## **CHANGES**

-IN THE-

## General Statutes of 1878,

EFFECTED BY THE

GENERAL LAWS OF 1879 AND 1881,

Arranged with reference to the Chapter and Section Amended.

SAINT PAUL: WEST PUBLISHING COMPANY. 8 STATUTES. [CHAP.

S7. The thirty-seventh district shall be composed of the counties of Lac qui Parle, Swift, and Chippewa, and shall be entitled to elect one (1) senator and two (2) representatives.

38. The thirty-eighth district shall be composed of the counties of Chisago. Kanabec, and Pine, and shall be entitled to elect one (1) senator and one (1) repre-

sentative.

39. The thirty-ninth district shall be composed of the counties of Crow Wing, Benton, Morrison, Todd, and Mille Lacs, and shall be entitled to elect one (1) senator and three (3) representatives.

40. The fortieth district shall be composed of the county of Stearns, and shall be entitled to elect one (1) senator and four (4) representatives. Representative

districts divided as follows:

The city of St. Cloud, towns of Brockway, Le Sauk, St. Cloud, St. Augusta, Lyndon, and Fairhaven shall be entitled to elect one representative.

The towns of Maine Prairie, Rockville, Luxemberg, Eden Lake, Paynesville, Zion, Lake Henry, and Crow River shall be entitled to elect one (1) representative.

The towns of Holding, Krain, Milwood, Oak, Albany, Avon, St. Windel, St. Joseph, Collegeville, Farming, St. Martin, Munson, and Wakefield shall be entitled to elect one (1) representative.

The towns of Ashley, Sauk Centre, Melrose, Grove, Getty, Raymond, North Fork, Lake George, Spring Hill, and Crow Lake shall be entitled to elect one (1) repre-

sentative.

41. The forty-first district shall be composed of the counties of Pope and Doug-

las, and shall be entitled to elect one (1) senator and two (2) representatives.

Representative districts divided as follows: The county of Pope shall be entitled to elect one (1) representative, and the county of Douglas shall be entitled to elect one (1) representative.

42. The forty-second district shall be composed of the counties of Big Stone, Grant, Stevens, and Traverse, and shall be entitled to elect one (1) senator and one

(1) representative.

43. The forty-third district shall be composed of the county of Otter Tail, and

shall be entitled to elect one (1) senator and two (2) representatives.

44. The forty-fourth district shall be composed of the counties of Wilkin, Clay, and Becker, and shall be entitled to elect one (1) senator and one (1) representative.

45. The forty-fifth district shall be composed of the counties of Polk, Kittson, Marshall, and Beltrami, and shall be entitled to elect one (1) senator and one (1) representative.

46. The forty-sixth district shall be composed of the counties of Carlton, St. Louis, Wadena, Cook, Lake, Itasca, Cass, and Aitkin, and shall be entitled to elect

one (1) senator and one (1) representative.

47. The forty-seventh district shall be composed of the county of Renville, and shall be entitled to elect one (1) senator and one (1) representative. (Id. § 2.)

\*§ 3. That in the event of any change in the county and township lines affecting the districts provided in section two (2) of this act, the senatorial and representative districts shall not be affected thereby. (Id. § 3.)

See page 62.

## CHAPTER IV.

## STATUTES.

\*§ 1. Rules for construing statutes.

*Nineteenth.* When the words "railroad" or "railroads" are used in any general or special law of this state, the same shall be deemed to apply alike to all railroads, without reference to the gauge thereof.  $(1879, c. 79, \S 1.)$ 

See page 71.