1 MINNESOTA STATUTES 2023 148D.062

148D.062 PROVISIONAL LICENSE; SUPERVISED PRACTICE.

Subdivision 1. Supervision required after licensure. After receiving a provisional license from the
board, the licensee must obtain at least 37.5 hours of supervision according to the requirements of this
section.

Subd. 2. Practice requirements. The supervision required by subdivision 1 must be obtained during
the first 2,000 hours of social work practice after the effective date of the provisional license. At least three
hours of supervision must be obtained during every 160 hours of practice under a provisional license until
a permanent license is issued.

Subd. 3. Types of supervision. (a) Twenty-five hours of supervision required by subdivision 1 must
consist of one-on-one in-person supervision.

(b) Twelve and one-half hours of supervision must consist of one or more of the following types of
supervision:

(1) in-person one-on-one supervision; or
(2) in-person group supervision.

(c) To qualify as in-person group supervision, the group must not exceed seven members including the
supervisor.

Subd. 4. Supervisor requirements. (a) The supervision required by subdivision 1 must be provided by
a supervisor who meets the requirements in section 148E.120 and has either:

(1) 5,000 hours experience engaged in authorized social work practice; or

(2) completed 30 hours of training in supervision, which may be satisfied by completing academic
coursework in supervision or continuing education courses in supervision as defined in section 148E.010,
subdivision 18.

(b) Supervision must be provided:

(1) if the supervisee is not engaged in clinical practice and the supervisee has a provisional license to
practice as a licensed social worker, by a licensed social worker who has completed the supervised practice
requirements;

(2) if the supervisee is not engaged in clinical practice and the supervisee has a provisional license to
practice as a licensed graduate social worker, licensed independent social worker, or licensed independent
clinical social worker, by:

(i) a licensed graduate social worker who has completed the supervised practice requirements;
(i1) a licensed independent social worker; or
(iii) a licensed independent clinical social worker;

(3) if the supervisee is engaged in clinical practice and the supervisee has a provisional license to practice
as a licensed graduate social worker, licensed independent social worker, or licensed independent clinical
social worker, by a licensed independent clinical social worker; or

(4) by a supervisor who meets the requirements in section 148E.120, subdivision 2.

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes



148D.062 MINNESOTA STATUTES 2023

Subd. 5. [Repealed, 2009 ¢ 157 art 2 s 14]
History: 2007 ¢ 123 s 59; 2009 ¢ 157 art 2 s 10; 2012 c 187 art 3 s 3

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes



	Sec. 148D.062
	Subd. 1
	Subd. 2
	Subd. 3
	Subd. 4
	Subd. 5


