
150A.091 FEES.​

Subdivision 1. Fee refunds. No fee may be refunded for any reason.​

Subd. 2. Application and initial license or registration fees. Each applicant shall submit with a license,​
advanced dental therapist certificate, or permit application a nonrefundable fee in the following amounts in​
order to administratively process an application:​

(1) dentist, $308;​

(2) full faculty dentist, $308;​

(3) limited faculty dentist, $140;​

(4) resident dentist or dental provider, $55;​

(5) advanced dental therapist, $100;​

(6) dental therapist, $220;​

(7) dental hygienist, $115;​

(8) licensed dental assistant, $115;​

(9) dental assistant with registration as described in Minnesota Rules, part 3100.8500, subpart 3, $27;​
and​

(10) guest license, $50.​

Subd. 3. MS 2020 [Repealed, 2022 c 98 art 3 s 26]​

Subd. 4. Annual license renewal fees. Each limited faculty or resident dentist shall submit with an​
annual license renewal application a fee established by the board not to exceed the following amounts:​

(1) limited faculty dentist, $168; and​

(2) resident dentist or dental provider, $85.​

Subd. 5. Biennial license or registration renewal fees. Each of the following applicants shall submit​
with a biennial license or permit renewal application a fee as established by the board, not to exceed the​
following amounts:​

(1) dentist or full faculty dentist, $475;​

(2) dental therapist, $300;​

(3) dental hygienist, $200;​

(4) licensed dental assistant, $150; and​

(5) dental assistant with a registration as described in Minnesota Rules, part 3100.8500, subpart 3, $24.​

Subd. 6. Annual license late fee. Applications for renewal of any license received after the time specified​
in Minnesota Rules, part 3100.1750, must be assessed a late fee equal to 50 percent of the annual renewal​
fee.​

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota​
Revisor of Statutes​

150A.091​MINNESOTA STATUTES 2023​1​



Subd. 7. Biennial license or permit late fee. Applications for renewal of any license or permit received​
after the time specified in Minnesota Rules, part 3100.1700, must be assessed a late fee equal to 25 percent​
of the biennial renewal fee.​

Subd. 8. Duplicate license or certificate fee. Each applicant shall submit, with a request for issuance​
of a duplicate of the original license, or of an annual or biennial renewal certificate for a license or permit,​
a fee in the following amounts:​

(1) original dentist, full faculty dentist, dental therapist, dental hygiene, or dental assistant license, $35;​
and​

(2) annual or biennial renewal certificates, $10.​

Subd. 9. Licensure by credentials. Each applicant for licensure as a dentist, dental hygienist, or dental​
assistant by credentials pursuant to section 150A.06, subdivisions 4 and 8, and Minnesota Rules, part​
3100.1400, shall submit with the license application a fee in the following amounts:​

(1) dentist, $893;​

(2) dental hygienist, $235;​

(3) dental assistant, $71; and​

(4) dental therapist, $340.​

Subd. 9a. Credential review; nonaccredited dental institution. Applicants who have graduated from​
a nonaccredited dental college desiring licensure as a dentist pursuant to section 150A.06, subdivision 1,​
shall submit an application for credential review and an application fee not to exceed the amount of $200.​

Subd. 9b. Limited general license. Each applicant for licensure as a limited general dentist pursuant to​
section 150A.06, subdivision 9, shall submit the applicable fees established by the board not to exceed the​
following amounts:​

(1) initial limited general license application, $140;​

(2) annual limited general license renewal application, $155; and​

(3) late fee assessment for renewal application equal to 50 percent of the annual limited general license​
renewal fee.​

Subd. 9c. Temporary permit. Applications for a temporary military permit in accordance with section​
197.4552 shall submit a fee not to exceed the amount of $250.​

Subd. 10. Reinstatement fee. No dentist, dental therapist, dental hygienist, or dental assistant whose​
license has been suspended or revoked may have the license reinstated or a new license issued until a fee​
has been submitted to the board in the following amounts:​

(1) dentist, $140;​

(2) dental therapist, $85;​

(3) dental hygienist, $55; and​

(4) dental assistant, $35.​
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Subd. 11. Certificate application fee for anesthesia/sedation. Each dentist shall submit with a general​
anesthesia or moderate sedation application, a contracted sedation provider application, or biennial renewal,​
a fee as established by the board not to exceed the following amounts:​

(1) for both a general anesthesia and moderate sedation application, $400;​

(2) for a general anesthesia application only, $400;​

(3) for a moderate sedation application only, $400; and​

(4) for a contracted sedation provider application, $400.​

Subd. 11a. Certificate for anesthesia/sedation late fee. Applications for renewal of a general anesthesia​
or moderate sedation certificate or a contracted sedation provider certificate received after the time specified​
in Minnesota Rules, part 3100.3600, subparts 9 and 9b, must be assessed a late fee equal to 50 percent of​
the biennial renewal fee for an anesthesia/sedation certificate.​

Subd. 11b. Recertification fee for anesthesia/sedation. No dentist whose general anesthesia or moderate​
sedation certificate has been terminated by the board or voluntarily terminated by the dentist may become​
recertified until a fee has been submitted to the board not to exceed the amount of $500.​

Subd. 12. Duplicate certificate fee for anesthesia/sedation. Each dentist shall submit with a request​
for issuance of a duplicate of the original general anesthesia or moderate sedation certificate or contracted​
sedation provider certificate a fee in the amount of $10.​

Subd. 13. On-site inspection fee. An on-site inspection fee must be paid to the individual, organization,​
or agency conducting the inspection and be limited to a maximum fee as determined by the board. Travel,​
lodging, and other expenses are not part of the on-site inspection fee.​

Subd. 14. Affidavit of licensure. Each licensee shall submit with a request for an affidavit of licensure​
a fee in the amount of $10.​

Subd. 15. MS 2020 [Repealed, 2022 c 98 art 3 s 26]​

Subd. 16. Failure of professional development portfolio audit. (a) If a licensee fails a professional​
development portfolio audit under Minnesota Rules, part 3100.5300, the board is authorized to take the​
following actions:​

(1) for the first failure, the board may issue a warning to the licensee;​

(2) for the second failure within ten years, the board may assess a penalty of not more than $250; and​

(3) for any additional failures within the ten-year period, the board may assess a penalty of not more​
than $1,000.​

(b) In addition to the penalty fee, the board may initiate the complaint process to address multiple failed​
audits.​

Subd. 17. MS 2020 [Repealed, 2022 c 98 art 3 s 26]​

Subd. 18. Corporation or professional firm late fee. Any corporation or professional firm whose​
annual fee is not postmarked or otherwise received by the board by the due date of December 31 shall, in​
addition to the fee, submit a late fee as established by the board, not to exceed $15.​
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Subd. 19. Emeritus inactive license. An individual applying for emeritus inactive licensure under​
section 150A.06, subdivision 10, must pay a onetime fee of $50. There is no renewal fee for an emeritus​
inactive license.​

Subd. 20. Emeritus active license. An individual applying for emeritus active licensure under section​
150A.06, subdivision 11, must pay a fee upon application and upon renewal every two years. The fees for​
emeritus active license application and renewal are as follows: dentist, $212; dental therapist, $100; dental​
hygienist, $75; and dental assistant, $55.​

Subd. 21. Failure to practice with a current license. (a) If a licensee practices without a current license​
and pursues reinstatement, the board may take the following administrative actions based on the length of​
time practicing without a current license:​

(1) for under one month, the board may not assess a penalty fee;​

(2) for one month to six months, the board may assess a penalty of $250;​

(3) for over six months, the board may assess a penalty of $500; and​

(4) for over 12 months, the board may assess a penalty of $1,000.​

(b) In addition to the penalty fee, the board shall initiate the complaint process against the licensee for​
failure to practice with a current license for over 12 months.​

Subd. 22. Delegating regulated procedures to an individual with a terminated license. (a) If a dentist​
or dental therapist delegates regulated procedures to another dental professional who had their license​
terminated, the board may take the following administrative actions against the delegating dentist or dental​
therapist based on the length of time they delegated regulated procedures:​

(1) for under one month, the board may not assess a penalty fee;​

(2) for one month to six months, the board may assess a penalty of $100;​

(3) for over six months, the board may assess a penalty of $250; and​

(4) for over 12 months, the board may assess a penalty of $500.​

(b) In addition to the penalty fee, the board shall initiate the complaint process against a dentist or dental​
therapist who delegated regulated procedures to a dental professional with a terminated license for over 12​
months.​

Subd. 23. Mailing list services. Each licensee must submit a nonrefundable $5 fee to request a mailing​
address list.​

History: 2005 c 147 art 4 s 3; 2009 c 95 art 3 s 15-19; 2009 c 159 s 60-74; 1Sp2011 c 9 art 5 s 11-16;​
2014 c 291 art 4 s 37-39; 2014 c 312 art 4 s 14; 2015 c 71 art 10 s 20-24; 1Sp2019 c 9 art 10 s 22,23; 2022​
c 98 art 3 s 12-17; 2023 c 70 art 6 s 20​
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