3-5; art 8 s 9; 2009 c 173 art​
1 s 3; 2010 c 352 art 1 s 6; 1Sp2011 c 9 art 4 s 6; 2012 c 216 art 9 s 4,5; 2012 c 247 art 4 s 7-9; 2013 c​
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108 art 8 s 16-20; 2013 c 125 art 1 sec 108; 2015 c 78 art 4 s 13; 2016 c 163 art 3 s 5; 2016 c 189 art 18​
s 7; 2017 c 40 art 1 s 51; 2017 c 90 s 1; 1Sp2017 c 6 art 2 s 5-7; 2019 c 54 art 2 s 7-10; 2020 c 83 art 1 s​
68; 1Sp2020 c 2 art 2 s 2; art 8 s 47; 2022 c 98 art 4 s 11-13; art 17 s 26; 2023 c 61 art 1 s 3,4; 2023 c 70​
art 8 s 17; 2024 c 85 s 55; 2024 c 108 art 1 s 2; 2024 c 125 art 1 s 5; 2024 c 127 art 46 s 5; art 62 s 10​

NOTE: The amendments to subdivision 2a by Laws 2022, chapter 98, article 4, section 12, are effective​
upon federal approval. The amendments to paragraphs (d) to (e) expire 365 calendar days after federal​
approval is obtained and the language of Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 245A.11, subdivision 2a, paragraphs​
(d) and (e), is revived and reenacted as of that date. The commissioner of human services shall notify the​
revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained. Laws 2022, chapter 98, article 4, section 12, the effective​
date.​

245A.12 VOLUNTARY RECEIVERSHIP FOR RESIDENTIAL OR NONRESIDENTIAL​
PROGRAMS.​

Subdivision 1. Definitions. For purposes of this section and section 245A.13, the following terms have​
the meanings given them.​

(a) "Controlling individual" has the meaning in section 245A.02, subdivision 5a. When used in this​
section and section 245A.13, it means only those individuals controlling the residential or nonresidential​
program prior to the commencement of the receivership period.​

(b) "Physical plant" means the building or buildings in which a residential or nonresidential program is​
located; all equipment affixed to the building and not easily subject to transfer as specified in the building​
and fixed equipment tables of the depreciation guidelines; and auxiliary buildings in the nature of sheds,​
garages, and storage buildings located on the same site if used for purposes related to resident or client care.​

(c) "Related party" means a person who is a close relative of a provider or a provider group; an affiliate​
of a provider or a provider group; a close relative of an affiliate of a provider or provider group; or an affiliate​
of a close relative of an affiliate of a provider or provider group. For the purposes of this paragraph, the​
following terms have the meanings given them.​

(1) "Affiliate" means a person that directly, or indirectly through one or more intermediaries, controls,​
or is controlled by, or is under common control with another person.​

(2) "Person" means an individual, a corporation, a partnership, an association, a trust, an unincorporated​
organization, or a government or political subdivision.​

(3) "Close relative of an affiliate of a provider or provider group" means an individual whose relationship​
by blood, marriage, or adoption to an individual who is an affiliate to a provider or a provider group is no​
more remote than first cousin.​

(4) "Control" includes the terms "controlling," "controlled by," and "under common control with" and​
means the possession, direct or indirect, of the power to direct or cause the direction of the management,​
operations, or policies of a person, whether through the ownership of voting securities, by contract, or​
otherwise.​

(5) "Provider or provider group" means the license holder or controlling individual prior to the effective​
date of the receivership.​

Subd. 2. Receivership agreement. A majority of controlling individuals of a residential or nonresidential​
program licensed or certified by the commissioner may at any time ask the commissioner to assume operation​
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of the program through appointment of a receiver. On receiving the request for a receiver, the commissioner​
may enter into an agreement with a majority of controlling individuals and become the receiver and operate​
the residential or nonresidential program under conditions acceptable to both the commissioner and the​
majority of controlling individuals. The agreement must specify the terms and conditions of the receivership​
and preserve the rights of the persons being served by the program. A receivership set up under this section​
terminates at the time specified by the parties to the agreement.​

Subd. 3. Management agreement. When the commissioner agrees to become the receiver of a residential​
or nonresidential program, the commissioner may enter into a management agreement with another entity​
or group to act as the managing agent during the receivership period. The managing agent will be responsible​
for the day-to-day operations of the program subject at all times to the review and approval of the​
commissioner. A reasonable fee may be paid to the managing agent for the performance of these services.​

Subd. 4. Rate adjustment. The provisions of section 245A.13, subdivisions 7 and 8, shall also apply​
to voluntary receiverships.​

Subd. 5. Controlling individuals; restrictions on licensure. No controlling individual of a residential​
or nonresidential program placed into receivership under this section shall apply for or receive a license or​
certification from the commissioner to operate a residential or nonresidential program for five years from​
the commencement of the receivership period. This subdivision does not apply to residential programs that​
are owned or operated by controlling individuals, that were in existence prior to the date of the receivership​
agreement, and that have not been placed into receivership.​

Subd. 6. Liability. The controlling individuals of a residential or nonresidential program placed into​
receivership remain liable for any claims made against the program that arose from incidents or events that​
occurred prior to the commencement of the receivership period. Neither the commissioner nor the managing​
agent of the commissioner assumes this liability.​

Subd. 7. Liability for financial obligations. Neither the commissioner nor the managing agent of the​
commissioner shall be liable for payment of any financial obligations of the residential or nonresidential​
program or of its controlling individuals incurred prior to the commencement of the receivership period​
unless such liability is expressly assumed in the receivership agreement. Those financial obligations remain​
the liability of the program and its controlling individuals. Financial obligations of the program incurred​
after the commencement of the receivership period are the responsibility of the commissioner or the managing​
agent of the commissioner to the extent such obligations are expressly assumed by each in the receivership​
or management agreements. The controlling individuals of the residential or nonresidential program remain​
liable for any financial obligations incurred after the commencement of the receivership period to the extent​
these obligations are not reimbursed in the rate paid to the program and are reasonable and necessary to the​
operation of the program. These financial obligations, or any other financial obligations incurred by the​
program prior to the commencement of the receivership period which are necessary to the continued operation​
of the program, may be deducted from any rental payments owed to the controlling individuals of the program​
as part of the receivership agreement.​

Subd. 8. Physical plant of the residential or nonresidential program. Occupation of the physical​
plant after commencement of the receivership period shall be controlled by paragraphs (a) and (b).​

(a) If the physical plant of a residential or nonresidential program placed in receivership is owned by a​
controlling individual or related party, the physical plant may be used by the commissioner or the managing​
agent for purposes of the receivership as long as the receivership period continues. A fair monthly rental for​
the physical plant shall be paid by the commissioner or managing agent to the owner of the physical plant.​
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This fair monthly rental shall be determined by considering all relevant factors necessary to meet required​
arm's-length obligations of controlling individuals such as the mortgage payments owed on the physical​
plant, the real estate taxes, and special assessments. This rental shall not include any allowance for profit or​
be based on any formula that includes an allowance for profit.​

(b) If the owner of the physical plant of a residential or nonresidential program placed in receivership​
is not a related party, the controlling individual shall continue as the lessee of the property. However, during​
the receivership period, rental payments shall be made to the owner of the physical plant by the commissioner​
or the managing agent on behalf of the controlling individual. Neither the commissioner nor the managing​
agent assumes the obligations of the lease unless expressly stated in the receivership agreement. Should the​
lease expire during the receivership, the commissioner or the managing agent may negotiate a new lease for​
the term of the receivership period.​

Subd. 9. Receivership accounting. The commissioner may use the medical assistance account and​
funds for receivership cash flow and accounting purposes.​

Subd. 10. Receivership costs. The commissioner may use the accounts and funds that would have been​
available for the room and board, services, and program costs of persons in the program for costs, cash flow,​
and accounting purposes related to the receivership.​

History: 1987 c 333 s 13; 1989 c 282 art 2 s 82; 1990 c 568 art 2 s 48; 1994 c 434 s 4; 2015 c 78 art​
4 s 14​

245A.13 INVOLUNTARY RECEIVERSHIP FOR RESIDENTIAL OR NONRESIDENTIAL​
PROGRAMS.​

Subdivision 1. Application. (a) In addition to any other remedy provided by law, the commissioner​
may petition the district court in Ramsey County for an order directing the controlling individuals of a​
residential or nonresidential program licensed or certified by the commissioner to show cause why the​
commissioner should not be appointed receiver to operate the program. The petition to the district court​
must contain proof by affidavit that one or more of the following circumstances exists:​

(1) the commissioner has commenced proceedings to suspend or revoke the program's license or refused​
to renew the program's license;​

(2) there is a threat of imminent abandonment by the program or its controlling individuals;​

(3) the program has shown a pattern of failure to meet ongoing financial obligations such as failing to​
pay for food, pharmaceuticals, personnel costs, or required insurance;​

(4) the health, safety, or rights of the residents or persons receiving care from the program appear to be​
in jeopardy due to the manner in which the program may close, the program's financial condition, or violations​
of federal or state law or rules committed by the program; or​

(5) the commissioner has notified the program or its controlling individuals that the program's federal​
Medicare or Medicaid provider agreement will be terminated, revoked, canceled, or not renewed.​

(b) If the license holder, applicant, or controlling individual operates more than one program, the​
commissioner's petition must specify and be limited to the program for which it seeks receivership.​

(c) The order to show cause must be personally served on the program through its authorized agent or,​
in the event the authorized agent cannot be located, on any controlling individual for the program.​
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Subd. 2. Appointment of receiver. (a) If the court finds that involuntary receivership is necessary as a​
means of protecting the health, safety, or rights of persons being served by the program, the court shall​
appoint the commissioner as receiver to operate the program. The commissioner as receiver may contract​
with another entity or group to act as the managing agent during the receivership period. The managing​
agent will be responsible for the day-to-day operations of the program subject at all times to the review and​
approval of the commissioner. A managing agent shall not:​

(1) be the license holder or controlling individual of the program;​

(2) have a financial interest in the program at the time of the receivership;​

(3) be otherwise affiliated with the program; or​

(4) have had a licensed program that has been ordered into receivership.​

(b) Notwithstanding state contracting requirements in chapter 16C, the commissioner shall establish​
and maintain a list of qualified persons or entities with experience in delivering services and with winding​
down programs under chapter 245A, 245D, or 245G, or other service types licensed by the commissioner.​
The list shall be a resource for selecting a managing agent, and the commissioner may update the list at any​
time.​

Subd. 3. Powers and duties of receiver. (a) A receiver appointed pursuant to this section shall, within​
18 months after the receivership order, determine whether to close the program or to make other provisions​
with the intent to keep the program open. If the receiver determines that program closure is appropriate, the​
commissioner shall provide for the orderly transfer of individuals served by the program to other programs​
or make other provisions to protect the health, safety, and rights of individuals served by the program.​

(b) During the receivership, the receiver or the managing agent shall correct or eliminate deficiencies​
in the program that the commissioner determines endanger the health, safety, or welfare of the persons being​
served by the program unless the correction or elimination of deficiencies at a residential program involves​
major alteration in the structure of the physical plant. If the correction or elimination of the deficiencies at​
a residential program requires major alterations in the structure of the physical plant, the receiver shall take​
actions designed to result in the immediate transfer of persons served by the residential program. During​
the period of the receivership, the receiver and the managing agent shall operate the residential or​
nonresidential program in a manner designed to preserve the health, safety, rights, adequate care, and​
supervision of the persons served by the program.​

(c) The receiver or the managing agent may make contracts and incur lawful expenses.​

(d) The receiver or the managing agent shall use the building, fixtures, furnishings, and any accompanying​
consumable goods in the provision of care and services to the clients during the receivership period. The​
receiver shall take action as is reasonably necessary to protect or conserve the tangible assets or property​
during receivership.​

(e) The receiver or the managing agent shall collect incoming payments from all sources and apply them​
to the cost incurred in the performance of the functions of the receivership, including the fee set under​
subdivision 4. No security interest in any real or personal property comprising the program or contained​
within it, or in any fixture of the physical plant, shall be impaired or diminished in priority by the receiver​
or the managing agent.​

(f) The receiver has authority to hire, direct, manage, and discharge any employees of the program,​
including management-level staff for the program.​
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(g) The commissioner, as the receiver appointed by the court, may hire a managing agent to work on​
the commissioner's behalf to operate the program during the receivership. The managing agent is entitled​
to a reasonable fee. The receiver and managing agent shall be liable only in an official capacity for injury​
to persons and property by reason of the conditions of the program. The receiver and managing agent shall​
not be personally liable, except for gross negligence or intentional acts. The commissioner shall assist the​
managing agent in carrying out the managing agent's duties.​

Subd. 3a. Liability. The provisions contained in section 245A.12, subdivision 6, shall also apply to​
receiverships ordered according to this section.​

Subd. 3b. Liability for financial obligations. The provisions contained in section 245A.12, subdivision​
7, also apply to receiverships ordered according to this section.​

Subd. 3c. Physical plant of the program. Occupation of the physical plant under an involuntary​
receivership shall be governed by paragraphs (a) and (b).​

(a) The physical plant owned by a controlling individual of the program or related party must be made​
available for the use of the program throughout the receivership period. The court shall determine a fair​
monthly rental for the physical plant, taking into account all relevant factors necessary to meet required​
arm's-length obligations of controlling individuals such as mortgage payments, real estate taxes, and special​
assessments. The rental fee must be paid by the receiver to the appropriate controlling individuals or related​
parties for each month that the receivership remains in effect. No payment made to a controlling individual​
or related party by the receiver or the managing agent or any state agency during a period of the receivership​
shall include any allowance for profit or be based on any formula that includes an allowance for profit.​

(b) If the owner of the physical plant of a program is not a related party, the court shall order the​
controlling individual to continue as the lessee of the property during the receivership period. Rental payments​
during the receivership period shall be made to the owner of the physical plant by the commissioner or the​
managing agent on behalf of the controlling individual.​

Subd. 4. Fee. A receiver appointed under an involuntary receivership or the managing agent is entitled​
to a reasonable fee as determined by the court.​

Subd. 5. Termination. An involuntary receivership terminates 18 months after the date on which it was​
ordered or at any other time designated by the court or when any of the following events occurs:​

(1) the commissioner determines that the program's license or certification application should be granted​
or should not be suspended or revoked;​

(2) a new license or certification is granted to the program;​

(3) the commissioner determines that all persons residing in a residential program have been provided​
with alternative residential programs or that all persons receiving services in a nonresidential program have​
been referred to other programs; or​

(4) the court determines that the receivership is no longer necessary because the conditions which gave​
rise to the receivership no longer exist.​

Subd. 6. Emergency procedure. (a) If it appears from the petition filed under subdivision 1, from an​
affidavit or affidavits filed with the petition, or from testimony of witnesses under oath if the court determines​
it necessary, that there is probable cause to believe that an emergency exists in a residential or nonresidential​
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program, the court shall issue a temporary order for appointment of a receiver within two days after receipt​
of the petition.​

(b) Notice of the petition must be served on the authorized agent of the program that is subject to the​
receivership petition or, if the authorized agent is not immediately available for service, on at least one of​
the controlling individuals for the program. A hearing on the petition must be held within five days after​
notice is served unless the authorized agent or other controlling individual consents to a later date. After the​
hearing, the court may continue, modify, or terminate the temporary order.​

Subd. 7. Rate recommendation. For any program receiving Medicaid funds and ordered into receivership,​
the commissioner of human services may review rates of a residential or nonresidential program that has​
needs or deficiencies documented by the Department of Health; the Department of Children, Youth, and​
Families; or the Department of Human Services. If the commissioner of human services determines that a​
review of the rate established under sections 256B.5012 and 256B.5013 is needed, the commissioner shall:​

(1) review the order or determination that cites the deficiencies or needs; and​

(2) determine the need for additional staff, additional annual hours by type of employee, and additional​
consultants, services, supplies, equipment, repairs, or capital assets necessary to satisfy the needs or​
deficiencies.​

Subd. 8. Adjustment to the rate. Upon review of rates under subdivision 7, the commissioner may​
adjust the program's payment rate. The commissioner shall review the circumstances, together with the​
program's most recent income and expense report, to determine whether or not the deficiencies or needs can​
be corrected or met by reallocating program staff, costs, revenues, or any other resources including​
investments. If the commissioner determines that any deficiency cannot be corrected or the need cannot be​
met with the payment rate currently being paid, the commissioner shall determine the payment rate adjustment​
by dividing the additional annual costs established during the commissioner's review by the program's actual​
client days from the most recent income and expense report or the estimated client days in the projected​
receivership period. The payment rate adjustment remains in effect during the period of the receivership or​
until another date set by the commissioner. Upon the subsequent sale, closure, or transfer of the program,​
the commissioner may recover amounts that were paid as payment rate adjustments under this subdivision.​
This recovery shall be determined through a review of actual costs and client days in the receivership period.​
The costs the commissioner finds to be allowable shall be divided by the actual client days for the receivership​
period. This rate shall be compared to the rate paid throughout the receivership period, with the difference​
multiplied by client days, being the amount to be repaid to the commissioner. Allowable costs shall be​
determined by the commissioner as those ordinary, necessary, and related to client care by prudent and​
cost-conscious management. The buyer or transferee shall repay this amount to the commissioner within 60​
days after the commissioner notifies the buyer or transferee of the obligation to repay. This provision does​
not limit the liability of the seller to the commissioner pursuant to section 256B.0641.​

Subd. 9. Receivership accounting. The commissioner may adjust Medicaid rates and use Medicaid​
funds, including but not limited to waiver funds, and the medical assistance account and funds for receivership​
cash flow, receivership administrative fees, and accounting purposes, to the extent permitted by the state's​
approved Medicaid plan.​

Subd. 10. Receivership costs. The commissioner may use the accounts and funds that would have been​
available for the room and board, services, and program costs of persons in the program for costs, cash flow,​
and accounting purposes related to the receivership.​
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Subd. 11. Controlling individuals; restrictions on licensure. No controlling individual of a program​
placed into receivership under this section may apply for or receive a license or certification to operate a​
residential or nonresidential program for five years from the commencement of the receivership period. This​
subdivision does not apply to programs that are owned or operated by controlling individuals that were in​
existence before the date of the receivership agreement, and that have not been placed into receivership.​

History: 1987 c 333 s 14; 1988 c 411 s 7; 1989 c 282 art 2 s 83; 1990 c 568 art 2 s 49; 1992 c 513 art​
9 s 15; 1994 c 434 s 5-7; 1Sp2001 c 9 art 3 s 1,2; 2002 c 379 art 1 s 113; 2015 c 78 art 4 s 15; 2023 c 61​
art 7 s 6-12; 2024 c 80 art 2 s 52​

245A.14 SPECIAL CONDITIONS FOR NONRESIDENTIAL PROGRAMS.​

Subdivision 1. Permitted single-family residential use. A licensed nonresidential program with a​
licensed capacity of 12 or fewer persons shall be considered a permitted single-family residential use of​
property for the purposes of zoning and other land use regulations.​

Subd. 2. Permitted multifamily use. Except as otherwise provided in subdivision 1 or in a town,​
municipal, or county regulation, a licensed nonresidential program with a licensed capacity of 13 to 16​
persons shall be considered a permitted multifamily residential use of property for purposes of zoning. A​
town, municipal, or county zoning authority may require a conditional use or special use permit in order to​
assure proper maintenance and operation of the program. Conditions imposed on the nonresidential program​
must not be more restrictive than those imposed on other conditional uses or special uses of residential​
property in the same zones unless the additional conditions are necessary to protect the health and safety of​
the persons being served by the nonresidential program. Nothing in this chapter shall be construed to exclude​
or prohibit nonresidential programs from single-family zones if otherwise permitted by local zoning​
regulations.​

Subd. 3. [Renumbered 142B.41, subd 3]​

Subd. 4. [Renumbered 142B.41, subd 4]​

Subd. 4a. [Renumbered 142B.41, subd 5]​

Subd. 5. [Repealed, 1992 c 513 art 9 s 44]​

Subd. 6. [Renumbered 142B.41, subd 6]​

Subd. 7. [Repealed, 2007 c 112 s 59]​

Subd. 8. [Renumbered 142B.41, subd 7]​

Subd. 9. [Repealed, 2007 c 112 s 59]​

Subd. 9a. [Repealed, 2007 c 112 s 59]​

Subd. 10. [Renumbered 142B.41, subd 8]​

Subd. 11. [Renumbered 142B.41, subd 9]​

Subd. 12. [Repealed, 2007 c 112 s 59]​

Subd. 13. [Repealed, 2007 c 112 s 59]​

Subd. 14. Attendance records for publicly funded services. (a) An adult day services program licensed​
under this chapter and according to Minnesota Rules, parts 9555.5105 to 9555.6265, must maintain​
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documentation of actual attendance for each adult day service recipient for which the license holder is​
reimbursed by a governmental program. The records must be accessible to the commissioner during the​
program's hours of operation, they must be completed on the actual day of attendance, and they must include:​

(1) the first, middle, and last name of the recipient;​

(2) the time of day that the recipient was dropped off; and​

(3) the time of day that the recipient was picked up.​

(b) Adult day services programs licensed under this chapter that are designated for remote adult day​
services must maintain documentation of actual participation for each adult day service recipient for whom​
the license holder is reimbursed by a governmental program. The records must be accessible to the​
commissioner during the program's hours of operation, must be completed on the actual day service is​
provided, and must include the:​

(1) first, middle, and last name of the recipient;​

(2) time of day the remote services started;​

(3) time of day that the remote services ended; and​

(4) means by which the remote services were provided, through audio remote services or through audio​
and video remote services.​

Subd. 15. [Renumbered 142B.41, subd 11]​

Subd. 16. [Renumbered 142B.41, subd 12]​

Subd. 17. [Renumbered 142B.41, subd 13]​

History: 1987 c 333 s 15; 1988 c 608 s 3,4; 1989 c 282 art 2 s 84,85; 1Sp1989 c 2 s 10; 1990 c 426 art​
1 s 28; 1990 c 568 art 2 s 50,51; 1991 c 142 s 2; 1991 c 143 s 1; 1993 c 338 s 8; 1995 c 158 s 5; 1995 c​
207 art 2 s 20; art 4 s 1; 1998 c 407 art 6 s 5; 2000 c 327 s 6; 2000 c 489 art 1 s 20-22; 2002 c 279 s 6;​
2002 c 333 s 2; 2003 c 57 s 1; 2004 c 288 art 1 s 26; 2005 c 98 art 1 s 24; 1Sp2005 c 4 art 1 s 17,18; 2006​
c 207 s 1-3; 2006 c 264 s 5,6; 2007 c 112 s 14; 1Sp2011 c 9 art 3 s 1; 2012 c 216 art 16 s 8; art 17 s 2;​
2015 c 78 art 4 s 16; 2016 c 158 art 1 s 94; 1Sp2017 c 6 art 16 s 4; 2018 c 200 s 5; 1Sp2019 c 9 art 2 s​
40-43; 1Sp2021 c 7 art 2 s 7; 2022 c 98 art 7 s 1; art 12 s 2; 2023 c 25 s 123; 2023 c 70 art 8 s 18; 2024 c​
80 art 2 s 53,54; 2024 c 115 art 19 s 5​

245A.143 FAMILY ADULT DAY SERVICES.​

Subdivision 1. Scope. (a) The licensing standards in this section must be met to obtain and maintain a​
license to provide family adult day services. For the purposes of this section, family adult day services means​
a program operating fewer than 24 hours per day that provides functionally impaired adults age 18 or older​
with an individualized and coordinated set of services including health services, social services, and nutritional​
services that are directed at maintaining or improving the participants' capabilities for self-care.​

(b) A family adult day services license shall only be issued when the services are provided in the license​
holder's primary residence, and the license holder is the primary provider of care. The license holder may​
not serve more than eight adults at one time, including residents, if any, served under a license issued under​
Minnesota Rules, parts 9555.5105 to 9555.6265.​
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(c) An adult foster care license holder may provide family adult day services under the license holder's​
adult foster care license if the license holder meets the requirements of this section.​

Subd. 2. Definitions. (a) For the purposes of this section, the terms defined in this subdivision have the​
following meanings unless otherwise provided for by text.​

(b) "Caregiver" means a spouse, adult child, parent, relative, friend, or others who normally provide​
unpaid support or care to the individual needing assistance. For the purpose of this section, the caregiver​
may or may not have legal or financial responsibility for the participant.​

(c) "Participant" means a functionally impaired adult receiving family adult day services.​

(d) "Consultation by a health care professional" means the review and oversight of the participant's​
health-related services by a registered nurse, physician, physician assistant, or mental health professional.​

Subd. 3. Policy and program information requirements. (a) The license holder shall have available​
for review, and shall distribute to participants and their caregivers upon admission, written information​
about:​

(1) the scope of the programs, services, and care offered by the license holder;​

(2) a description of the population to be served by the license holder;​

(3) a description of individual conditions which the license holder is not prepared to accept, such as a​
communicable disease requiring isolation, a history of violence to self or others, unmanageable incontinence,​
or uncontrollable wandering;​

(4) the participants' rights and procedure for presenting grievances, including the name, address, and​
telephone number of the Office of Ombudsman for Long-Term Care and the county licensing department,​
to which a participant or participant's caregiver may submit an oral or written complaint;​

(5) the license holder's policy on and arrangements for providing transportation;​

(6) the license holder's policy on providing meals and snacks;​

(7) the license holder's fees, billing arrangements, and plans for payment;​

(8) the license holder's policy governing the presence of pets in the home;​

(9) the license holder's policy on smoking in the home;​

(10) types of insurance coverage carried by the license holder;​

(11) information on orientation requirements under section 245A.65, subdivisions 1, paragraph (c), and​
2, paragraph (a), clause (4);​

(12) the terms and conditions of the license holder's license issued by the department;​

(13) the license holder's plan for emergency evacuation of participants involving fire, weather, and other​
disasters. The plan must include instructions for evacuation or rescue of participants, identification of an​
emergency shelter area, quarterly fire drill schedule, and staff responsibilities; and​

(14) the license holder's policy for handling harmful objects, materials, or equipment including the​
storage of poisonous chemicals, use of appliances, sharp instruments, matches, or any other potentially​
harmful materials.​
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(b) The information in paragraph (a) must be provided in writing to the commissioner's representative​
upon request and must be available for inspection by the commissioner's representative at the home.​

Subd. 4. Admission screening and evaluation. (a) Before admitting an individual into the family adult​
day services program, the license holder shall screen the individual to determine how or whether the license​
holder can serve the individual, based on the license holder's policies, services, expertise, and the individual's​
needs and condition. If possible, the screening shall include an interview with the individual and with the​
individual's caregiver.​

(b) The screening required under paragraph (a) shall include an evaluation of the health, nutritional, and​
social services needs of the individual.​

Subd. 5. Service delivery plan. Before providing family adult day services, an individual, the individual's​
caregiver, the legal representative if there is one, the county or private case manager, if applicable, and the​
license holder shall develop a service delivery plan. At a minimum, the service delivery plan shall include:​

(1) a description of the health services, nutritional services, and social services to be arranged or provided​
by the license holder and the frequency of those services and that the services will be based on the needs of​
the individual;​

(2) scheduled days and hours of participant's attendance at the license holder's home;​

(3) transportation arrangements for getting the participant to and from the license holder's home;​

(4) contingency plans if scheduled services cannot be provided by the license holder;​

(5) identification of responsibilities of the participant and the license holder with respect to payment for​
the services;​

(6) circumstances when emergency services will be called; and​

(7) identification of the license holder's discharge policy when services are no longer needed or when​
the participant's needs can no longer be met by the license holder.​

Subd. 6. Individual service plan. (a) The service plan must be coordinated with other plans of services​
for the participant, as appropriate.​

(b) The service plan must be dated and revised when there is a change in the needs of the participant or​
annually, whichever occurs sooner.​

Subd. 7. Health services. (a) The license holder shall provide health services as specified in the service​
delivery plan under the direction of the designated caregiver or county or private case manager. Health​
services must include:​

(1) monitoring the participant's level of function and health while participating; taking appropriate action​
for a change in condition including immediately reporting changes to the participant's caregiver, physician,​
physician assistant, mental health professional, or registered nurse; and seeking consultation;​

(2) offering information to participants and caregivers on good health and safety practices; and​

(3) maintaining a listing of health resources available for referrals as needed by participants and caregivers.​

(b) Unless the person is a licensed health care practitioner qualified to administer medications, the person​
responsible for medication administration or assistance shall provide a certificate verifying successful​
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completion of a trained medication aid program for unlicensed personnel approved by the Minnesota​
Department of Health or comparable program, or biennially provide evidence of competency as demonstrated​
to a registered nurse, physician, or physician assistant.​

(c) The license holder must have secure storage and safeguarding of all medications with storage of​
medications in their original container, know what information regarding medication administration must​
be reported to a health care professional, and must maintain a record of all medications administered.​

Subd. 8. Nutritional services. (a) The license holder shall ensure that food served is nutritious and​
meets any special dietary needs of the participants as prescribed by the participant's physician, advanced​
practice registered nurse, physician assistant, or dietitian as specified in the service delivery plan.​

(b) Food and beverages must be obtained, handled, and properly stored to prevent contamination,​
spoilage, or a threat to the health of a resident.​

Subd. 9. Social services. The license holder, in consultation with the county or private case manager,​
when appropriate, shall actively assist the participant in identifying and achieving personal goals, support​
the participant in maintaining personal support networks and socially valued roles, provide assistance to the​
participant to enable community participation, and refer participants to the Office of Ombudsman for​
Long-Term Care and other advocacy organizations for assistance when there is a potential conflict of interest​
between the license holder and the participant.​

Subd. 10. Participant rights. (a) The license holder shall adopt and comply with a participant bill of​
rights. The rights shall include the participants' right to:​

(1) participate in the development of the service plan;​

(2) refuse services or participation;​

(3) privacy;​

(4) confidentiality of participant information; and​

(5) present grievances regarding treatment or services to the Office of Ombudsman for Long-Term Care​
or the county licensing department. The license holder's policies shall include a procedure for addressing​
participant grievances, including the name, address, and telephone number of the county licensing department,​
to which a participant or participant caregiver may submit an oral or written complaint.​

(b) The license holder shall post the participant rights in the home and shall provide a copy to the​
participant and the participant's primary caregiver and legal representative if the participant has one.​

Subd. 11. Staffing. Whenever participants are in the home, there must be present at least one individual​
who is trained in basic first aid and certified in cardiopulmonary resuscitation and the treatment of obstructed​
airways. Whenever there are six, seven, or eight participants present, there must be a second staff person​
present.​

Subd. 12. Training. The license holder and license holder's staff must annually complete 12 hours of​
training related to the health, nutritional, and social needs of the license holder's target population. License​
holders with six or more years of licensure under this section or as an adult foster care provider must annually​
complete six hours of training. The annual training must include training on the reporting of maltreatment​
of vulnerable adults under sections 626.557 and 626.5572; license holder requirements governing maltreatment​
of vulnerable adults under section 245A.65; and, when a license holder serves participants who rely on​
medical monitoring equipment to sustain life or monitor a medical condition, training on medical equipment​
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as required under section 245A.155 for foster care providers. A record of all training must be maintained in​
the home.​

Subd. 13. Residential requirements. (a) The home where family adult day services are to be provided​
shall be classified as a residential group R-3 occupancy under the State Building Code and State Fire Code​
for purposes of building code and fire code inspections. A building code inspection is not required for​
licensure under this section. The state or local fire marshal must inspect the family adult day services home​
operating in the residence for compliance with the residential group R-3 occupancy provisions of the State​
Fire Code.​

(b) The licensed capacity of the home shall be limited by the amount of indoor space available for use​
by participants. The total indoor space available for use by participants must equal at least 35 square feet​
for each participant, the license holder, and each staff member present in the home. In determining the square​
footage of usable indoor space available, the following must not be counted: hallways, stairways, closets,​
offices, restrooms, and utility and storage areas. The usable indoor space available must include a room or​
an area that can be used as private space for providing personal hygiene services or social services to​
participants.​

(c) The residence must comply with all applicable local ordinances.​

Subd. 14. Variances. The commissioner may grant a variance to any of the requirements in this section​
if the conditions in section 245A.04, subdivision 9, are met.​

History: 2004 c 288 art 1 s 27; 2005 c 56 s 1; 2007 c 147 art 7 s 75; 1Sp2011 c 9 art 4 s 7; 2020 c 115​
art 4 s 77; 2022 c 58 s 96-98​

245A.1434 [Renumbered 142B.60]​

245A.1435 REDUCTION OF RISK OF SUDDEN UNEXPECTED INFANT DEATH.​

Programs licensed under this chapter must comply with the requirements of section 142B.46 whenever​
caring for infants.​

History: 2007 c 112 s 15; 2009 c 142 art 2 s 19; 2013 c 108 art 3 s 14; 2014 c 291 art 1 s 2; 2020 c​
115 art 4 s 78; 2022 c 58 s 99; 2023 c 70 art 8 s 19; 2024 c 80 art 2 s 55​

245A.144 TRAINING ON RISK OF SUDDEN UNEXPECTED INFANT DEATH AND ABUSIVE​
HEAD TRAUMA FOR CHILD FOSTER CARE PROVIDERS.​

(a) Licensed child foster care providers that care for infants or children through five years of age must​
document that before staff persons assist in the care of infants or children through five years of age, they​
are instructed on the standards in section 142B.46 and receive training on reducing the risk of sudden​
unexpected infant death and abusive head trauma from shaking infants and young children. The training on​
reducing the risk of sudden unexpected infant death and abusive head trauma may be provided as:​

(1) orientation training to child foster care providers, who care for infants or children through five years​
of age, under Minnesota Rules, part 2960.3070, subpart 1; or​

(2) in-service training to child foster care providers, who care for infants or children through five years​
of age, under Minnesota Rules, part 2960.3070, subpart 2.​

(b) Training required under this section must be at least one hour in length and must be completed at​
least once every five years. At a minimum, the training must address the risk factors related to sudden​
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unexpected infant death and abusive head trauma, means of reducing the risk of sudden unexpected infant​
death and abusive head trauma, and license holder communication with parents regarding reducing the risk​
of sudden unexpected infant death and abusive head trauma.​

(c) Training for child foster care providers must be approved by the county that is responsible for​
monitoring the child foster care provider under section 245A.16. The approved training fulfills, in part,​
training required under Minnesota Rules, part 2960.3070.​

History: 1Sp2001 c 9 art 14 s 23; 2002 c 375 art 1 s 16; 2002 c 379 art 1 s 113; 1Sp2005 c 4 art 1 s​
19; 2007 c 112 s 16; 2009 c 26 s 1; 2010 c 329 art 1 s 9; 2013 c 108 art 3 s 15; 2024 c 115 art 16 s 10​

245A.1443 SUBSTANCE USE DISORDER TREATMENT LICENSED PROGRAMS THAT SERVE​
PARENTS WITH THEIR CHILDREN.​

Subdivision 1. Application. This section applies to residential substance use disorder treatment facilities​
that are licensed under this chapter and chapter 245G and that provide services in accordance with section​
245G.19.​

Subd. 2. Requirements for providing education. (a) On or before the date of a child's initial physical​
presence at the facility, the license holder must provide education to the child's parent related to safe bathing​
and reducing the risk of sudden unexpected infant death and abusive head trauma from shaking infants and​
young children. The license holder must use the educational material developed by the commissioner to​
comply with this requirement. At a minimum, the education must address:​

(1) instruction that a child or infant should never be left unattended around water, a tub should be filled​
with only two to four inches of water for infants, and an infant should never be put into a tub when the water​
is running; and​

(2) the risk factors related to sudden unexpected infant death and abusive head trauma from shaking​
infants and young children, and means of reducing the risks, including the safety precautions identified in​
section 142B.46 and the risks of co-sleeping.​

(b) The license holder must document the parent's receipt of the education and keep the documentation​
in the parent's file. The documentation must indicate whether the parent agrees to comply with the safeguards.​
If the parent refuses to comply, program staff must provide additional education to the parent as described​
in the parental supervision plan. The parental supervision plan must include the intervention, frequency, and​
staff responsible for the duration of the parent's participation in the program or until the parent agrees to​
comply with the safeguards.​

Subd. 3. Parental supervision of children. (a) On or before the date of a child's initial physical presence​
at the facility, the license holder must document the parent's capacity to meet the health and safety needs of​
the child while on the facility premises considering the following factors:​

(1) the parent's physical and mental health;​

(2) the parent being under the influence of drugs, alcohol, medications, or other chemicals;​

(3) the child's physical and mental health; and​

(4) any other information available to the license holder that indicates the parent may not be able to​
adequately care for the child.​
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(b) The license holder must have written procedures specifying the actions to be taken by staff if a parent​
is or becomes unable to adequately care for the parent's child.​

(c) If the parent refuses to comply with the safeguards described in subdivision 2 or is unable to adequately​
care for the child, the license holder must develop a parental supervision plan in conjunction with the client.​
The plan must account for any factors in paragraph (a) that contribute to the parent's inability to adequately​
care for the child. The plan must be dated and signed by the staff person who completed the plan.​

Subd. 4. Alternative supervision arrangements. The license holder must have written procedures​
addressing whether the program permits a parent to arrange for supervision of the parent's child by another​
client in the program. If permitted, the facility must have a procedure that requires staff approval of the​
supervision arrangement before the supervision by the nonparental client occurs. The procedure for approval​
must include an assessment of the nonparental client's capacity to assume the supervisory responsibilities​
using the criteria in subdivision 3. The license holder must document the license holder's approval of the​
supervisory arrangement and the assessment of the nonparental client's capacity to supervise the child, and​
must keep this documentation in the file of the parent of the child being supervised.​

History: 2015 c 78 art 4 s 17; 2018 c 182 art 2 s 11; 2022 c 98 art 12 s 3; 2024 c 80 art 2 s 56​

245A.1444 TRAINING BY OTHER PROGRAMS ON RISK OF SUDDEN UNEXPECTED INFANT​
DEATH AND ABUSIVE HEAD TRAUMA.​

A licensed substance use disorder treatment program that serves clients with infants or children through​
five years of age, who sleep at the program and a licensed children's residential facility that serves infants​
or children through five years of age, must document that before program staff persons or volunteers assist​
in the care of infants or children through five years of age, they are instructed on the standards in section​
142B.46 and receive training on reducing the risk of sudden unexpected infant death and abusive head trauma​
from shaking infants and young children. The training conducted under this section may be used to fulfill​
training requirements under section 245G.19, subdivision 4, clause (2), and Minnesota Rules, part 2960.0100,​
subpart 3.​

History: 2007 c 112 s 17; 2009 c 26 s 2; 2013 c 108 art 3 s 16; 2018 c 182 art 2 s 12; 2022 c 98 art 4​
s 51; 2024 c 80 art 2 s 57​

245A.1445 [Renumbered 142B.48]​

245A.145 [Renumbered 142B.61]​

245A.146 CRIB SAFETY REQUIREMENTS.​

Subdivision 1. Crib safety requirements. The commissioner and all licensed children's residential​
facilities, substance use disorder treatment programs with children in care, and residential habilitation​
programs serving children with developmental disabilities must follow the requirements of section 142B.45.​

Subd. 2. [Renumbered 142B.45, subd 2]​

Subd. 3. [Renumbered 142B.45, subd 3]​

Subd. 4. [Renumbered 142B.45, subd 4]​

Subd. 5. [Renumbered 142B.45, subd 5]​
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Subd. 6. [Renumbered 142B.45, subd 6]​

History: 2005 c 139 s 1; 2006 c 264 s 7,8; 2012 c 216 art 16 s 9,10; 2014 c 228 art 2 s 12,13; 2022 c​
98 art 4 s 51; 2023 c 70 art 8 s 20; 2024 c 80 art 2 s 58-61​

245A.147 [Renumbered 142B.75]​

245A.148 [Renumbered 142B.76]​

245A.149 [Renumbered 142B.77]​

245A.15 [Renumbered 142B.78]​

245A.151 FIRE MARSHAL INSPECTION.​

When licensure under this chapter or certification under chapter 142C requires an inspection by a fire​
marshal to determine compliance with the State Fire Code under section 299F.011, a local fire code inspector​
approved by the state fire marshal may conduct the inspection. If a community does not have a local fire​
code inspector or if the local fire code inspector does not perform the inspection, the state fire marshal must​
conduct the inspection. A local fire code inspector or the state fire marshal may recover the cost of these​
inspections through a fee of no more than $50 per inspection charged to the applicant or license holder or​
license-exempt child care center certification holder. The fees collected by the state fire marshal under this​
section are appropriated to the commissioner of public safety for the purpose of conducting the inspections.​

History: 2002 c 375 art 1 s 17; 2005 c 136 art 9 s 14; 1Sp2019 c 9 art 2 s 47; 2024 c 80 art 3 s 3​

245A.1511 Renumbered [142B.79]​

245A.152 [Renumbered 142B.62]​

245A.153 MS 2018 [Expired, 1Sp2017 c 6 art 9 s 10]​

245A.155 CARE OF INDIVIDUALS ON MEDICAL MONITORING EQUIPMENT.​

Subdivision 1. Licensed foster care and respite care. This section applies to foster care agencies and​
licensed foster care providers who place, supervise, or care for individuals who rely on medical monitoring​
equipment to sustain life or monitor a medical condition that could become life-threatening without proper​
use of the medical equipment in respite care or foster care.​

Subd. 2. Foster care agency requirements. In order for an agency to place an individual who relies on​
medical equipment to sustain life or monitor a medical condition that could become life-threatening without​
proper use of the medical equipment with a foster care provider, the agency must ensure that the foster care​
provider has received the training to operate such equipment as observed and confirmed by a qualified​
source, and that the provider:​

(1) is currently caring for an individual who is using the same equipment in the foster home; or​

(2) has written documentation that the foster care provider has cared for an individual who relied on​
such equipment within the past six months; or​

(3) has successfully completed training with the individual being placed with the provider.​

Subd. 3. Foster care provider requirements. A foster care provider shall not care for an individual​
who relies on medical equipment to sustain life or monitor a medical condition unless the provider has​
received the training to operate such equipment as observed and confirmed by a qualified source, and:​
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(1) is currently caring for an individual who is using the same equipment in the foster home; or​

(2) has written documentation that the foster care provider has cared for an individual who relied on​
such equipment within the past six months; or​

(3) has successfully completed training with the individual being placed with the provider.​

Subd. 4. Qualified source definition. For purposes of this section, a "qualified source" includes a health​
care professional or an individual who provides training on such equipment.​

Subd. 5. Foster care provider training and skills form. The agency supervising the foster care provider​
shall keep a training and skills form on file for each foster care provider and update the form annually. The​
agency placing the individual shall obtain a copy of the training and skills form from the foster care provider​
or the agency supervising the foster care provider and shall keep it and any updated information on file for​
the duration of the placement. The form must be made available to the parents or the primary caregiver and​
social worker of the individual, or the individual, whichever is applicable, in order to make an informed​
placement decision. The agency shall use the training and skills form developed by the commissioner of​
human services.​

History: 2000 c 338 s 1; 2015 c 71 art 7 s 5,6​

245A.156 DISCLOSURE OF COMMUNICABLE DISEASE.​

Subdivision 1. Licensed foster care. This section applies to county agencies and individuals who place​
children or adults who have a known communicable disease, as defined in section 144.4172, subdivision 2,​
in foster care settings licensed under this chapter.​

Subd. 2. Placing agency's or individual's duties. Notwithstanding sections 144.291 to 144.298, before​
a county or individual places a child or adult with a known communicable disease with a licensed foster​
care provider, the agency or individual must:​

(1) disclose to the foster care license holder the individual's communicable disease; and​

(2) determine that the foster care provider has the ability to provide care to the individual.​

History: 2002 c 290 s 1; 2007 c 147 art 10 s 15; 2024 c 80 art 2 s 63,64​

245A.16 STANDARDS FOR COUNTY AGENCIES AND PRIVATE AGENCIES.​

Subdivision 1. Delegation of authority to agencies. (a) County agencies that have been designated by​
the commissioner to perform licensing functions and activities under section 245A.04; to recommend denial​
of applicants under section 245A.05; to issue correction orders, to issue variances, and recommend a​
conditional license under section 245A.06; or to recommend suspending or revoking a license or issuing a​
fine under section 245A.07, shall comply with rules and directives of the commissioner governing those​
functions and with this section. The following variances are excluded from the delegation of variance​
authority and may be issued only by the commissioner:​

(1) dual licensure of child foster residence setting and community residential setting;​

(2) until the responsibility for family child foster care transfers to the commissioner of children, youth,​
and families under Laws 2023, chapter 70, article 12, section 30, dual licensure of family child foster care​
and family adult foster care;​

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota​
Revisor of Statutes​

78​MINNESOTA STATUTES 2024​245A.155​



(3) until the responsibility for family child care transfers to the commissioner of children, youth, and​
families under Laws 2023, chapter 70, article 12, section 30, dual licensure of family adult foster care and​
family child care;​

(4) adult foster care or community residential setting maximum capacity;​

(5) adult foster care or community residential setting minimum age requirement;​

(6) child foster care maximum age requirement;​

(7) variances regarding disqualified individuals;​

(8) the required presence of a caregiver in the adult foster care residence during normal sleeping hours;​

(9) variances to requirements relating to chemical use problems of a license holder or a household​
member of a license holder; and​

(10) variances to section 142B.46 for the use of a cradleboard for a cultural accommodation.​

(b) Once the respective responsibilities transfer from the commissioner of human services to the​
commissioner of children, youth, and families, under Laws 2023, chapter 70, article 12, section 30, the​
commissioners of human services and children, youth, and families must both approve a variance for dual​
licensure of family child foster care and family adult foster care or family adult foster care and family child​
care. Variances under this paragraph are excluded from the delegation of variance authority and may be​
issued only by both commissioners.​

(c) For family adult day services programs, the commissioner may authorize licensing reviews every​
two years after a licensee has had at least one annual review.​

(d) A license issued under this section may be issued for up to two years.​

(e) During implementation of chapter 245D, the commissioner shall consider:​

(1) the role of counties in quality assurance;​

(2) the duties of county licensing staff; and​

(3) the possible use of joint powers agreements, according to section 471.59, with counties through​
which some licensing duties under chapter 245D may be delegated by the commissioner to the counties.​

Any consideration related to this paragraph must meet all of the requirements of the corrective action plan​
ordered by the federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services.​

(f) Licensing authority specific to section 245D.06, subdivisions 5, 6, 7, and 8, or successor provisions;​
and section 245D.061 or successor provisions, for family child foster care programs providing out-of-home​
respite, as identified in section 245D.03, subdivision 1, paragraph (b), clause (1), is excluded from the​
delegation of authority to county agencies.​

Subd. 2. Investigations. (a) The county or private agency shall conduct timely investigations of allegations​
of maltreatment of children or adults in programs for which the county or private agency is the commissioner's​
designated representative and record a disposition of each complaint in accordance with applicable law or​
rule. The county or private agency shall conduct similar investigations of allegations of violations of rules​
governing licensure of the program.​
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(b) If an investigation conducted under paragraph (a) results in evidence that the commissioner should​
deny an application or suspend, revoke, or make conditional a license, the county or private agency shall​
make that recommendation to the commissioner within ten working days.​

Subd. 3. Recommendations to commissioner. The county agency shall not make recommendations to​
the commissioner regarding licensure without first conducting an inspection. The county agency must forward​
its recommendation to the commissioner regarding the appropriate licensing action within 20 working days​
of receipt of a completed application.​

Subd. 4. Enforcement of commissioner's orders. The county or private agency shall enforce the​
commissioner's orders under sections 245A.07, 245A.08, subdivision 5, and chapter 245C, according to the​
instructions of the commissioner. The county attorney shall assist the county agency in the enforcement and​
defense of the commissioner's orders under sections 245A.07, 245A.08, and chapter 245C, according to the​
instructions of the commissioner, unless a conflict of interest exists between the county attorney and the​
commissioner. For purposes of this section, a conflict of interest means that the county attorney has a direct​
or shared financial interest with the license holder or has a personal relationship or family relationship with​
a party in the licensing action.​

Subd. 5. Instruction and technical assistance. The commissioner shall provide instruction and technical​
assistance to county agencies that are subject to this section. County agencies shall cooperate with the​
commissioner in carrying out this section by ensuring that affected employees participate in instruction and​
technical assistance provided by the commissioner.​

Subd. 6. Certification by commissioner. The commissioner shall ensure that rules are uniformly​
enforced throughout the state by reviewing each county and private agency for compliance with this section​
and other applicable laws and rules at least every four years. County agencies that comply with this section​
shall be certified by the commissioner. If a county agency fails to be certified by the commissioner, the​
commissioner shall certify a reduction of state administrative aids in an amount up to 20 percent of the​
county's state portion of Vulnerable Children and Adults Act funding.​

Subd. 7. [Renumbered 142B.30, subd 7]​

Subd. 8. Notice of county recommendation. The county or private agency shall provide written notice​
to the license holder when the agency recommends a licensing action to the commissioner under subdivision​
2 or 3. The written notice shall inform the license holder about the process for determining a licensing action​
and how the license holder will be notified of a licensing action determination. The notice shall include the​
following:​

(1) that the county or private agency made a recommendation to the commissioner to deny an application​
or suspend, revoke, or make conditional a license;​

(2) that the commissioner will review the recommendation from the county or private agency and then​
determine if a licensing action will be issued;​

(3) that the license holder will receive written notice from the commissioner indicating the reasons for​
the licensing action issued; and​

(4) instructions on how to request reconsideration or appeal, if a licensing action is issued.​

County or private agency recommendations under this section are classified as confidential data under chapter​
13 and may only be disclosed as permitted by law.​
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Subd. 9. [Renumbered 142B.30, subd 9]​

Subd. 10. Licensing and reporting hub. Upon implementation of the provider licensing and reporting​
hub, county staff who perform licensing functions must use the hub in the manner prescribed by the​
commissioner.​

Subd. 11. [Renumbered 142B.30, subd 11]​

History: 1987 c 333 s 17; 1989 c 282 art 2 s 86; 1990 c 568 art 2 s 52,53; 1991 c 142 s 3; 1992 c 513​
art 9 s 16; 1993 c 338 s 9; 1997 c 248 s 32; 1Sp2001 c 9 art 14 s 24; 2002 c 375 art 1 s 18; 2002 c 379 art​
1 s 113; 2003 c 15 art 1 s 33; 2004 c 288 art 1 s 28,29; 2005 c 98 art 3 s 14; 1Sp2005 c 4 art 1 s 20,21;​
2007 c 147 art 3 s 3,4; 2009 c 79 art 1 s 6,7; 2009 c 142 art 2 s 20; 1Sp2011 c 9 art 1 s 20; 2013 c 108 art​
8 s 21; 2014 c 312 art 27 s 8; 2015 c 78 art 4 s 19; 1Sp2017 c 6 art 16 s 5,6; 2018 c 200 s 8,9; 1Sp2019 c​
9 art 2 s 48; 1Sp2020 c 2 art 1 s 9; 1Sp2021 c 7 art 2 s 8; 2023 c 25 s 124; 2023 c 50 art 1 s 15; 2023 c 70​
art 8 s 21-24; art 17 s 18; 2024 c 80 art 2 s 65-67; 2024 c 115 art 16 s 11; art 19 s 6; 2024 c 127 art 62 s​
11​

245A.167 PUBLIC FUNDS PROGRAM INTEGRITY MONITORING.​

(a) An applicant or a license holder that has enrolled to receive public funding reimbursement for services​
is required to comply with the registration or enrollment requirements as licensing standards.​

(b) Compliance with the licensing standards established under paragraph (a) may be monitored during​
a licensing investigation or inspection. Noncompliance with these licensure standards may result in:​

(1) a correction order or a conditional license under section 245A.06, or sanctions under section 245A.07;​

(2) nonpayment of claims submitted by the license holder for public program reimbursement according​
to the statute applicable to that program;​

(3) recovery of payments made for the service according to the statute applicable to that program;​

(4) disenrollment in the public payment program according to the statute applicable to that program; or​

(5) a referral for other administrative, civil, or criminal penalties as provided by law.​

History: 2012 c 216 art 17 s 3​

245A.17 [Repealed, 1992 c 513 art 9 s 44]​

245A.175 CHILD FOSTER CARE TRAINING REQUIREMENT; MENTAL HEALTH TRAINING;​
FETAL ALCOHOL SPECTRUM DISORDERS TRAINING.​

Prior to a nonemergency placement of a child in a foster care home, the child foster care license holder​
and all staff providing care in foster residence settings must complete two hours of training that addresses​
the causes, symptoms, and key warning signs of mental health disorders; cultural considerations; and effective​
approaches for dealing with a child's behaviors. At least one hour of the annual training requirement for the​
foster residence staff must be on children's mental health issues and treatment. Except for providers and​
services under chapter 245D, the annual training must also include at least one hour of training on fetal​
alcohol spectrum disorders, which must be counted toward the 12 hours of required in-service training per​
year. Training curriculum shall be approved by the commissioner of human services.​

History: 2007 c 147 art 8 s 11; 2015 c 78 art 4 s 20; 2016 c 101 s 1; 2018 c 188 s 1; 2024 c 115 art 16​
s 12​
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245A.18 CHILD PASSENGER RESTRAINT SYSTEMS.​

Subdivision 1. Seat belt and child passenger restraint system use. All license holders that transport​
children must comply with the requirements of section 142B.51, subdivision 1, and license holders that​
transport a child or children under eight years of age must document training that fulfills the requirements​
in section 142B.51, subdivision 2.​

Subd. 2. MS 2023 Supp [Repealed, 2024 c 80 art 2 s 75]​

History: 1990 c 568 art 2 s 54; 1993 c 13 art 1 s 31; 1Sp2005 c 4 art 1 s 22; 2006 c 254 s 1; 2007 c​
112 s 20; 2010 c 382 s 46; 2010 c 385 s 1; 2012 c 216 art 16 s 11; 1Sp2019 c 9 art 2 s 49; 2023 c 70 art 8​
s 25; 2024 c 80 art 2 s 68​

245A.19 HIV TRAINING IN SUBSTANCE USE DISORDER TREATMENT PROGRAM.​

(a) Applicants and license holders for substance use disorder residential and nonresidential programs​
must demonstrate compliance with HIV minimum standards before their application is complete. The HIV​
minimum standards contained in the HIV-1 Guidelines for substance use disorder treatment and care programs​
in Minnesota are not subject to rulemaking.​

(b) The applicant or license holder shall orient all substance use disorder treatment staff and clients to​
the HIV minimum standards. Thereafter, orientation shall be provided to all staff and clients, within 72 hours​
of employment or admission to the program. In-service training shall be provided to all staff on at least an​
annual basis and the license holder shall maintain records of training and attendance.​

(c) The license holder shall maintain a list of referral sources for the purpose of making necessary​
referrals of clients to HIV-related services. The list of referral services shall be updated at least annually.​

(d) Written policies and procedures, consistent with HIV minimum standards, shall be developed and​
followed by the license holder. All policies and procedures concerning HIV minimum standards shall be​
approved by the commissioner. The commissioner must outline the content required in the annual staff​
training under paragraph (b).​

(e) The commissioner may permit variances from the requirements in this section. License holders​
seeking variances must follow the procedures in section 245A.04, subdivision 9.​

History: 1992 c 513 art 9 s 17; 2022 c 98 art 4 s 51; 2023 c 49 s 3​

245A.191 PROVIDER ELIGIBILITY FOR PAYMENTS FROM THE BEHAVIORAL HEALTH​
FUND.​

(a) When a substance use disorder treatment provider licensed under this chapter, and governed by the​
standards of chapter 245G or Minnesota Rules, parts 2960.0430 to 2960.0490, agrees to meet the applicable​
requirements under section 254B.05, subdivision 5, to be eligible for enhanced funding from the behavioral​
health fund, the applicable requirements under section 254B.05 are also licensing requirements that may be​
monitored for compliance through licensing investigations and licensing inspections.​

(b) Noncompliance with the requirements identified under paragraph (a) may result in:​

(1) a correction order or a conditional license under section 245A.06, or sanctions under section 245A.07;​

(2) nonpayment of claims submitted by the license holder for public program reimbursement;​

(3) recovery of payments made for the service;​
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(4) disenrollment in the public payment program; or​

(5) other administrative, civil, or criminal penalties as provided by law.​

History: 2012 c 216 art 16 s 12; 2015 c 21 art 1 s 45; 1Sp2017 c 6 art 8 s 13; 2021 c 30 art 13 s 83​

245A.1915 [Repealed, 1Sp2017 c 6 art 8 s 77]​

245A.192 [Repealed, 1Sp2017 c 6 art 8 s 77]​

245A.20 [Repealed, 1997 c 248 s 51]​

245A.21 [Repealed, 1997 c 248 s 51]​

245A.211 PRONE RESTRAINT PROHIBITION.​

Subdivision 1. Applicability. This section applies to all programs licensed or certified under this chapter,​
chapters 142C, 245D, 245F, 245G, and sections 245I.20 and 245I.23. The requirements in this section are​
in addition to any applicable requirements for the use of holds or restraints for each license or certification​
type.​

Subd. 2. Definitions. (a) "Mechanical restraint" means a restraint device that limits the voluntary​
movement of a person or the person's limbs.​

(b) "Prone restraint" means a restraint that places a person in a face-down position with the person's​
chest in contact with the floor or other surface.​

(c) "Restraint" means a physical hold, physical restraint, manual restraint, restraint equipment, or​
mechanical restraint that holds a person immobile or limits the voluntary movement of a person or the​
person's limbs.​

Subd. 3. Prone restraint prohibition. (a) A license or certification holder must not use a prone restraint​
on any person receiving services in a program, except in the instances allowed by paragraphs (b) to (d).​

(b) If a person rolls into a prone position during the use of a restraint, the person must be restored to a​
nonprone position as quickly as possible.​

(c) If the applicable licensing requirements allow a program to use mechanical restraints, a person may​
be briefly held in a prone restraint for the purpose of applying mechanical restraints if the person is restored​
to a nonprone position as quickly as possible.​

(d) If the applicable licensing requirements allow a program to use seclusion, a person may be briefly​
held in a prone restraint to allow staff to safely exit a seclusion room.​

Subd. 4. Contraindicated physical restraints. A license or certification holder must not implement a​
restraint on a person receiving services in a program in a way that is contraindicated for any of the person's​
known medical or psychological conditions. Prior to using restraints on a person with a known medical or​
psychological conditions that restraints are contraindicated for, the license or certification holder must​
document the contraindication and the type of restraints that will not be used on the person based on this​
determination.​

History: 2023 c 70 art 17 s 19; 2024 c 80 art 3 s 3; 2024 c 127 art 62 s 12​

245A.22 MS 2022 [Repealed, 2023 c 70 art 17 s 63]​
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245A.23 [Renumbered 142B.63]​

245A.24 MANDATORY REPORTING.​

Any individual engaging in licensing functions and activities under this chapter, including authorities​
delegated under section 245A.16, must immediately report any suspected fraud to county human services​
investigators or the Department of Human Services Office of Inspector General.​

History: 1Sp2019 c 9 art 2 s 50​

245A.242 EMERGENCY OVERDOSE TREATMENT.​

Subdivision 1. Applicability. This section applies to the following licenses issued under this chapter:​

(1) substance use disorder treatment programs licensed according to chapter 245G;​

(2) children's residential facility substance use disorder treatment programs licensed according to​
Minnesota Rules, parts 2960.0010 to 2960.0220 and 2960.0430 to 2960.0490;​

(3) detoxification programs licensed according to Minnesota Rules, parts 9530.6510 to 9530.6590;​

(4) withdrawal management programs licensed according to chapter 245F; and​

(5) intensive residential treatment services or residential crisis stabilization licensed according to chapter​
245I and section 245I.23.​

Subd. 2. Emergency overdose treatment. (a) A license holder must maintain a supply of opiate​
antagonists as defined in section 604A.04, subdivision 1, available for emergency treatment of opioid​
overdose and must have a written standing order protocol by a physician who is licensed under chapter 147,​
advanced practice registered nurse who is licensed under chapter 148, or physician assistant who is licensed​
under chapter 147A, that permits the license holder to maintain a supply of opiate antagonists on site. A​
license holder must require staff to undergo training in the specific mode of administration used at the​
program, which may include intranasal administration, intramuscular injection, or both.​

(b) Notwithstanding any requirements to the contrary in Minnesota Rules, chapters 2960 and 9530, and​
Minnesota Statutes, chapters 245F, 245G, and 245I:​

(1) emergency opiate antagonist medications are not required to be stored in a locked area and staff and​
adult clients may carry this medication on them and store it in an unlocked location;​

(2) staff persons who only administer emergency opiate antagonist medications only require the training​
required by paragraph (a), which any knowledgeable trainer may provide. The trainer is not required to be​
a registered nurse or part of an accredited educational institution; and​

(3) nonresidential substance use disorder treatment programs that do not administer client medications​
beyond emergency opiate antagonist medications are not required to have the policies and procedures required​
in section 245G.08, subdivisions 5 and 6, and must instead describe the program's procedures for administering​
opiate antagonist medications in the license holder's description of health care services under section 245G.08,​
subdivision 1.​

History: 2023 c 61 art 5 s 6; 2024 c 127 art 62 s 13​
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245A.245 CHILDREN'S RESIDENTIAL FACILITY SUBSTANCE USE DISORDER TREATMENT​
PROGRAMS.​

Subdivision 1. Applicability. A license holder of a children's residential facility substance use disorder​
treatment program license issued under this chapter and Minnesota Rules, parts 2960.0010 to 2960.0220​
and 2960.0430 to 2960.0490, must comply with this section.​

Subd. 2. Former students. (a) "Alcohol and drug counselor" means an individual qualified according​
to Minnesota Rules, part 2960.0460, subpart 5.​

(b) "Former student" means an individual that meets the requirements in section 148F.11, subdivision​
2a, to practice as a former student.​

(c) An alcohol and drug counselor must supervise and be responsible for a treatment service performed​
by a former student and must review and sign each assessment, individual treatment plan, progress note,​
and treatment plan review prepared by a former student.​

(d) A former student must receive the orientation and training required for permanent staff members.​

History: 2023 c 70 art 6 s 33​

245A.25 RESIDENTIAL PROGRAM CERTIFICATIONS FOR COMPLIANCE WITH THE FAMILY​
FIRST PREVENTION SERVICES ACT.​

Subdivision 1. Certification scope and applicability. (a) This section establishes the requirements that​
a children's residential facility or child foster residence setting must meet to be certified for the purposes of​
Title IV-E funding requirements as:​

(1) a qualified residential treatment program;​

(2) a residential setting specializing in providing care and supportive services for youth who have been​
or are at risk of becoming victims of sex trafficking or commercial sexual exploitation;​

(3) a residential setting specializing in providing prenatal, postpartum, or parenting support for youth;​
or​

(4) a supervised independent living setting for youth who are 18 years of age or older.​

(b) This section does not apply to a foster family setting in which the license holder resides in the foster​
home.​

(c) Children's residential facilities licensed as detention settings according to Minnesota Rules, parts​
2960.0230 to 2960.0290, or secure programs according to Minnesota Rules, parts 2960.0300 to 2960.0420,​
may not be certified under this section.​

(d) For purposes of this section, "license holder" means an individual, organization, or government entity​
that was issued a children's residential facility or foster residence setting license by the commissioner of​
human services under this chapter or by the commissioner of corrections under chapter 241.​

(e) Certifications issued under this section for foster residence settings may only be issued by the​
commissioner of human services and are not delegated to county or private licensing agencies under section​
245A.16.​
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Subd. 2. Program certification types and requests for certification. (a) By July 1, 2021, the​
commissioner of human services must offer certifications to license holders for the following types of​
programs:​

(1) qualified residential treatment programs;​

(2) residential settings specializing in providing care and supportive services for youth who have been​
or are at risk of becoming victims of sex trafficking or commercial sexual exploitation;​

(3) residential settings specializing in providing prenatal, postpartum, or parenting support for youth;​
and​

(4) supervised independent living settings for youth who are 18 years of age or older.​

(b) An applicant or license holder must submit a request for certification under this section on a form​
and in a manner prescribed by the commissioner of human services. The decision of the commissioner of​
human services to grant or deny a certification request is final and not subject to appeal under chapter 14.​

Subd. 3. Trauma-informed care. (a) Programs certified under subdivision 4 or 5 must provide services​
to a person according to a trauma-informed model of care that meets the requirements of this subdivision,​
except that programs certified under subdivision 5 are not required to meet the requirements of paragraph​
(e).​

(b) For the purposes of this section, "trauma-informed care" means care that:​

(1) acknowledges the effects of trauma on a person receiving services and on the person's family;​

(2) modifies services to respond to the effects of trauma on the person receiving services;​

(3) emphasizes skill and strength-building rather than symptom management; and​

(4) focuses on the physical and psychological safety of the person receiving services and the person's​
family.​

(c) The license holder must have a process for identifying the signs and symptoms of trauma in a youth​
and must address the youth's needs related to trauma. This process must include:​

(1) screening for trauma by completing a trauma-specific screening tool with each youth upon the youth's​
admission or obtaining the results of a trauma-specific screening tool that was completed with the youth​
within 30 days prior to the youth's admission to the program; and​

(2) ensuring that trauma-based interventions targeting specific trauma-related symptoms are available​
to each youth when needed to assist the youth in obtaining services. For qualified residential treatment​
programs, this must include the provision of services in paragraph (e).​

(d) The license holder must develop and provide services to each youth according to the principles of​
trauma-informed care including:​

(1) recognizing the impact of trauma on a youth when determining the youth's service needs and providing​
services to the youth;​

(2) allowing each youth to participate in reviewing and developing the youth's individualized treatment​
or service plan;​

(3) providing services to each youth that are person-centered and culturally responsive; and​
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(4) adjusting services for each youth to address additional needs of the youth.​

(e) In addition to the other requirements of this subdivision, qualified residential treatment programs​
must use a trauma-based treatment model that includes:​

(1) assessing each youth to determine if the youth needs trauma-specific treatment interventions;​

(2) identifying in each youth's treatment plan how the program will provide trauma-specific treatment​
interventions to the youth;​

(3) providing trauma-specific treatment interventions to a youth that target the youth's specific​
trauma-related symptoms; and​

(4) training all clinical staff of the program on trauma-specific treatment interventions.​

(f) At the license holder's program, the license holder must provide a physical, social, and emotional​
environment that:​

(1) promotes the physical and psychological safety of each youth;​

(2) avoids aspects that may be retraumatizing;​

(3) responds to trauma experienced by each youth and the youth's other needs; and​

(4) includes designated spaces that are available to each youth for engaging in sensory and self-soothing​
activities.​

(g) The license holder must base the program's policies and procedures on trauma-informed principles.​
In the program's policies and procedures, the license holder must:​

(1) describe how the program provides services according to a trauma-informed model of care;​

(2) describe how the program's environment fulfills the requirements of paragraph (f);​

(3) prohibit the use of aversive consequences for a youth's violation of program rules or any other reason;​

(4) describe the process for how the license holder incorporates trauma-informed principles and practices​
into the organizational culture of the license holder's program; and​

(5) if the program is certified to use restrictive procedures under Minnesota Rules, part 2960.0710,​
describe how the program uses restrictive procedures only when necessary for a youth in a manner that​
addresses the youth's history of trauma and avoids causing the youth additional trauma.​

(h) Prior to allowing a staff person to have direct contact, as defined in section 245C.02, subdivision​
11, with a youth and annually thereafter, the license holder must train each staff person about:​

(1) concepts of trauma-informed care and how to provide services to each youth according to these​
concepts; and​

(2) impacts of each youth's culture, race, gender, and sexual orientation on the youth's behavioral health​
and traumatic experiences.​

Subd. 4. Qualified residential treatment programs; certification requirements. (a) To be certified​
as a qualified residential treatment program, a license holder must meet:​

(1) the definition of a qualified residential treatment program in section 260C.007, subdivision 26d;​
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(2) the requirements for providing trauma-informed care and using a trauma-based treatment model in​
subdivision 3; and​

(3) the requirements of this subdivision.​

(b) For each youth placed in the license holder's program, the license holder must collaborate with the​
responsible social services agency and other appropriate parties to implement the youth's out-of-home​
placement plan and the youth's short-term and long-term mental health and behavioral health goals in the​
assessment required by sections 260C.212, subdivision 1; 260C.704; and 260C.708.​

(c) A qualified residential treatment program must use a trauma-based treatment model that meets all​
of the requirements of subdivision 3 that is designed to address the needs, including clinical needs, of youth​
with serious emotional or behavioral disorders or disturbances. The license holder must develop, document,​
and review a treatment plan for each youth according to the requirements of Minnesota Rules, parts 2960.0180,​
subpart 2, item B; and 2960.0190, subpart 2.​

(d) The following types of staff must be on-site according to the program's treatment model and must​
be available 24 hours a day and seven days a week to provide care within the scope of their practice:​

(1) a registered nurse or licensed practical nurse licensed by the Minnesota Board of Nursing to practice​
professional nursing or practical nursing as defined in section 148.171, subdivisions 14 and 15; and​

(2) other licensed clinical staff to meet each youth's clinical needs.​

(e) A qualified residential treatment program must be accredited by one of the following independent,​
not-for-profit organizations:​

(1) the Commission on Accreditation of Rehabilitation Facilities (CARF);​

(2) the Joint Commission;​

(3) the Council on Accreditation (COA); or​

(4) another independent, not-for-profit accrediting organization approved by the Secretary of the United​
States Department of Health and Human Services.​

(f) The license holder must facilitate participation of a youth's family members in the youth's treatment​
program, consistent with the youth's best interests and according to the youth's out-of-home placement plan​
required by sections 260C.212, subdivision 1; and 260C.708.​

(g) The license holder must contact and facilitate outreach to each youth's family members, including​
the youth's siblings, and must document outreach to the youth's family members in the youth's file, including​
the contact method and each family member's contact information. In the youth's file, the license holder​
must record and maintain the contact information for all known biological family members and fictive kin​
of the youth.​

(h) The license holder must document in the youth's file how the program integrates family members​
into the treatment process for the youth, including after the youth's discharge from the program, and how​
the program maintains the youth's connections to the youth's siblings.​

(i) The program must provide discharge planning and family-based aftercare support to each youth for​
at least six months after the youth's discharge from the program. When providing aftercare to a youth, the​
program must have monthly contact with the youth and the youth's caregivers to promote the youth's​
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engagement in aftercare services and to regularly evaluate the family's needs. The program's monthly contact​
with the youth may be face-to-face, by telephone, or virtual.​

(j) The license holder must maintain a service delivery plan that describes how the program provides​
services according to the requirements in paragraphs (b) to (i).​

Subd. 5. Residential settings specializing in providing care and supportive services for youth who​
have been or are at risk of becoming victims of sex trafficking or commercial sexual exploitation;​
certification requirements. (a) To be certified as a residential setting specializing in providing care and​
supportive services for youth who have been or are at risk of becoming victims of sex trafficking or​
commercial sexual exploitation, a license holder must meet the requirements of this subdivision.​

(b) Settings certified according to this subdivision are exempt from the requirements of section 245A.04,​
subdivision 11, paragraph (b).​

(c) The program must use a trauma-informed model of care that meets all of the applicable requirements​
of subdivision 3, and that is designed to address the needs, including emotional and mental health needs, of​
youth who have been or are at risk of becoming victims of sex trafficking or commercial sexual exploitation.​

(d) The program must provide high-quality care and supportive services for youth who have been or are​
at risk of becoming victims of sex trafficking or commercial sexual exploitation and must:​

(1) offer a safe setting to each youth designed to prevent ongoing and future trafficking of the youth;​

(2) provide equitable, culturally responsive, and individualized services to each youth;​

(3) assist each youth with accessing medical, mental health, legal, advocacy, and family services based​
on the youth's individual needs;​

(4) provide each youth with relevant educational, life skills, and employment supports based on the​
youth's individual needs;​

(5) offer a trafficking prevention education curriculum and provide support for each youth at risk of​
future sex trafficking or commercial sexual exploitation; and​

(6) engage with the discharge planning process for each youth and the youth's family.​

(e) The license holder must maintain a service delivery plan that describes how the program provides​
services according to the requirements in paragraphs (c) and (d).​

(f) The license holder must ensure that each staff person who has direct contact, as defined in section​
245C.02, subdivision 11, with a youth served by the license holder's program completes a human trafficking​
training approved by the Department of Human Services' Children and Family Services Administration​
before the staff person has direct contact with a youth served by the program and annually thereafter. For​
programs certified prior to January 1, 2022, the license holder must ensure that each staff person at the​
license holder's program completes the initial training by January 1, 2022.​

Subd. 6. Residential settings specializing in providing prenatal, postpartum, or parenting supports​
for youth; certification requirements. (a) To be certified as a residential setting specializing in providing​
prenatal, postpartum, or parenting supports for youth, a license holder must meet the requirements of this​
subdivision.​
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(b) The license holder must collaborate with the responsible social services agency and other appropriate​
parties to implement each youth's out-of-home placement plan required by section 260C.212, subdivision​
1.​

(c) The license holder must specialize in providing prenatal, postpartum, or parenting supports for youth​
and must:​

(1) provide equitable, culturally responsive, and individualized services to each youth;​

(2) assist each youth with accessing postpartum services during the same period of time that a woman​
is considered pregnant for the purposes of medical assistance eligibility under section 256B.055, subdivision​
6, including providing each youth with:​

(i) sexual and reproductive health services and education; and​

(ii) a postpartum mental health assessment and follow-up services; and​

(3) discharge planning that includes the youth and the youth's family.​

(d) On or before the date of a child's initial physical presence at the facility, the license holder must​
provide education to the child's parent related to safe bathing and reducing the risk of sudden unexpected​
infant death and abusive head trauma from shaking infants and young children. The license holder must use​
the educational material developed by the commissioner of human services to comply with this requirement.​
At a minimum, the education must address:​

(1) instruction that: (i) a child or infant should never be left unattended around water; (ii) a tub should​
be filled with only two to four inches of water for infants; and (iii) an infant should never be put into a tub​
when the water is running; and​

(2) the risk factors related to sudden unexpected infant death and abusive head trauma from shaking​
infants and young children and means of reducing the risks, including the safety precautions identified in​
section 142B.46 and the risks of co-sleeping.​

The license holder must document the parent's receipt of the education and keep the documentation in the​
parent's file. The documentation must indicate whether the parent agrees to comply with the safeguards​
described in this paragraph. If the parent refuses to comply, program staff must provide additional education​
to the parent as described in the parental supervision plan. The parental supervision plan must include the​
intervention, frequency, and staff responsible for the duration of the parent's participation in the program or​
until the parent agrees to comply with the safeguards described in this paragraph.​

(e) On or before the date of a child's initial physical presence at the facility, the license holder must​
document the parent's capacity to meet the health and safety needs of the child while on the facility premises​
considering the following factors:​

(1) the parent's physical and mental health;​

(2) the parent being under the influence of drugs, alcohol, medications, or other chemicals;​

(3) the child's physical and mental health; and​

(4) any other information available to the license holder indicating that the parent may not be able to​
adequately care for the child.​
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(f) The license holder must have written procedures specifying the actions that staff shall take if a parent​
is or becomes unable to adequately care for the parent's child.​

(g) If the parent refuses to comply with the safeguards described in paragraph (d) or is unable to adequately​
care for the child, the license holder must develop a parental supervision plan in conjunction with the parent.​
The plan must account for any factors in paragraph (e) that contribute to the parent's inability to adequately​
care for the child. The plan must be dated and signed by the staff person who completed the plan.​

(h) The license holder must have written procedures addressing whether the program permits a parent​
to arrange for supervision of the parent's child by another youth in the program. If permitted, the facility​
must have a procedure that requires staff approval of the supervision arrangement before the supervision by​
the nonparental youth occurs. The procedure for approval must include an assessment of the nonparental​
youth's capacity to assume the supervisory responsibilities using the criteria in paragraph (e). The license​
holder must document the license holder's approval of the supervisory arrangement and the assessment of​
the nonparental youth's capacity to supervise the child and must keep this documentation in the file of the​
parent whose child is being supervised by the nonparental youth.​

(i) The license holder must maintain a service delivery plan that describes how the program provides​
services according to paragraphs (b) to (h).​

Subd. 7. Supervised independent living settings for youth 18 years of age or older; certification​
requirements. (a) To be certified as a supervised independent living setting for youth who are 18 years of​
age or older, a license holder must meet the requirements of this subdivision.​

(b) A license holder must provide training, counseling, instruction, supervision, and assistance for​
independent living, according to the needs of the youth being served.​

(c) A license holder may provide services to assist the youth with locating housing, money management,​
meal preparation, shopping, health care, transportation, and any other support services necessary to meet​
the youth's needs and improve the youth's ability to conduct such tasks independently.​

(d) The service plan for the youth must contain an objective of independent living skills.​

(e) The license holder must maintain a service delivery plan that describes how the program provides​
services according to paragraphs (b) to (d).​

Subd. 8. Monitoring and inspections. (a) For a program licensed by the commissioner of human​
services, the commissioner of human services may review a program's compliance with certification​
requirements by conducting an inspection, a licensing review, or an investigation of the program. The​
commissioner may issue a correction order to the license holder for a program's noncompliance with the​
certification requirements of this section. For a program licensed by the commissioner of human services,​
a license holder must make a request for reconsideration of a correction order according to section 245A.06,​
subdivision 2.​

(b) For a program licensed by the commissioner of children, youth, and families or the commissioner​
of corrections, the commissioner of human services may review the program's compliance with the​
requirements for a certification issued under this section biennially and may issue a correction order identifying​
the program's noncompliance with the requirements of this section. The correction order must state the​
following:​

(1) the conditions that constitute a violation of a law or rule;​
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(2) the specific law or rule violated; and​

(3) the time allowed for the program to correct each violation.​

(c) For a program licensed by the commissioner of children, youth, and families or the commissioner​
of corrections, if a license holder believes that there are errors in the correction order of the commissioner​
of human services, the license holder may ask the Department of Human Services to reconsider the parts of​
the correction order that the license holder alleges are in error. To submit a request for reconsideration, the​
license holder must send a written request for reconsideration by United States mail to the commissioner of​
human services. The request for reconsideration must be postmarked within 20 calendar days of the date​
that the correction order was received by the license holder and must:​

(1) specify the parts of the correction order that are alleged to be in error;​

(2) explain why the parts of the correction order are in error; and​

(3) include documentation to support the allegation of error.​

A request for reconsideration does not stay any provisions or requirements of the correction order. The​
commissioner of human services' disposition of a request for reconsideration is final and not subject to​
appeal under chapter 14.​

(d) Nothing in this subdivision prohibits the commissioner of human services from decertifying a license​
holder according to subdivision 9 prior to issuing a correction order.​

Subd. 9. Decertification. (a) The commissioner of human services may rescind a certification issued​
under this section if a license holder fails to comply with the certification requirements in this section.​

(b) The license holder may request reconsideration of a decertification by notifying the commissioner​
of human services by certified mail or personal service. The license holder must request reconsideration of​
a decertification in writing. If the license holder sends the request for reconsideration of a decertification by​
certified mail, the license holder must send the request by United States mail to the commissioner of human​
services and the request must be postmarked within 20 calendar days after the license holder received the​
notice of decertification. If the license holder requests reconsideration of a decertification by personal service,​
the request for reconsideration must be received by the commissioner of human services within 20 calendar​
days after the license holder received the notice of decertification. When submitting a request for​
reconsideration of a decertification, the license holder must submit a written argument or evidence in support​
of the request for reconsideration.​

(c) The commissioner of human services' disposition of a request for reconsideration is final and not​
subject to appeal under chapter 14.​

Subd. 10. Variances. The commissioner of human services may grant variances to the requirements in​
this section that do not affect a youth's health or safety or compliance with federal requirements for Title​
IV-E funding if the conditions in section 245A.04, subdivision 9, are met.​

History: 2021 c 30 art 10 s 10; 2024 c 80 art 2 s 69-71; 2024 c 115 art 16 s 47​

245A.26 CHILDREN'S RESIDENTIAL FACILITY CRISIS STABILIZATION SERVICES.​

Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For the purposes of this section, the terms defined in this subdivision​
have the meanings given.​
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(b) "Clinical trainee" means a staff person who is qualified under section 245I.04, subdivision 6.​

(c) "License holder" means an individual, organization, or government entity that was issued a license​
by the commissioner of human services under this chapter for residential mental health treatment for children​
with emotional disturbance according to Minnesota Rules, parts 2960.0010 to 2960.0220 and 2960.0580 to​
2960.0700, or shelter care services according to Minnesota Rules, parts 2960.0010 to 2960.0120 and​
2960.0510 to 2960.0530.​

(d) "Mental health professional" means an individual who is qualified under section 245I.04, subdivision​
2.​

Subd. 2. Scope and applicability. (a) This section establishes additional licensing requirements for a​
children's residential facility to provide children's residential crisis stabilization services to a client who is​
experiencing a mental health crisis and is in need of residential treatment services.​

(b) A children's residential facility may provide residential crisis stabilization services only if the facility​
is licensed to provide:​

(1) residential mental health treatment for children with emotional disturbance according to Minnesota​
Rules, parts 2960.0010 to 2960.0220 and 2960.0580 to 2960.0700; or​

(2) shelter care services according to Minnesota Rules, parts 2960.0010 to 2960.0120 and 2960.0510​
to 2960.0530.​

(c) If a client receives residential crisis stabilization services for 35 days or fewer in a facility licensed​
according to paragraph (b), clause (1), the facility is not required to complete a diagnostic assessment or​
treatment plan under Minnesota Rules, part 2960.0180, subpart 2, and part 2960.0600.​

(d) If a client receives residential crisis stabilization services for 35 days or fewer in a facility licensed​
according to paragraph (b), clause (2), the facility is not required to develop a plan for meeting the client's​
immediate needs under Minnesota Rules, part 2960.0520, subpart 3.​

Subd. 3. Eligibility for services. An individual is eligible for children's residential crisis stabilization​
services if the individual is under 21 years of age and meets the eligibility criteria for crisis services under​
section 256B.0624, subdivision 3.​

Subd. 4. Required services; providers. (a) A license holder providing residential crisis stabilization​
services must continually follow a client's individual crisis treatment plan to improve the client's functioning.​

(b) The license holder must offer and have the capacity to directly provide the following treatment​
services to a client:​

(1) crisis stabilization services as described in section 256B.0624, subdivision 7;​

(2) mental health services as specified in the client's individual crisis treatment plan, according to the​
client's treatment needs;​

(3) health services and medication administration, if applicable; and​

(4) referrals for the client to community-based treatment providers and support services for the client's​
transition from residential crisis stabilization to another treatment setting.​
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(c) Children's residential crisis stabilization services must be provided by a qualified staff person listed​
in section 256B.0624, subdivision 8, according to the scope of practice for the individual staff person's​
position.​

Subd. 5. Assessment and treatment planning. (a) Within 12 hours of a client's admission for residential​
crisis stabilization, the license holder must assess the client and document the client's immediate needs,​
including the client's:​

(1) health and safety, including the need for crisis assistance;​

(2) need for connection to family and other natural supports;​

(3) if applicable, housing and legal issues; and​

(4) if applicable, responsibilities for children, family, and other natural supports, and employers.​

(b) Within 24 hours of a client's admission for residential crisis stabilization, the license holder must​
complete a crisis treatment plan for the client, according to the requirements for a crisis treatment plan under​
section 256B.0624, subdivision 11. The license holder must base the client's crisis treatment plan on the​
client's referral information and the assessment of the client's immediate needs under paragraph (a). A mental​
health professional or a clinical trainee under the supervision of a mental health professional must complete​
the crisis treatment plan. A crisis treatment plan completed by a clinical trainee must contain documentation​
of approval, as defined in section 245I.02, subdivision 2, by a mental health professional within five business​
days of initial completion by the clinical trainee.​

(c) A mental health professional must review a client's crisis treatment plan each week and document​
the weekly reviews in the client's client file.​

(d) For a client receiving children's residential crisis stabilization services who is 18 years of age or​
older, the license holder must complete an individual abuse prevention plan for the client, pursuant to section​
245A.65, subdivision 2, as part of the client's crisis treatment plan.​

Subd. 6. Staffing requirements. Staff members of facilities providing services under this section must​
have access to a mental health professional or clinical trainee within 30 minutes, either in person or by​
telephone. The license holder must maintain a current schedule of available mental health professionals or​
clinical trainees and include contact information for each mental health professional or clinical trainee. The​
schedule must be readily available to all staff members.​

History: 2022 c 99 art 1 s 12​

JUVENILE FACILITIES LICENSING PROHIBITION​

245A.30 LICENSING PROHIBITION FOR CERTAIN FACILITIES SERVING CHILDREN.​

The commissioner may not:​

(1) issue any license under Minnesota Rules, parts 2960.0010 to 2960.0710, for the residential placement​
of children at a facility if the facility accepts children who reside outside of Minnesota without an agreement​
with the entity placing the child at the facility that obligates the entity to pay the educational and medical​
expenses of the child; or​

(2) renew a license under Minnesota Rules, parts 2960.0010 to 2960.0710, for the residential placement​
of children if the facility accepts children who reside outside of Minnesota without an agreement with the​
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entity placing the child at the facility that obligates the entity to pay the educational and medical expenses​
of the child.​

History: 1998 c 367 art 10 s 3; 1999 c 245 art 8 s 2; 2010 c 329 art 1 s 10​

245A.40 Subdivision 1. [Renumbered 142B.65, subdivision 1]​

Subd. 1a. [Renumbered 142B.65, subd 2]​

Subd. 2. [Renumbered 142B.65, subd 3]​

Subd. 3. [Renumbered 142B.65, subd 4]​

Subd. 4. [Renumbered 142B.65, subd 5]​

Subd. 5. [Renumbered 142B.65, subd 6]​

Subd. 5a. [Renumbered 142B.65, subd 7]​

Subd. 6. [Renumbered 142B.65, subd 8]​

Subd. 7. [Renumbered 142B.65, subd 9]​

Subd. 8. MS 2018 [Repealed by amendment, 1Sp2019 c 9 art 2 s 51]​

Subd. 9. MS 2018 [Repealed by amendment, 1Sp2019 c 9 art 2 s 51]​

Subd. 10. [Renumbered 142B.65, subd 10]​

245A.41 [Renumbered 142B.66]​

245A.42 [Renumbered 142B.67]​

245A.50 [Renumbered 142B.70]​

245A.51 [Renumbered 142B.71]​

245A.52 [Renumbered 142B.72]​

245A.53 [Renumbered 142B.74]​

VULNERABLE ADULTS​

245A.65 MALTREATMENT OF VULNERABLE ADULTS.​

Subdivision 1. License holder requirements. All license holders serving vulnerable adults shall establish​
and enforce written policies and procedures related to suspected or alleged maltreatment, and shall orient​
clients and mandated reporters who are under the control of the license holder to these procedures, as defined​
in section 626.5572, subdivision 16.​

(a) License holders must establish policies and procedures allowing but not mandating the internal​
reporting of alleged or suspected maltreatment. License holders shall ensure that the policies and procedures​
on internal reporting:​

(1) meet all the requirements identified for the optional internal reporting policies and procedures in​
section 626.557, subdivision 4a; and​

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota​
Revisor of Statutes​

245A.65​MINNESOTA STATUTES 2024​95​



(2) identify the primary and secondary person or position to whom internal reports may be made and​
the primary and secondary person or position responsible for forwarding internal reports to the common​
entry point as defined in section 626.5572, subdivision 5. The secondary person must be involved when​
there is reason to believe that the primary person was involved in the alleged or suspected maltreatment.​

(b) The license holder shall:​

(1) establish and maintain policies and procedures to ensure that an internal review is completed within​
30 calendar days and that corrective action is taken as necessary to protect the health and safety of vulnerable​
adults when the facility has reason to know that an internal or external report of alleged or suspected​
maltreatment has been made. The review must include an evaluation of whether related policies and procedures​
were followed, whether the policies and procedures were adequate, whether there is a need for additional​
staff training, whether the reported event is similar to past events with the vulnerable adults or the services​
involved, and whether there is a need for corrective action by the license holder to protect the health and​
safety of vulnerable adults. Based on the results of this review, the license holder must develop, document,​
and implement a corrective action plan designed to correct current lapses and prevent future lapses in​
performance by individuals or the license holder, if any;​

(2) identify the primary and secondary person or position who will ensure that, when required, internal​
reviews are completed. The secondary person shall be involved when there is reason to believe that the​
primary person was involved in the alleged or suspected maltreatment; and​

(3) document and make internal reviews accessible to the commissioner immediately upon the​
commissioner's request. For the purposes of this section, the documentation provided to the commissioner​
by the license holder may consist of a completed checklist that verifies completion of each of the requirements​
of the review.​

(c) The license holder shall provide an orientation to the internal and external reporting procedures to​
all persons receiving services. The orientation shall include the telephone number for the license holder's​
common entry point as defined in section 626.5572, subdivision 5. If applicable, the person's legal​
representative must be notified of the orientation. The program shall provide this orientation for each new​
person within 24 hours of admission, or for persons who would benefit more from a later orientation, the​
orientation may take place within 72 hours.​

(d) The license holder shall post a copy of the internal and external reporting policies and procedures,​
including the telephone number of the common entry point as defined in section 626.5572, subdivision 5,​
in a prominent location in the program and have it available upon request to mandated reporters, persons​
receiving services, and the person's legal representatives.​

Subd. 1a. Determination of vulnerable adult status. (a) A license holder that provides services to​
adults who are excluded from the definition of vulnerable adult under section 626.5572, subdivision 21,​
paragraph (a), clause (2), must determine whether the person is a vulnerable adult under section 626.5572,​
subdivision 21, paragraph (a), clause (4). This determination must be made within 24 hours of:​

(1) admission to the licensed program; and​

(2) any incident that:​

(i) was reported under section 626.557; or​

(ii) would have been required to be reported under section 626.557, if one or more of the adults involved​
in the incident had been vulnerable adults.​
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(b) Upon determining that a person receiving services is a vulnerable adult under section 626.5572,​
subdivision 21, paragraph (a), clause (4), all requirements relative to vulnerable adults under this chapter​
and section 626.557 must be met by the license holder.​

Subd. 2. Abuse prevention plans. All license holders shall establish and enforce ongoing written​
program abuse prevention plans and individual abuse prevention plans as required under section 626.557,​
subdivision 14.​

(a) The scope of the program abuse prevention plan is limited to the population, physical plant, and​
environment within the control of the license holder and the location where licensed services are provided.​
In addition to the requirements in section 626.557, subdivision 14, the program abuse prevention plan shall​
meet the requirements in clauses (1) to (5).​

(1) The assessment of the population shall include an evaluation of the following factors: age, gender,​
mental functioning, physical and emotional health or behavior of the client; the need for specialized programs​
of care for clients; the need for training of staff to meet identified individual needs; and the knowledge a​
license holder may have regarding previous abuse that is relevant to minimizing risk of abuse for clients.​

(2) The assessment of the physical plant where the licensed services are provided shall include an​
evaluation of the following factors: the condition and design of the building as it relates to the safety of the​
clients; and the existence of areas in the building which are difficult to supervise.​

(3) The assessment of the environment for each facility and for each site when living arrangements are​
provided by the agency shall include an evaluation of the following factors: the location of the program in​
a particular neighborhood or community; the type of grounds and terrain surrounding the building; the type​
of internal programming; and the program's staffing patterns.​

(4) The license holder shall provide an orientation to the program abuse prevention plan for clients​
receiving services. If applicable, the client's legal representative must be notified of the orientation. The​
license holder shall provide this orientation for each new person within 24 hours of admission, or for persons​
who would benefit more from a later orientation, the orientation may take place within 72 hours.​

(5) The license holder's governing body or the governing body's delegated representative shall review​
the plan at least annually using the assessment factors in the plan and any substantiated maltreatment findings​
that occurred since the last review. The governing body or the governing body's delegated representative​
shall revise the plan, if necessary, to reflect the review results.​

(6) A copy of the program abuse prevention plan shall be posted in a prominent location in the program​
and be available upon request to mandated reporters, persons receiving services, and legal representatives.​

(b) In addition to the requirements in section 626.557, subdivision 14, the individual abuse prevention​
plan shall meet the requirements in clauses (1) and (2).​

(1) The plan shall include a statement of measures that will be taken to minimize the risk of abuse to​
the vulnerable adult when the individual assessment required in section 626.557, subdivision 14, paragraph​
(b), indicates the need for measures in addition to the specific measures identified in the program abuse​
prevention plan. The measures shall include the specific actions the program will take to minimize the risk​
of abuse within the scope of the licensed services, and will identify referrals made when the vulnerable adult​
is susceptible to abuse outside the scope or control of the licensed services. When the assessment indicates​
that the vulnerable adult does not need specific risk reduction measures in addition to those identified in the​
program abuse prevention plan, the individual abuse prevention plan shall document this determination.​
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(2) An individual abuse prevention plan shall be developed for each new person as part of the initial​
individual program plan or service plan required under the applicable licensing rule or statute. The review​
and evaluation of the individual abuse prevention plan shall be done as part of the review of the program​
plan, service plan, or treatment plan. The person receiving services shall participate in the development of​
the individual abuse prevention plan to the full extent of the person's abilities. If applicable, the person's​
legal representative shall be given the opportunity to participate with or for the person in the development​
of the plan. The interdisciplinary team shall document the review of all abuse prevention plans at least​
annually, using the individual assessment and any reports of abuse relating to the person. The plan shall be​
revised to reflect the results of this review.​

Subd. 3. Orientation of mandated reporters. The license holder shall ensure that each new mandated​
reporter, as defined in section 626.5572, subdivision 16, who is under the control of the license holder,​
receives an orientation within 72 hours of first providing direct contact services as defined in section 245C.02,​
subdivision 11, to a vulnerable adult and annually thereafter. The orientation and annual review shall inform​
the mandated reporters of the reporting requirements and definitions in sections 626.557 and 626.5572, the​
requirements of this section, the license holder's program abuse prevention plan, and all internal policies​
and procedures related to the prevention and reporting of maltreatment of individuals receiving services.​

History: 1997 c 248 s 34; 2003 c 15 art 1 s 33; 2007 c 112 s 23,24; 2014 c 228 art 2 s 15; 2015 c 71​
art 7 s 7; 2021 c 30 art 17 s 48​

245A.655 [Repealed, 2013 c 108 art 2 s 45]​

MALTREATMENT OF MINORS​

245A.66 REQUIREMENTS; MALTREATMENT OF MINORS.​

Subdivision 1. Internal review. License holders serving children are subject to the requirements of​
section 142B.54, subdivision 1.​

Subd. 2. [Renumbered 142B.54, subd 2]​

Subd. 3. [Renumbered 142B.54, subd 3]​

Subd. 4. Ongoing training requirement. (a) In addition to the orientation training required by the​
applicable licensing rules and statutes, children's residential facility license holders must provide a training​
annually on the maltreatment of minors reporting requirements and definitions in chapter 260E to each​
mandatory reporter, as described in section 260E.06, subdivision 1.​

(b) In addition to the orientation training required by the applicable licensing rules and statutes, all foster​
residence setting staff and volunteers that are mandatory reporters as described in section 260E.06, subdivision​
1, must complete training each year on the maltreatment of minors reporting requirements and definitions​
in chapter 260E.​

History: 2007 c 112 s 25; 2010 c 329 art 1 s 12; 2012 c 216 art 16 s 14,15; 2014 c 228 art 2 s 16;​
1Sp2019 c 9 art 2 s 59,60; 2023 c 70 art 8 s 36; 2024 c 80 art 2 s 72,73; 2024 c 115 art 16 s 13; art 19 s 9​

245A.70 REMOTE ADULT DAY SERVICES.​

(a) For the purposes of sections 245A.70 to 245A.75, the following terms have the meanings given.​
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(b) "Adult day care" and "adult day services" have the meanings given in section 245A.02, subdivision​
2a.​

(c) "Remote adult day services" means an individualized and coordinated set of services provided via​
live two-way communication by an adult day care or adult day services center.​

(d) "Live two-way communication" means real-time audio or audio and video transmission of information​
between a participant and an actively involved staff member.​

History: 2022 c 98 art 7 s 2​

245A.71 APPLICABILITY AND SCOPE.​

Subdivision 1. Licensing requirements. Adult day care centers or adult day services centers that provide​
remote adult day services must be licensed under this chapter and comply with the requirements set forth​
in this section.​

Subd. 2. Standards for licensure. License holders seeking to provide remote adult day services must​
submit a request in the manner prescribed by the commissioner. Remote adult day services must not be​
delivered until approved by the commissioner. The designation to provide remote services is voluntary for​
license holders. Upon approval, the designation of approval for remote adult day services must be printed​
on the center's license and identified on the commissioner's public website.​

Subd. 3. Federal requirements. Adult day care centers or adult day services centers that provide remote​
adult day services to participants receiving alternative care under section 256B.0913, essential community​
supports under section 256B.0922, or home and community-based services waivers under chapter 256S or​
section 256B.092 or 256B.49 must comply with federally approved waiver plans.​

Subd. 4. Service limitations. Remote adult day services must be provided during the days and hours of​
in-person services specified on the license of the adult day care center or adult day services center.​

History: 2022 c 98 art 7 s 3​

245A.72 RECORD REQUIREMENTS.​

Adult day care centers and adult day services centers providing remote adult day services must comply​
with participant record requirements set forth in Minnesota Rules, part 9555.9660. The center must document​
how remote services will help a participant reach the short- and long-term objectives in the participant's plan​
of care.​

History: 2022 c 98 art 7 s 4​

245A.73 REMOTE ADULT DAY SERVICES STAFF.​

Subdivision 1. Staff ratios. (a) A staff person who provides remote adult day services without two-way​
interactive video must only provide services to one participant at a time.​

(b) A staff person who provides remote adult day services through two-way interactive video must not​
provide services to more than eight participants at one time.​

Subd. 2. Staff training. A center licensed under section 245A.71 must document training provided to​
each staff person regarding the provision of remote services in the staff person's record. The training must​
be provided prior to a staff person delivering remote adult day services without supervision. The training​
must include:​
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(1) how to use the equipment, technology, and devices required to provide remote adult day services​
via live two-way communication;​

(2) orientation and training on each participant's plan of care as directly related to remote adult day​
services; and​

(3) direct observation by a manager or supervisor of the staff person while providing supervised remote​
service delivery sufficient to assess staff competency.​

History: 2022 c 98 art 7 s 5​

245A.74 INDIVIDUAL SERVICE PLANNING.​

Subdivision 1. Eligibility. (a) A person must be eligible for and receiving in-person adult day services​
to receive remote adult day services from the same provider. The same provider must deliver both in-person​
adult day services and remote adult day services to a participant.​

(b) The license holder must update the participant's plan of care according to Minnesota Rules, part​
9555.9700.​

(c) For a participant who chooses to receive remote adult day services, the license holder must document​
in the participant's plan of care the participant's proposed schedule and frequency for receiving both in-person​
and remote services. The license holder must also document in the participant's plan of care that remote​
services:​

(1) are chosen as a service delivery method by the participant or the participant's legal representative;​

(2) will meet the participant's assessed needs;​

(3) are provided within the scope of adult day services; and​

(4) will help the participant achieve identified short- and long-term objectives specific to the provision​
of remote adult day services.​

Subd. 2. Participant daily service limitations. In a 24-hour period, a participant may receive:​

(1) a combination of in-person adult day services and remote adult day services on the same day but not​
at the same time;​

(2) a combination of in-person and remote adult day services that does not exceed 12 hours in total; and​

(3) up to six hours of remote adult day services.​

Subd. 3. Minimum in-person requirement. A participant who receives remote services must receive​
services in-person as assigned in the participant's plan of care at least quarterly.​

History: 2022 c 98 art 7 s 6​

245A.75 SERVICE AND PROGRAM REQUIREMENTS.​

Remote adult day services must be in the scope of adult day services provided in Minnesota Rules, part​
9555.9710, subparts 3 to 7.​

History: 2022 c 98 art 7 s 7​
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