Minnesota Office of the Revisor of Statutes
[*Add Subtitle/link: Office]

Menu

Revisor of Statutes Menu

Pdf

2011 Minnesota Statutes

This is a historical version of this statute section. Also view the most recent published version.

62A.14 DISABLED CHILDREN.

Subdivision 1.Individual family policies.

An individual hospital or medical expense insurance policy delivered or issued for delivery in this state more than 120 days after May 16, 1969, or an individual health maintenance contract delivered or issued for delivery in this state after August 1, 1984, which provides that coverage of a dependent child shall terminate upon attainment of the limiting age for dependent children specified in the policy or contract shall also provide in substance that attainment of such limiting age shall not operate to terminate the coverage of such child while the child is and continues to be both (a) incapable of self-sustaining employment by reason of developmental disability, mental illness or disorder, or physical disability and (b) chiefly dependent upon the policyholder for support and maintenance, provided proof of such incapacity and dependency is furnished to the insurer or health maintenance organization by the policyholder or enrollee within 31 days of the child's attainment of the limiting age and subsequently as may be required by the insurer or organization but not more frequently than annually after the two-year period following the child's attainment of the limiting age. Any notice regarding termination of coverage due to attainment of the limiting age must include all the information in this section.

Subd. 2.Group policies.

A group hospital or medical expense insurance policy delivered or issued for delivery in this state more than 120 days after May 16, 1969, or a group health maintenance contract delivered or issued for delivery in this state after August 1, 1984, which provides that coverage of a dependent child of an employee or other member of the covered group shall terminate upon attainment of the limiting age for dependent children specified in the policy or contract shall also provide in substance that attainment of such limiting age shall not operate to terminate the coverage of such child while the child is and continues to be both (a) incapable of self-sustaining employment by reason of developmental disability, mental illness or disorder, or physical disability and (b) chiefly dependent upon the employee or member for support and maintenance, provided proof of such incapacity and dependency is furnished to the insurer or organization by the employee or member within 31 days of the child's attainment of the limiting age and subsequently as may be required by the insurer or organization but not more frequently than annually after the two-year period following the child's attainment of the limiting age. Any notice regarding termination of coverage due to attainment of the limiting age must include information about this provision.

700 State Office Building, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55155 ♦ Phone: (651) 296-2868 ♦ TTY: 1-800-627-3529 ♦ Fax: (651) 296-0569