MN Legislature


Revisor of Statutes Menu



2016 Minnesota Statutes

This is a historical version of this statute chapter. Also view the most recent published version.


Upon submission of an application for placement of general liability insurance coverage under section 62I.13 in a class of business for which the Joint Underwriting Association is not then activated, where the applicant has been refused coverage within the meaning of section 62I.13, subdivision 2, the commissioner may by notice in the State Register activate the Joint Underwriting Association on Minnesota risks for the class of business. The association is activated for a period of 180 days from publication of the notice. At the same time the notice is published, the commissioner shall prepare a written petition requesting that a hearing be held to determine whether activation of the Joint Underwriting Association is necessary beyond the 180-day period. The hearing must be held in accordance with section 62I.22. The commissioner by order shall deactivate the Joint Underwriting Association at any time the commissioner finds that the Joint Underwriting Association is not necessary.

700 State Office Building, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55155 ♦ Phone: (651) 296-2868 ♦ TTY: 1-800-627-3529 ♦ Fax: (651) 296-0569