
93.51 PENALTIES FOR VIOLATION.​

Subdivision 1. Civil penalty. If any person fails to comply with any provision of sections 93.44 to 93.51,​
or any rules promulgated pursuant to these sections, or any permit condition required by these sections or​
the rules, for a period of 15 days after notice of such failure, or the expiration of time for corrective action​
as provided for in section 93.481, subdivision 4, such person shall be liable for a civil penalty of not more​
than $1,000 for each and every day of the continuance of such failure. The commissioner may assess and​
collect any such penalty.​

Subd. 2. Criminal penalty; injunctive relief. Any person who knowingly and willfully violates or​
refuses to comply with any rule, decision, order or ruling of the commissioner shall upon conviction be​
guilty of a gross misdemeanor. At the request of the commissioner, the attorney general may institute a civil​
action in a district court of the state for a restraining order or injunction or other appropriate remedy to​
prevent or preclude a violation of the terms and conditions of any rules promulgated hereunder. The district​
court of the state of Minnesota in which district the mining operation affected is conducted shall have​
jurisdiction to issue such order or injunction or to provide other appropriate remedies.​

History: 1969 c 774 s 8; 1973 c 526 s 7; 1985 c 248 s 70​

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota​
Revisor of Statutes​

93.51​MINNESOTA STATUTES 2022​1​


	Sec. 93.51
	Subd. 1
	Subd. 2


