GENERAL STATUTES

OF THE

STATE OF MINNESOTA,

As Amended by Subsequent Legislation.

PREPARED BY

GEORGE B. YOUNG.

EDITED AND PUBLISHED UNDER THE AUTHORITY OF CHAPTER 67 OF THE LAWS
OF 1878, AND CHAPTER 67 OF THE LAWS OF 1879.

FOURTH EDITION.

WITH SUPPLEMENTS.

CONTAINING ALL THE GENERAL LAWS IN FORCE UP TO THE END OF THE LEGISLATIVE SESSION OF 1883.

> SAINT PAUL: WEST PUBLISHING COMPANY. 1883.

either of said acts, shall be punished for each and every offence by imprisonment in the state prison for not less than one year. All intentional false swearing before said board of registration shall be deemed wilful and corrupt perjury, and, on conviction, punished as such. If any member or officer of said board shall wilfully violate any of the provisions of this act, or be guilty of any fraud in the execution of the duties of his office, he shall be punished for each and every offence by imprisonment in the state prison for not less than one year. (1878, c. 84, § 39.)

*§ 116. Blanks to be furnished by secretary of state. The necessary blanks for making the

registers required by law shall be prepared by the secretary of state, and transmitted to the persons entitled to receive them, in the same manner that blank returns of election are now transmitted. (Id. § 40.)

CHAPTER II.

CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICTS.

SECTION.
1. Number of districts.
2. Counties in first district.

SECTION 3. Counties in second district.
4. Counties in third district.

*§ 1 Three congressional districts. The state of Minnesota is hereby divided into three congressional districts, each of which is entitled to elect one representative to

the congress of the United States. (1872, c. 21, § 1.)

*§ 2 First district. The counties of Winona, Houston, Olmsted, Fillmore, Dodge, §
Steele, Mower, Freeborn, Waseca, Faribault, Blue Earth, Watonwan, Martin, §

Jackson, Cottonwood, Murray, Nobles, Pipestone and Rock, shall constitute the first congressional district. (Id. § 2.)

*§ 3 Second district. The counties of Wabasha, Goodhue, Rice, Dakota, Scott, Leg.
Sueur, Nicollet, Brown, Sibley, Carver, McLeod, Renville, Redwood, Lyon, St. Swift, Chippewa and Kandiyohi shall constitute the second congressional dis-

trict. (Id. § 3.)
*§ 4. Third district. All that part of the state not included in the first and second districts, as described in sections one and two of this act, shall constitute the third

congressional district. (Id. §4.)