A person with actual knowledge that a regulated person has been diagnosed as infected with HIV, HBV, or HCV may file a report with the commissioner.
A regulated person who is diagnosed as infected with HIV, HBV, or HCV shall report that information to the commissioner promptly, and as soon as medically necessary for disease control purposes but no more than 30 days after learning of the diagnosis or 30 days after becoming licensed or registered by the state.
A person or institution required to report HIV, HBV, or HCV status to the commissioner under Minnesota Rules, parts 4605.7030, subparts 1 to 4 and 6, and 4605.7040, shall, at the same time, notify the commissioner if the person or institution knows that the reported person is a regulated person.
A regulated person shall, within ten days, report to the appropriate board personal knowledge of a serious failure or a pattern of failure by another regulated person to comply with accepted and prevailing infection control procedures related to the prevention of HIV, HBV, and HCV transmission. In lieu of reporting to the board, the regulated person may make the report to a designated official of the hospital, nursing home, clinic, or other institution or agency where the failure to comply with accepted and prevailing infection control procedures occurred. The designated official shall report to the appropriate board within 30 days of receiving a report under this subdivision. The report shall include specific information about the response by the institution or agency to the report. A regulated person shall not be discharged or discriminated against for filing a complaint in good faith under this subdivision.
A person is immune from civil liability or criminal prosecution for submitting a report in good faith to the commissioner or to a board under this section.
Copyright © 2017 by the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All rights reserved.