1 MINNESOTA STATUTES 2022 60K.365

60K.365 PRODUCER TRAINING REQUIREMENTS FOR LONG-TERM CARE INSURANCE
PRODUCTS.

(a) An individual may not sell, solicit, or negotiate long-term care insurance unless the individual is
licensed as an insurance producer for accident and health or sickness insurance or life insurance and has
completed an initial training course and ongoing training every 24 months thereafter. The training must meet
the requirements of paragraph (b).

(b) The initial training course required by this section must be no less than eight hours, and the ongoing
training courses required by this section must be no less than four hours every 24 months. The courses must
be approved by the commissioner and may be approved as continuing education courses under section
60K.56. The courses must consist of topics related to long-term care insurance, long-term care services, and
qualified state long-term care insurance partnership programs, including, but not limited to:

(1) state and federal regulations and requirements and the relationship between qualified state long-term
care insurance partnership programs and other public and private coverage of long-term care services,
including Medicaid/Minnesota medical assistance;

(2) available long-term care services and providers;

(3) changes or improvements in long-term care services or providers;

(4) alternatives to the purchase of private long-term care insurance;

(5) the effect of inflation on benefits and the importance of inflation protection; and
(6) consumer suitability standards and guidelines.

The training required by this section must not include training that is insurer or company product specific
or that includes any sales or marketing information, materials, or training, other than those required by state
or federal law.

(c) Insurers shall obtain verification that a producer has received the training required by this section
before a producer is permitted to sell, solicit, or negotiate the insurer's long-term care insurance products.
Insurers shall maintain records verifying that the producer has received the training contained in this section
and make that verification available to the commissioner upon request.

(d) The satisfaction of these initial training requirements in any state shall be deemed to satisfy the initial
training requirements of this section.

(e) Nonresident producers selling partnership policies shall be expected to demonstrate knowledge about
unique aspects of the Minnesota medical assistance system. An insurer offering partnership products in
Minnesota shall maintain records verifying that its nonresident producers have attained the required training
and make that verification available to the commissioner upon request.

History: 2007 ¢ 57 art 3 s 32
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