
245.4882 RESIDENTIAL TREATMENT SERVICES.​

Subdivision 1. Availability of residential treatment services. County boards must provide or contract​
for enough residential treatment services to meet the needs of each child with severe emotional disturbance​
residing in the county and needing this level of care. Length of stay is based on the child's residential treatment​
need and shall be reviewed every 90 days. Services must be appropriate to the child's age and treatment​
needs and must be made available as close to the county as possible. Residential treatment must be designed​
to:​

(1) help the child improve family living and social interaction skills;​

(2) help the child gain the necessary skills to return to the community;​

(3) stabilize crisis admissions; and​

(4) work with families throughout the placement to improve the ability of the families to care for children​
with severe emotional disturbance in the home.​

Subd. 2. Specific requirements. A provider of residential services to children must be licensed under​
applicable rules adopted by the commissioner and must be clinically supervised by a mental health​
professional.​

Subd. 2a. Assessment requirements. (a) A residential treatment service provider must complete a​
diagnostic assessment of a child within ten calendar days of the child's admission. If a diagnostic assessment​
has been completed by a mental health professional within the past 180 days, a new diagnostic assessment​
need not be completed unless in the opinion of the current treating mental health professional the child's​
mental health status has changed markedly since the assessment was completed.​

(b) Notwithstanding the timeline requirements under Minnesota Rules, part 2960.0070, subpart 5, item​
C, subitems (1) and (2), the license holder must complete the screenings required by Minnesota Rules, part​
2960.0070, subpart 5, item A, subitems (2), (3), (4), and (6), within ten calendar days. The license holder​
must complete the screenings required under Minnesota Rules, part 2960.0070, subpart 5, item A, subitems​
(1) and (5), according to the timelines in Minnesota Rules, part 2960.0070, subpart 5, item C, subitems (1)​
to (3).​

Subd. 3. Transition to community. Residential treatment facilities and regional treatment centers​
serving children must plan for and assist those children and their families in making a transition to less​
restrictive community-based services. Discharge planning for the child to return to the community must​
include identification of and referrals to appropriate home and community supports that meet the needs of​
the child and family. Discharge planning must begin within 30 days after the child enters residential treatment​
and be updated every 60 days. Residential treatment facilities must also arrange for appropriate follow-up​
care in the community. Before a child is discharged, the residential treatment facility or regional treatment​
center shall provide notification to the child's case manager, if any, so that the case manager can monitor​
and coordinate the transition and make timely arrangements for the child's appropriate follow-up care in the​
community.​

Subd. 4. Admission, continued stay, and discharge criteria. No later than January 1, 1992, the county​
board shall ensure that placement decisions for residential treatment services are based on the clinical needs​
of the child. The county board shall ensure that each entity under contract to provide residential treatment​
services has admission, continued stay, discharge criteria and discharge planning criteria as part of the​
contract. Contracts shall specify specific responsibilities between the county and service providers to ensure​
comprehensive planning and continuity of care between needed services according to data privacy​
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requirements. The county board shall ensure that, at least ten days prior to discharge, the operator of the​
residential treatment facility shall provide written notification of the discharge to the child's parent or​
caretaker, the local education agency in which the child is enrolled, and the receiving education agency to​
which the child will be transferred upon discharge. When the child has an individualized education program,​
the notice shall include a copy of the individualized education program. All contracts for the provision of​
residential services must include provisions guaranteeing clients the right to appeal under section 245.4887​
and to be advised of their appeal rights.​

Subd. 5. Specialized residential treatment services. The commissioner of human services shall continue​
efforts to further interagency collaboration to develop a comprehensive system of services, including family​
community support and specialized residential treatment services for children. The services shall be designed​
for children with emotional disturbance who exhibit violent or destructive behavior and for whom local​
treatment services are not feasible due to the small number of children statewide who need the services and​
the specialized nature of the services required. The services shall be located in community settings.​

Subd. 6. Crisis admissions and stabilization. (a) A child may be referred for residential treatment​
services under this section for the purpose of crisis stabilization by:​

(1) a mental health professional as defined in section 245I.04, subdivision 2;​

(2) a physician licensed under chapter 147 who is assessing a child in an emergency department; or​

(3) a member of a mobile crisis team who meets the qualifications under section 256B.0624, subdivision​
5.​

(b) A provider making a referral under paragraph (a) must conduct an assessment of the child's mental​
health needs and make a determination that the child is experiencing a mental health crisis and is in need of​
residential treatment services under this section.​

(c) A child may receive services under this subdivision for up to 30 days and must be subject to the​
screening and admissions criteria and processes under section 245.4885 thereafter.​

History: 1989 c 282 art 4 s 49; 1990 c 568 art 5 s 23; 1991 c 292 art 6 s 19,20,58 subd 1; 1Sp1993 c​
1 art 7 s 10; 1995 c 207 art 8 s 10; 1997 c 203 art 5 s 1; 1999 c 139 art 4 s 2; 2009 c 174 art 1 s 1; 1Sp2011​
c 11 art 3 s 12; 2012 c 216 art 6 s 13; 2014 c 262 art 3 s 7; 1Sp2021 c 7 art 11 s 3,4; 2022 c 99 art 1 s 8,9​
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