Nineteen Hundred Thirty-One Supplement

to

Mason's Minnesota Statutes

(1927 thru 1931)

Containing the text of the acts of the 1929 and 1931 Sessions of the Legislature, both new and amendatory, and notes showing repeals, together with annotations from the various courts, state and federal, construing the constitution, statutes, charters and court rules of Minnesota



Edited by WILLIAM H. MASON, Editor-in-Chief W. H. MASON, JR., Assistant Editor

CITER-DIGEST CO. ST. PAUL, MINNESOTA 1931

Mason's Minnesota Statutes

Part I. Jurisdiction, Divisions, Civil Polity and Internal Administration

CHAPTER 1

Sovereignty and Jurisdiction

§1. Extent.

Fishing in the waters of Rainy Lake on the Minnesota side of the boundary line established by joint action of the governments of the United States and Canada is under the control of this state, until the International Fisheries Commission provided for by the Root-Bryce Treaty functions and assumes control. State v. Dove, 236NW322(2); 49F(2d)816. See Dun. Dig. 6933.

§6-2. Same—Jurisdiction, etc.

Summons served under this section on army officer who was resident of Iowa while such officer was at training camp on military reservation in Minnesota, held not void, but voidable only. N. W. Casualty Co. v. C., 230NW548 (Iowa).

CHAPTER 2 Territorial Divisions

LEGISLATIVE DISTRICTS

§9. Boundaries of Legislative Districts.

Thirty-second District

The thirty-second district shall be composed of the eleventh and twelfth wards of the city of Minneapolis, including that portion of said twelfth ward which was formerly a part of the village of Richfield and has heretofore been annexed to said city, and shall be entitled to elect one senator and two representatives. (As amended Mar. 9, 1929, c. 65, §1.)

Thirty-third District

The thirty-third district shall be composed of the seventh and thirteenth wards of the city of Minneapolis, including those portions of said wards, respectively, which were for-merly part of the village of Richfield and have heretofore been annexed to said city, and shall be entitled to elect one senator and two representatives. (As amended Mar. 9, 1929, c. 65, §2.)

Thirty-sixth District

The thirty-sixth district shall be composed of the county of Henepin, outside of the city of Minneapolis, except the town of St. Anthony, excluding the territory which was formerly part of the village of Richfield and has heretofore been annexed to said city, and shall be entitled to elect one senator and two representatives.

The representative districts shall be divided as follows:

The villages of Dayton, Golden Valley, Hanover, Osseo and Robbinsdale, and the towns of Brooklyn, Champlin, Corcoran, Crystal Lake, Dayton, Greenwood, Hassan, Maple Grove, Medina and Plymouth shall constitute one district and shall be entitled to elect one representative.

The villages of Deephaven, Edina, Excelsior, Long Lake, Minnetonka Beach, St. Bonifacius, Richfield, St. Louis Park, Tonka Bay, Wayzata and West Minneapolis, and the towns of Bloomington, Eden Prairie, Excelsior, Independence, Minnetonka, Minnetrista and Orono, excluding the territory which was formerly part of the village of Richfield and has heretofore been annexed to the city of Minneapolis, shall constitute one district and shall be entitled to elect one representative. (As amended Mar. 9, 1929, c. 65, §3.)

JUDICIAL DISTRICTS

§11. Boundaries and judges.

Judges increased to four by Laws 1931, c. 104.

CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICTS

§18. Fifth.—The first, second, fifth, sixth, seventh, eighth, ninth, eleventh, twelfth and thirteenth wards of the city of Minneapolis, including the territory which was formerly a part of the village of Richfield and has heretofore been annexed to said city, and the town of St. Anthony in the county of Hennepin shall constitute the fifth congressional district. (As amended Mar. 9, 1929, c. 64, §1.)

This section is superseded by the apportionment act filed Apr. 27, 1931, following its veto by the governor, if that act is held to be valid.

§23. Tenth.—The counties of Pine, Chisago, Kanabec, Mille Lacs, Isanti, Anoka and Wright, and the third, fourth, and tenth wards of the city of Minneapolis, and all of the county of Hennepin outside of the city of Minneapolis except the town of St. An-