Nineteen Hundred Thirty-One Supplement

to

Mason's Minnesota Statutes

(1927 thru 1931)

Containing the text of the acts of the 1929 and 1931 Sessions of the Legislature, both new and amendatory, and notes showing repeals, together with annotations from the various courts, state and federal, construing the constitution, statutes, charters and court rules of Minnesota



Edited by WILLIAM H. MASON, Editor-in-Chief W. H. MASON, JR., Assistant Editor

CITER-DIGEST CO. ST. PAUL, MINNESOTA 1931

thony, excluding the territory which was formerly part of the village of Richfield and has heretofore been annexed to said city, shall constitute the tenth congressional district. (As amended Mar. 9, 1929, c. 64, §2.)

This section is superseded by the apportionment act filed Apr. 27, 1931, after veto by the governor, if that act is held to be valid.

§23 1/2. Congressional Districts.

The governor, having vetoed a congressional apportionment bill, the House of Representatives passed a resolution (Laws 1931, p. 640) directing the Chief Clerk of the House to file the bill with the Secretary of State. House File 1456. The apportionment bill is as follows:

Section 1. The State of Minnesota is hereby divided into nine Congressional districts, each of which is entitled to elect one representative to the Congress of the United States.

Sec. 2. The Counties of Houston, Fillmore, Winona, Wabasha, Olmsted, Mower, Dodge, Freeborn, Waseca, and Steele shall constitute the First Congressional District.

Sec. 3. The Counties of Blue Earth, Faribault, Martin, Watonwan, Brown, Cottonwood, Jackson, Nobles, Rock, Pipestone, Murray, Redwood, Lyon and Lincoln shall constitute the Second Congressional District.

Sec. 4. The Counties of Washington, Mc-Leod, Sibley, Nicollet, LeSueur, Carver, Scott, Rice, Dakota, Goodhue, and the Fourth ward of the City of Minneapolis and the villages of Deephaven, Edina, Excelsior, Long Lake, Minnetonka Beach, St. Bonifacius, Island Park, Richfield, St. Louis Park, Tonka Bay, Wayzata, Hopkins, Maple Plain, Morningside, Mound, and the towns of Bloomington, Eden Prairie, Excelsior, Independence, Minnetonka, Minnetrista and Orono in Hennepin County shall constitute the Third Congressional District.

Sec. 5. The County of Ramsey shall constitute the Fourth Congressional District.

Sec. 6. The town of St. Anthony in Hennépin County and the City of Minneapolis, except the Third, Fourth and Tenth wards thereof, shall constitute the Fifth Congressional District.

Sec. 7. The Counties of Anoka, Benton, Sherburne, Stearns, Morrison, Mille Lacs, Isanti, Chisago, Kanabec, Pine, Aitkin, Crow Wing, Cass, Todd, Hubbard and Wadena shall constitute the Sixth Congressional District.

Sec. 8. The Counties of Grant, Douglas, Traverse, Stevens, Pope, Big Stone, Swift, Lac qui Parle, Chippewa, Yellow Medicine, Renville, Kandiyohi, Meeker, Wright and the Villages of Dayton, Golden Valley, Hanover, Osseo, Rogers, Crystal, Robbinsdale, Brooklyn Center, that part of the Village of Rockford in Hennepin County, and the towns of Brooklyn, Champlin, Corcoran, Dayton, Greenwood, Hassan, Maple Grove, Medina and Plymouth in the County of Hennepin and the Third and Tenth wards of the City of Minneapolis, shall constitute the Seventh Congressional District.

Sec. 9. The Counties of Koochiching, Itasca, Carlton, St. Louis, Lake and Cook shall constitute the Eighth Congressional District

Sec. 10. The Counties of Otter Tail, Wilkin, Clay, Becker, Mahnomen, Norman, Polk, Marshall, Red Lake, Pennington, Kittson, Roseau, Clearwater, Beltrami, and Lake of the Woods, shall constitute the Ninth Congressional District.

Sec. 11. All acts and parts of acts inconsistent herewith are hereby repealed.

Sec. 12. This act shall take effect and be in force from and after its passage.

Filed April 27, 1931.

CHAPTER 2½

Capitol Buildings and Grounds

§23-1. Central mailing station established in Capitol.—Upon the erection of a state office building the Commission of Administration and Finance shall cause to be established a central mailing station in the State Capitol, or in such office building, under the direct supervision of the custodian of State Capitol buildings. (Act Apr. 24, 1929, c. 350, §1.)

§23-2. Mail to be delivered unstamped.—All official mail of any state department or other state agency occupying quarters either in the State Capitol, or in adjoining state buildings, shall be delivered unstamped to the central mailing station. Account shall be kept of the postage required on such mail, which shall be a proper charge against the department or agency delivering such mail. (Act Apr. 24, 1929, c. 350, §2.)

§23-3. Custodian to make use of labor saving devices.—In the handling of mail at the central mailing station the custodian shall make use of labor saving devices and machines when it is found economical to do so. (Act Apr. 24, 1929, c. 350, §3.)

§23-4. Department to advance money for expenses.—To provide funds for the payment of postage each department or agency shall make advance payments from time to time to the custodian sufficient to cover its postage obligations for at least thirty days. (Act Apr. 24, 1929, c. 350, §4.)

§23-5. Billboards prohibited adjacent to Capitol.—No advertising billboards shall be erected or maintained on any lands adjoining the state capitol grounds, or within the distance of one-eighth of a mile from the center of the capitol building, except it be a billboard advertising a business conducted on the premises on which it is erected or maintained. (Act Apr. 26, 1929, c. 389, §1.)

§23-6. Same; penalty.—Any person who shall violate the provisions of this act shall be guilty of a misdemeanor. (Act Apr. 26, 1929, c. 389, §2.)

Laws 1929, c. 401, authorizes St. Paul Camp No. 1, Sons of Veterans, to erect statue of Abraham Lincoln on capitol grounds.