CHANGES

IN THE

General Statutes of 1878,

OF THE

STATE OF MINNESOTA,

EFFECTED BY THE GENERAL LAWS OF THE EXTRA SESSION OF 1881, AND THE REGULAR SESSION OF 1883.

Arranged with reference to the Chapter and Section Amended.

SAINT PAUL: WEST PUBLISHING COMPANY. 1883.

MINNESOTA STATUTES 1883 SUPPLEMENT

GENERAL STATUTES.

CHAPTER I.

ELECTIONS.

Change the word "twenty-fifth," in line 15 of § 34, (sec. 31,) p. 44, to "twentyeighth." (1883, c. 34, § 1.)

ELECTIONS IN CITIES OF OVER 12,000 INHABITANTS.

Add to *§ 106:

The said board shall again meet on the Friday and on the Saturday next preceding any general or special election to be held on Tuesday, and on the two days next preceding the day before any special election to be held on any other day in the week, (not counting Sunday in any case,) in their respective election districts, at the place designated for holding the polls of the election, for the purpose of further revising and correcting said lists and of finally completing the same, and for this purpose they shall meet at twelve o'clock noon and remain in session until ten o'clock in the evening of each of said days. (1883, c. 33, § 2.)

See page 59.

Strike from *\$ 109, in second line, the words "within three days thereafter," and insert in lieu thereof the words "by twelve o'clock noon on the day before the election." (Id. § 3.)

Also change the last sentence of this section to read:

No vote shall be received at any general or special election, if the name of the person offering to vote, and his place of residence clearly and definitely stated, be not on said register as finally completed and certified to by the board of registry above provided, unless the person offering to vote be personally known to at least one of the judges of election, and unless such person shall furnish to the judges the same affidavits and evidence that he is entitled to vote as is required by this act of a person whose vote is challenged. (Id. § 4.)
Also change "five days" to "seven days" in line four, *§ 113, p. 60. (Id. § 5.)

See pages 59, 60.

CHAPTER II.

CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICTS.

*§ 1. Five districts. The state of Minnesota is hereby divided into five congressional districts, each of which is entitled to elect one representative to the congress of the United States.

*§ 2. First district. The counties of Houston, Fillmore, Mower, Freeborn, Steele, Dodge, Olmsted, Winona and Wabasha shall constitute the first congressional

district.

*§ 3. Second district. The counties of Faribault, Blue Earth, Waseca, Watonwan, Martin, Cottonwood, Jackson, Murray, Nobles, Rock, Pipe Stone, Lincoln, Lyon, Redwood, Brown, Nicollet, Yellow Medicine, Lac qui Parle, Sibley and Le Sueur shall constitute the second congressional district.