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280.001 PUBLIC SALES, AUDITOR'S CERTIFICATES ABOLISHED.​

No parcel of land against which judgment has been entered and remains unsatisfied for the taxes of the​
preceding year or years may be sold at public vendue as provided in sections 280.01 and 280.02 by the​
county auditor but shall be treated in the same manner and regarded in all respects as land bid in for the state​
by the auditor in the manner provided in section 280.02. No notice of sale required by section 280.01 shall​
be published or posted and no auditor's certificate authorized by section 280.03 shall be issued.​

History: 1973 c 341 s 1; 2014 c 308 art 9 s 45​

280.01 STATE BID IN AT SALE.​

On the second Monday in May, in each year, the county auditor shall sell all parcels of land against​
which judgment has been entered and remains unsatisfied for the taxes of the preceding year or years. The​
auditor shall bid in for the state for all such parcels of land the amount of all delinquent taxes, penalties,​
costs, and interest to date. No notice of sale shall be required to be published, posted, or served prior to sale.​

History: (2127) RL s 927; 1983 c 342 art 15 s 13​

280.02 PUBLIC VENDUE.​

The county auditor shall sell, at public vendue, each parcel of land separately in the order described in​
the judgment and by the description therein; but, if the sum bid for any parcel shall not be paid on the day​
of the sale thereof, the county auditor shall again offer the same for sale. In offering the lands for sale, the​
auditor shall state the amount for which each parcel is to be sold, and shall then sell the same to the person​
who shall offer to pay the amount for which the same is to be sold, at the lowest annual rate of interest on​
such amount. No bid shall be accepted when the proposed rate of interest exceeds 12 percent per annum.​
All bids for any fractional part of one percent shall be a decimal part thereof, and not less than one-tenth of​
one percent. If no bidder shall bid an amount equal to that for which the parcel is to be sold, at a rate of​
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interest not exceeding 12 percent per annum, then the auditor shall bid in the same for the state at such​
amount. The county treasurer shall attend the sale and receive all moneys paid thereon.​

History: (2128) RL s 928; 1986 c 444​

280.03 CERTIFICATE OF SALE.​

The county auditor shall execute to the purchaser of each parcel a certificate which may be substantially​
in the following form:​

"I, .........., auditor of the county of .........., state of Minnesota, do hereby certify that at the sale of lands​
pursuant to the real estate tax judgment entered in the district court in the county of .........., on the ..........​
day of .........., ......., in proceedings to enforce the payment of taxes delinquent on real estate for the years​
.........., for the county of .........., which sale was held at ..............., in said county of ........, on the ........ day​
of ........, ......., the following described parcel of land, situate in said county of .........., state of Minnesota:​
(insert description), was offered for sale to the bidder who should offer to pay the amount for which the​
same was to be sold, at the lowest annual rate of interest on such amount; and at said sale I did sell the said​
parcel of land to .......... for the sum of .......... dollars, with interest at .......... percent per annum on such​
amount, that being the sum for which the same was to be sold, and such rate of interest being the lowest rate​
percent per annum bid on such sum; and, the sum having been paid, I do therefore, in consideration thereof,​
and pursuant to the statute in such case made and provided, convey the said parcel of land, in fee simple,​
subject to easements and restrictions of record at the date of the tax judgment sale, including, but without​
limitation, permits for telephone and electric power lines either by underground cable or conduit or otherwise,​
sewer and water lines, highways, railroads, and pipe lines for gas, liquids, or solids in suspension, to said​
.........., and the heirs and assigns of ......., forever, subject to redemption as provided by law.​

Witness my hand and official seal this ........ day of ........, ....... .​

.............................................................................

County Auditor."​

If the land shall not be redeemed as provided in chapter 281, such certificate shall pass to the purchaser​
an estate therein, in fee simple, without any other act or deed whatever subject to easements and restrictions​
of record at the date of the tax judgment sale, including, but without limitation, permits for telephone and​
electric power lines either by underground cable or conduit or otherwise, sewer and water lines, highways,​
railroads, and pipe lines for gas, liquids, or solids in suspension. Such certificate may be recorded, after the​
time for redemption shall have expired, as other deeds of real estate, and with like effect. If any purchaser​
at such sale shall purchase more than one parcel, the auditor shall issue to the purchaser a certificate for each​
parcel so purchased.​

History: (2129) RL s 929; 1953 c 493 s 2; 1986 c 444; 1998 c 254 art 1 s 107; 2014 c 308 art 9 s 46​

280.04 WHO MAY PURCHASE.​

All persons, except as provided in section 280.05, may become purchasers at such sale. If the owner​
purchase, the sale shall have the effect to pass to the owner, subject to redemption as provided in chapter​
281, every right, title, and interest of any and every person, company, or corporation, free from any claim,​
lien, or encumbrance, except such right, title, interest, lien, or encumbrance as such owner may be legally​
or equitably bound to protect against such sale, or the taxes for which such sale was made.​

History: (2130) RL s 930; 1986 c 444​
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280.05 PROHIBITED PURCHASERS.​

A county auditor, county treasurer, court administrator of the district court, or county assessor, or deputy​
or clerk or employee of such officer, and a commissioner for tax-forfeited lands or assistant to such​
commissioner, may not purchase at such sale, or procure an assignment of the right acquired by the state in​
lands bid in for it at such sale, as in this chapter provided in sections 280.06 to 280.11, either personally, or​
as agent or attorney for any other person, except that such officer, deputy, court administrator, employee or​
commissioner for tax-forfeited lands or assistant to such commissioner, if an owner or lienholder of the​
lands, may purchase the lands, or procure such assignment of the state's right in such lands.​

History: (2131) RL s 931; 1959 c 281 s 1; 1969 c 9 s 72; 1986 c 444; 1Sp1986 c 3 art 1 s 82; 1997 c​
7 art 1 s 112​

280.06 WRONG NAME OF OWNER.​

No such sale shall be affected or deemed invalid on account of the use of another name than that of the​
true owner in describing the ownership of the parcel of land sold in any tax proceeding.​

History: (2132) RL s 932​

280.07 ENTRIES AFTER SALE.​

Immediately after such sale the county auditor shall record that all parcels were bid in for the state. The​
county auditor shall thereupon notify the court administrator. Upon redemption the auditor shall note the​
parcel redeemed.​

History: (2133) RL s 933; 1983 c 342 art 15 s 14; 1986 c 444; 1Sp1986 c 3 art 1 s 82; 2014 c 308 art​
9 s 47​

280.08 RECORD OF ASSIGNMENT.​

The assignee or transferee of a certificate or deed issued upon the sale of land for general taxes or for​
special assessments for local improvements shall present the instrument of transfer and a copy thereof to​
the official custodian of the record of such sale. Such officer shall thereupon certify such copy to be correct​
and shall file the same and note such transfer upon the record. The record as herein provided of any such​
instrument shall be taken and deemed notice to parties. The recording in the office of the county recorder​
of any such assignment or any quitclaim deed transferring any interest in such land shall have the same force​
and effect as the record above provided.​

History: (2134) 1909 c 340 s 1; 1976 c 181 s 2; 1986 c 444​

280.09 FAILURE TO RECORD.​

Every such assignment or transfer not so recorded shall be void as against any subsequent purchaser,​
for a valuable consideration, who has caused a record of that transfer to be made in the manner above​
provided, before the recording of the prior transfer, and as against any party claiming under a judgment or​
decree of a court of competent jurisdiction heretofore entered or hereafter to be entered in an action in which​
the party appearing to be the owner or holder of such certificate or deed, as shown by the record in the office​
of such official custodian, was made a party and was bound by the judgment or decree.​

History: (2135) 1909 c 340 s 2; 1986 c 444​
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280.10 PAYMENT OF SUBSEQUENT TAXES.​

The taxes for subsequent years shall be levied on property so bid in for the state in the same manner as​
if the sale had not been made.​

History: (2136) RL s 934; 1925 c 63; 1931 c 412; 1983 c 342 art 15 s 15​

280.11 LANDS BID IN FOR STATE.​

At any time after any parcel of land has been bid in for the state, the same not having been redeemed,​
the county auditor shall assign and convey the same, and all the right of the state therein acquired at such​
sale, to any person who shall pay the amount for which the same was bid in, with interest at the rate of 12​
percent per annum, and the amount of all subsequent delinquent taxes, penalties, costs, and interest at such​
rate upon the same from the time when such taxes became delinquent. The county auditor shall execute to​
such person a certificate for such parcel, which may be substantially in the following form:​

"I, .........., auditor of the county of .........., state of Minnesota, do hereby certify that at the sale of lands​
pursuant to the real estate tax judgment entered in the district court in the county of .........., on the ..........​
day of .........., ......., in proceedings to enforce the payment of taxes delinquent upon real estate for the years​
.......... for the county of .........., which sale was held at .........., in said county of .........., on the .......... day of​
.........., ......., the following described parcel of land, situate in said county of .........., state of Minnesota:​
(insert description), was duly offered for sale; and, no one bidding upon such offer an amount equal to that​
for which the parcel was subject to be sold, the same was then bid in for the state at such amount, being the​
sum of .......... dollars; and the same still remaining unredeemed, and on this day .......... having paid into the​
treasury of the county the amount for which the same was so bid in, and all subsequent delinquent taxes,​
penalties, costs, and interest, amounting in all to .......... dollars, therefore, in consideration thereof, and​
pursuant to the statute in such case made and provided, I do hereby assign and convey this parcel of land,​
in fee simple, subject to easements and restrictions of record at the date of the tax judgment sale, including​
but without limitation, permits for telephone and electric power lines either by underground cable or conduit​
or otherwise, sewer and water lines, highways, railroads, and pipe lines for gas, liquids, or solids in suspension,​
with all the right, title and interest of the state acquired therein at such sale to .........., and the heirs and assigns​
of ........, forever, subject to redemption as provided by law.​

Witness my hand and official seal this .......... day of .........., .......​

.............................................................................

County Auditor."​

If the land shall not be redeemed, as provided in chapter 281, such certificate shall pass to the purchaser​
or assignee an estate therein, in fee simple, without any other act or deed whatever subject to easements and​
restrictions of record at the date of the tax judgment sale, including, but without limitation, permits for​
telephone and electric power lines either by underground cable or conduit or otherwise, sewer and water​
lines, highways, railroads, and pipe lines for gas, liquids, or solids in suspension. Such certificate or​
conveyance may be recorded, after the time for redemption shall have expired, as other deeds of real estate,​
and with like effect. No assignment of the right of the state shall be given pursuant to this section.​

History: (2137) RL s 935; 1953 c 493 s 3; 1971 c 658 s 1; 1986 c 444; 1998 c 254 art 1 s 107; 2014 c​
308 art 9 s 48​

280.12 [Repealed, 1996 c 310 s 1]​
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280.13 [Repealed, 1996 c 310 s 1]​

280.14 [Expired]​

280.15 [Expired]​

280.16 [Expired]​

280.17 [Expired]​

280.19 [Expired]​

280.20 [Expired]​

280.21 [Expired]​

280.22 [Expired]​

280.23 [Expired]​

280.24 [Expired]​

280.25 [Repealed, 1996 c 310 s 1]​

280.26 [Repealed, 1996 c 310 s 1]​

280.27 [Repealed, 1999 c 243 art 13 s 21]​

280.28 FEES.​

Subdivision 1. Certified copy. The county auditor shall be entitled to collect a fee of 50 cents from such​
applicant for each certified copy of a notice of expiration of redemption and the preparation of the other​
necessary papers and information in connection therewith, which fee shall be retained by such auditor in​
addition to the salary provided by law.​

Subd. 2. Certificate. There shall be paid at the time of delivery by the person to whom delivered for​
each certificate issued to an actual purchaser under section 280.03 a fee of $1 and for each notice of expiration​
of redemption prepared by the auditor for the holder of a certificate a fee of $2. These fees shall be paid to​
the county treasurer upon the auditor's statement of the amount due. The amount of such fees shall be added​
to the amount payable under section 281.02 upon redemption.​

History: (2144) 1915 c 332 s 3; 1961 c 524 s 1; 1986 c 444; 1997 c 7 art 1 s 113​

280.29 PROCEEDS OF SALE, HOW DISTRIBUTED.​

The proceeds of any parcel of land so sold, to the amount of taxes, penalties, interest, and costs charged​
thereon, shall be distributed as provided by law for the distribution of the like sums upon sales for delinquent​
taxes. The portion thereof due to the state shall be paid to the commissioner of management and budget,​
and the excess, if any, above the taxes, penalties, interest, and costs charged upon the land, shall be included​
in such draft and be paid in like manner for the benefit of the state. If any parcel be sold for less than the​
amount charged thereon, the state taxes shall first be paid and the remainder, if any, distributed pro rata to​
the several funds for which the taxes were levied.​

History: (2145) RL s 939; 1973 c 492 s 14; 2003 c 112 art 2 s 36; 2009 c 101 art 2 s 109​
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280.33 CERTIFICATES AND DEEDS AS EVIDENCE; GROUNDS FOR SETTING ASIDE.​

The certificates and deeds issued pursuant to sections 280.03 and 280.11, or the record thereof, shall be​
prima facie evidence that the parcel described therein was subject to taxation for the year or years therein​
stated; that such parcel was listed and assessed at the time and in the manner required by law; that the taxes​
were levied according to law; that the judgment pursuant to which the sale was made was duly entered, and​
that the court had jurisdiction to enter the same; that all requirements of law with respect to the sale had​
been complied with; that such parcel had not been redeemed from the sale; and of title in the grantee therein​
after the time for redemption has expired; provided, that when any such certificate or deed embraces university,​
school, or other state lands, the title whereof is in the state, no other or greater interest shall be held to be​
thereby conveyed than that acquired under the certificate of the commissioner of management and budget.​
No sale shall be set aside or held invalid by reason of any misrecitals in such certificate or deed; nor unless​
the party objecting to the same prove either that the taxes were paid before the judgment was rendered, or​
that such parcel was exempt from taxation, or that the court rendering the judgment pursuant to which the​
sale was made had not jurisdiction to render the same, or that after the judgment and before the sale such​
judgment had been satisfied, or that notice of sale as required by this chapter was not given, or that such​
parcel was not offered at such sale to the bidder who would pay the amount for which the parcel was to be​
sold at the lowest rate of interest, as provided in this chapter; provided, that every judgment rendered against​
any parcel for a tax which was paid before the entry thereof, or when the land was exempt from taxation,​
shall be void, and all sales made under any such judgment or under a judgment which has been paid shall​
be void, and no title or interest in any parcel sold under such judgment shall pass or be conveyed to any​
purchaser at such sale. In any action brought to set aside or to cancel such sale, or in which the validity of​
such sale may arise, the tax receipt, or the treasurer's duplicate thereof, or other record of the payment of​
such tax in the office of the county auditor or the county treasurer, shall be prima facie evidence of such​
payment; but such payment shall not be established by parol testimony only. In such action, the county in​
which the land is situated, or the state, if either claim any interest in the land sold under such judgment, may​
be made a party defendant, in which case the county attorney shall appear in behalf of such county or state,​
or both.​

History: (2146) RL s 940; 1911 c 245 s 1; 1973 c 492 s 14; 1997 c 7 art 1 s 114; 2009 c 101 art 2 s​
109​

280.34 [Repealed, 1977 c 265 s 3]​

280.35 INVALID CERTIFICATE.​

If any certificate issued pursuant to sections 280.03 and 280.11 to an actual purchaser prove to be invalid​
for any other cause than that the land described therein was not subject to taxation, or that the taxes had been​
paid prior to the sale, or that the assessment or levy was void, the lien of the state on the parcel of land sold,​
as provided in section 272.31 shall be transferred, without any act whatever, to, and vested in, the holder of​
such certificate, or the holder's personal representatives, heirs, or assigns. Such holder, or the personal​
representatives, heirs, or assigns of the holder, may collect out of the property covered by such lien, by sale​
thereof by foreclosure, or other proper action or proceeding, the amount of taxes, penalties, and interest due​
thereon at the time of such sale, with interest thereon at the rate of 12 percent per annum, together with the​
amount of all subsequent taxes paid, with interest thereon at said rate, and the costs and expenses of such​
action.​

History: (2148) RL s 942; 1986 c 444; 1997 c 7 art 1 s 115​
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280.36 REIMBURSEMENT TO TAX SALE PURCHASER WHERE NOTICE OF SALE INVALID;​
LIMITATION; REASSESSMENT.​

When any sale of land held pursuant to section 280.01 shall have been conducted by the county auditor,​
without two weeks' published notice of such sale having been first given as required therein, the purchaser​
of any parcel of land at such sale or the purchaser or holder, or the assigns or representatives of such purchaser​
or holder, of a state assignment certificate of such sale to such parcel acquired pursuant to section 280.11,​
shall be entitled to refundment of the amount paid for such parcel, without interest, upon production and​
surrender to the auditor of the county in which such parcel of land is situated, of the certificate of sale, and​
evidence of the assignment thereof, if any, by issuance and payment of the warrant of the county auditor or​
the county treasurer therefor; provided that the right to refundment shall be exercised within six years from​
the date of such tax sale, and the amounts paid shall be charged to the proper funds, and extended against​
the respective parcels of land with the current taxes, and collected therewith.​

History: (2148-1) Ex1937 c 61​

280.37 ENDORSEMENT BEFORE RECORD.​

Before any certificate of sale or of assignment provided for in this chapter shall be recorded, the holder​
thereof shall present the same to the county auditor, who shall endorse thereon a certificate that the property​
therein described remains unredeemed, and that the period of redemption has expired; and no such certificate​
shall be recorded unless such endorsement is made.​

History: (2149) RL s 943; 1986 c 444​

280.38 LANDS BID IN FOR THE STATE; ATTACHMENTS.​

When any parcel of land is bid in for the state, until the land be redeemed, the sale shall not operate as​
a payment of the amount for which the same is sold, but at any time after such sale the county auditor may​
make and file with the court administrator where the judgment is entered an affidavit stating the date of the​
sale, the amount for which such parcel was bid in for the state, and the amount of all subsequent delinquent​
taxes, that there has been no redemption, and that the land is rented, in whole or in part, and produces rent,​
and giving the names of the persons paying rent. Upon presentation of such affidavit, the judge or court​
commissioner for the county shall endorse thereon an order directing an attachment to issue to attach the​
rents of such lands. The court administrator shall thereupon issue a writ directing the sheriff to attach the​
rents accruing for such land from any person, and to collect therefrom the amount for which the same was​
bid in for the state, and the amount of all subsequent delinquent taxes, stating such amount and the date of​
sale, with penalties and interest accruing thereon, and the sheriff's fees, and $1 for the costs of the affidavit​
and attachment. The sheriff shall serve such writ by serving a copy thereof on each tenant or person in​
possession of such land paying rent therefor, or for any part thereof, and such service shall operate as an​
attachment of all rents accruing from the person served. The sheriff shall receive such rents as they become​
due, and may bring suit in the sheriff's own name to collect the same, and shall pay into the county treasury​
the amount collected. No payment of rents by any person so served after such service, or prior thereto for​
the purpose of defeating such attachment, shall be valid against such attachment. The court administrator​
shall be allowed for issuing the writ, including the filing of the affidavit, order of allowance, writ, and return,​
50 cents, to be paid to the administrator by the county in which the taxes are levied; provided, that in counties​
whose population exceeds 150,000 such fees shall be paid into the county treasury to the use of the county.​
The sheriff shall be allowed for serving the writ and collecting the money the same fees as are allowed by​
law upon an execution in a civil action; and, if the sheriff brings suit, such additional compensation as the​
court may allow, not exceeding one-half of the fees allowed by law for like services in ordinary cases.​
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If, at any time while the sheriff is collecting such rent, the lease upon such property shall expire, or, if​
the sheriff has once commenced to collect such rent and the property becomes vacant, the county auditor​
may lease the property upon five days' notice to the owner, subject to the approval of the district court.​

At any time while the sheriff is collecting the rent under any lease, no modification of the lease between​
the owner and the tenant shall be valid unless approved by the district court upon five days' notice to the​
county auditor.​

The collection of such rent under this statute shall not be a bar to the county auditor selling the land at​
a forfeited tax sale under the present laws or any laws hereafter enacted.​

In case any unplatted land is bid in for the state and is cropped upon a share agreement with the owner,​
or by a trespasser, the owner's share of such crop; or, in case of a trespasser, all or any part of such crops,​
may be attached and collected in the same manner as rents and applied upon delinquent taxes. The term​
"crops" shall include hay and grass. In case there is no agreement for rent, or in case of an occupant or​
trespasser on the unplatted land without any agreement for rent, then the attachment shall attach to and bind​
all of the grass, hay, and crops produced on such lands; provided, that the district court may, upon application​
by such occupant, upon ten days' notice to the owner and the county auditor, and a showing by the occupant​
to the satisfaction of the court that the occupancy was not a willful trespass, release to such occupant the​
excess of such crops over and above the owner's or landlord's share of the grass, hay, and crops of such​
premises as determined by the court. Such application must be made not later than 60 days after the date of​
the service of the writ of attachment upon such occupant, and if not made within such time it shall be​
considered that such occupant has waived all right and claim to such crops. The county auditor may give to​
the owner or person entitled to the possession of such unplatted land during the crop season at least ten days'​
notice, in writing, by mail or otherwise, specifying the time and place at which application will be made to​
the district court for an order permitting the leasing of such land, and the district court may, if it deems it to​
be for the best interest of such person and of the public, make an order fixing the terms upon which such​
lease may be made by the county auditor, in the name of the county. The county auditor may then execute,​
in the name of the county, such lease in writing as the court shall order. No such lease shall be for a longer​
term than the current crop season. If the name or address of such person is unknown to the county auditor,​
such notice may be given by one publication in a legal newspaper in the county. If the owner or person​
entitled to such possession shall show to the court an intent to lease such unplatted land or make a contract​
for cropping the same upon shares, the court may make such order as it deems best to provide for an​
attachment of all or a part of the rents or crop share of such person and for applying the same upon the​
delinquent taxes. In any proceeding for the collection of rents on unplatted land on which the taxes have​
been bid in by the state, the court may, upon motion, order that payment, when made as to any part or the​
whole, be paid to the county treasurer to apply upon taxes. The owner of such unplatted properties may​
make application to the district court for release from applying all or a portion of such rents upon such taxes​
upon showing, by reason of the condition, cost of upkeep of the property, or other cause, undue hardship​
upon such owner or detriment to such property. The provisions affecting unplatted lands shall not apply to​
lands or real estate actually used or occupied by the owner thereof.​

The county board may allow additional clerk hire to the county auditor for work in making such leases,​
which leases shall be made in the name of the county, and the county shall have the right to bring suit for​
unpaid rents under such leases and to bring the necessary actions to secure evictions of tenants to whom it​
has leased.​

Attachments, leases, and proceedings issued and made pursuant to this section shall not be deemed​
unfinished business that may be retained by the sheriff at expiration of the sheriff's term, as provided by​
section 387.10.​
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The right of the county auditor to sell the land at the forfeited tax sale, shall continue until all delinquent​
taxes described in the writ of attachment are paid.​

History: (2150) RL s 944; 1929 c 266 s 1; 1935 c 246 s 1; 1983 c 342 art 15 s 16; 1986 c 444; 1Sp1986​
c 3 art 1 s 82​

280.385 ACQUISITION OF TAX-DELINQUENT LAND BEFORE FORFEITURE.​

Subdivision 1. Conveyance accepted. Whenever any lands have been bid in for the state for delinquent​
taxes at any tax judgment sale, the county board of the county in which such lands are situated may, in its​
discretion, with the consent first obtained of the governing body of the city or town in which such lands are​
situated, accept a conveyance from the owner thereof to the state; provided that the county attorney finds​
that such owner has good title to such lands and that they are free and clear of all encumbrances except taxes.​

Subd. 2. To have same status as tax-forfeited lands. Upon conveyance of title to the state, such lands​
shall have the status of lands absolutely forfeited to the state for taxes, and shall be subject to all applicable​
provisions of law as if they had become so forfeited at the date of acceptance of the conveyance by the​
county board.​

Subd. 3. Procedure if title fails. If the title of the state under such conveyance should for any reason​
be finally adjudged void or subject to any encumbrance, the county auditor, upon the filing in the auditor's​
office of a certified copy of such judgment, shall reinstate all taxes, penalties, and interest which were a lien​
upon said lands at the time such conveyance was made, and shall assess as omitted the taxes for the years​
subsequent thereto. Such lands shall thereupon be subject to forfeiture or other proceedings upon such taxes​
as provided by law as if no conveyance to the state had been made.​

History: 1943 c 327; 1973 c 123 art 5 s 7; 1983 c 342 art 15 s 17; 1986 c 444​

280.39 DELINQUENT TAXES MAY BE PAID IN INVERSE ORDER.​

In any case where taxes for two or more years are delinquent against a parcel of land, the taxes, or a​
portion of them, if held by the state, may be paid in the inverse order to that in which the taxes were levied,​
with accrued penalties, interest, and costs upon the taxes so paid, without payment of the taxes for the first​
of such years; provided, that such payment shall not affect the lien of any unpaid taxes or tax judgment.​

History: 1941 c 97 s 1; 2008 c 154 art 2 s 22​

280.40 TAXES COLLECTED BY SHERIFF APPLIED IN INVERSE ORDER.​

When the sheriff shall pay into the county treasury rents collected, as provided in section 280.38, the​
same shall be applied in the inverse order to that in which such taxes were levied, crediting the same as​
follows: (1) against penalties, interest, and costs upon the last delinquent taxes, (2) against such taxes as​
levied; and the same procedure shall be followed for each year's delinquent taxes until such payments have​
been exhausted. When, under section 280.38, a year's taxes are partially paid, interest shall be charged​
thereafter only upon the unpaid balance. In case of part payment of the taxes for any year, the land affected​
shall remain, as to the unpaid balance, subject to sale, redemption, forfeiture, and all other proceedings​
respecting delinquent taxes in like manner as for a full year's taxes.​

History: 1941 c 97 s 2​
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280.41 OWNERSHIP BY STATE.​

Title to all parcels of land bid in for the state shall vest in the state subject only to the rights of redemption​
set forth in chapter 281.​

History: 1983 c 342 art 15 s 18​

280.43 SALE DEFINED.​

No actual public "sale" shall take place under this chapter. A "sale" shall be conclusively deemed to​
have been made and transfer made to the state of Minnesota hereunder.​

History: 1983 c 342 art 15 s 19​
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